Cummings Research Park

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Cummings Research Park, located primarily in the city of Huntsville, Alabama is the second largest research park in the country and the fourth largest in the world. It is one of the world’s leading science and technology business parks, with a mixture of Fortune 500 companies, local and international high-tech enterprises, U.S. space and defense agencies, thriving business incubators and competitive higher-education institutions. CRP is the home of nearly 300 companies, more than 26,000 employees and 12,500 students. The Park's major industries are aerospace, defense, engineering, biotechnology, advanced manufacturing, software development, information technology and cyber security.


Cummings Research Park was voted as the Most Outstanding Science Park in the World in 1997 by the Association of University Research Parks and in 2017 The Park was presented with the Developing Communities of Innovation award.[1]

History[edit]

In 1961, Milton K. Cummings, then president of Brown Engineering Company, and Joseph C. Moquin, his later successor, selected a tract of undeveloped land on the western edge of Huntsville for building a new headquarters. Located adjacent to land that had recently been acquired by the University of Alabama for developing a Huntsville Branch and within a few miles of major Army and NASA development centers on Redstone Arsenal, this area was ideal for establishing a high-technology research park.

Cummings and Moquin, with the support of rocket pioneer Wernher von Braun, proposed that the City of Huntsville zone the area as a research park district. In 1962, the City established this zoning, with 3,000 acres of land officially designated Huntsville Research Park.

Brown Engineering (later Teledyne Brown Engineering) was the first to build in the park, opening its campus the inaugural year. As America rushed into the space race, other companies quickly followed; these included giant national firms such as Lockheed, Northrop, and IBM, smaller outside firms wanting to open Huntsville operations, and a number of newly organized local enterprises.

In parallel with the growth of industry occupants, the adjacent academic campus also matured; in 1970, this became the University of Alabama in Huntsville (UAH). The UAH Foundation owned a large portion of land in the research park district, and served as a major promoter of development. When Milton Cummings died in 1973, the district was renamed the Cummings Research Park (CRP). By the end of the 1970s, the development of what is now known as CRP East was nearing completion.

In 1982, the second major phase of CRP was launched with the planned development of CRP West. A substantial new parcel of land, exceeding 800 acres, was purchased and a master plan was established by the City of Huntsville. This new phase strengthened the development restrictions on the park, rivaling, and in many instances exceeding, the quality of planned research and development parks anywhere in the world. The City of Huntsville has continued to acquire land for future growth of CRP, and it is now approaching 4,000 acres.

CRP Tenants[edit]

  • 4M Research, Inc. www.4mresearch.com
  • 5-D Systems, Inc. www.5dsystems.com
  • a.i. solutions, Inc. www.ai-solutions.com
  • AAL USA, Inc. www.aal-usa.com
  • AAR Aerostructures & Interiors www.aarcorp.com
  • AAR Integrated Technologies www.aarcorp.com
  • Acclinate Genetics www.acclinategenetics.com
  • ADTRAN, Inc. www.adtran.com
  • Advanced Research Center www.mda.mil/business/advanced_research.html
  • ADS Environmental Services
  • AECOM www.aecom.com
  • AEgis Technologies Group www.aegistg.com
  • Aero Thermo Technology, Inc. www.aerothermo.com
  • Aerojet Rocketdyne www.rocket.com
  • Aerotek, Inc. www.aerotek.com
  • Aerovironment, Inc. www.avinc.com
  • Air Methods www.airmethods.com
  • Airbus Defense and Space, Inc. www.airbusdefenceandspace.com
  • Alabama Department of Revenue- Taxpayer Services Center revenue.alabama.gov/about-service-centers.cfm
  • Alabama Supercomputer Authority www.asc.edu
  • Alabama Technology Network www.atn.org
  • All Points Logistics, LLC www.allpointslogistics.com
  • Alorica www.alorica.com
  • Amtec Corporation www.amtec-corp.com
  • Analytix LLC www.analytix-hsv.com
  • Andrews Space, Inc. www.andrews-space.com
  • Apexio Solutions, Inc. www.apexiosolutionsinc.com
  • Applied Technology Associates www.aptec.com
  • APT Research, Inc. www.apt-research.com
  • Aranea Solutions, Inc. www.araneasolutions.com
  • ARES Corporation www.arescorporation.com
  • Ariel Precision Medicine www.arielmedicine.com
  • Aries Technologies, Inc. www.ariestech.com
  • Arrow Electronics, Inc. www.arrow.com
  • ASRC Aerospace www.asrcaerospace.com
  • ASRC Federal www.asrcfederal.com
  • AT&T Government Solutions, Inc www.corp.att.com/gov
  • ATEC (Advanced Turbine Engine Co.)
  • Auburn University - Huntsville Research Center www.auburn.edu
  • Avast Realty www.avastrealty.com
  • Aviagen, Inc. www.aviagen.com
  • Aviation & Missile Solutions LLC www.avnmslsolutions.com
  • Avion Solutions, Inc. www.avionsolutions.com
  • B. G. Smith and Associates, Inc. www.bgs-hsv.com
  • BAE Systems www.baesystems.com
  • Baron Services, Inc. www.baronweather.com
  • Bear Defense Services www.beardefense.com
  • Benchmark Electronics, Inc. www.bench.com
  • Bentley Systems www.bentley.com
  • Bevilacqua Research Corporation www.brc2.com
  • BioDynami Corporation www.biodynami.com
  • BizTech www.biztech.org
  • Black Hall Aerospace www.blackhallaerospace.com
  • Bonham Technologies, Inc. www.bti-hsv.com
  • Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc. www.boozallen.com
  • Brockwell Technologies, Inc. www.brocktec.com
  • Butler America Aerospace, LLC www.butler.com
  • CACI, Inc. - Federal www.caci.com
  • Calhoun Community College, Huntsville Campus www.calhoun.edu
  • Camber Corporation www.camber.com
  • Camisary Inc. www.camisary.com
  • Celsion Corporation celsion.com
  • CenturyLink www.centurylink.com
  • Cepeda Systems & Software Analysis www.cepedasystems.com
  • CFD Research Corporation www.cfdrc.com
  • CGI Federal www.cgi.com
  • Chugach Alaska Corporation www.chugach-ak.com
  • COLSA Corporation www.colsa.com
  • Compass-HSV, Inc. www.cmpsinc.com
  • Concero Scientific www.conceroscientific.com
  • Conexant Systems, Inc. www.conexant.com
  • Conversant Bio www.conversantbio.com
  • Corvid Technologies www.corvidtec.com
  • CSRA www.csra.com
  • Cubic/GATR Technologies www.gatr.com
  • Cummings Aerospace, Inc. www.cummingsaerospace.com
  • Data Ventures www.dataventures.biz
  • Davidson Technologies, Inc. www.davidson-tech.com
  • Dawson Technical, LLC www.dawson8a.com
  • DCS Corporation www.dcscorp.com
  • deciBel Research, Inc. www.decibelresearch.com
  • Decisions & Advanced Technology Associates (DATA), Inc. www.data-incorp.com
  • Decisive Analytics Corporation www.dac.us
  • Defense Contract Audit Agency- AL Branch www.dcaa.mil
  • Delta Research, Inc. www.dr-inc.com
  • DESE Research, Inc. www.dese.com
  • DHPC Technologies www.dhpconsultants.com
  • Diatherix Laboratories, Inc. www.diatherix.com
  • DigiFlight, Inc. www.digiflight.com
  • Digital Fusion, Inc. www.digitalfusion.com
  • Digital Radiance www.digitalradiance.com
  • Digium, Inc www.digium.com
  • DKI Consulting, a Subsidiary of Cimarron www.dkiconsulting.com
  • Draper www.draper.com
  • Ducommun Miltec www.ducommun.com/miltec
  • Dynamic Concepts, Inc. www.dynamic-concepts.com
  • DynCorp International www.dyn-intl.com
  • Dynetics, Inc. www.dynetics.com
  • E-Ring, Inc. www.ering-cad.com
  • East West Enterprises www.ewehq.com
  • ECS Federal www.ecs-federal.com
  • Edward Jones - Kitty Davenport, Financial Advisor www.edwardjones.com
  • Elbit Systems of America www.elbitsystems-us.com
  • Electronic Fastners, Inc. www.elecfast.net
  • Engility Corporation www.engilitycorp.com
  • EnVention, LLC www.en-vention.com
  • EPS Corp. www.epscorp.com
  • Epsilon Systems Solutions, Inc. www.epsilonsystems.com
  • ERC, Incorporated www.erc-incorporated.com
  • Evergreen Fire and Security evergreen-fire.com
  • ExoAnalytic Solutions www.exoanalytic.com
  • Exodus Technology Corporation www.exodus-hsv.com
  • F1 Solutions www.f1networks.com
  • Faulkner University - Huntsville www.faulkner.edu/adult/huntsville-campus
  • Fiscal Systems Inc. fis-cal.com
  • Fixed Wing Project Office asc.army.mil/web/portfolio-item/aviation_fixed-wing/
  • Flir Systems, Inc. www.flir.com/gs
  • Foresight Biosciences foresight-bio.com
  • FPMI Solutions, Inc. www.fpmi.com
  • Frontier Technology, Inc. www.fti-net.com
  • Future Research Corporation www.future-research.com
  • G2 Sales www.g2sales.com
  • Garver www.garverengineers.com
  • Gastops Inc. www.gastopsusa.com
  • GE Aviations www.geaviation.com
  • GeneCapture www.genecapture.com
  • General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Inc. www.ga-asi.com
  • General Atomics, EMS www.ga.com/ems
  • General Dynamics C4 Systems www.gdc4s.com
  • General Dynamics Information Technology www.gdit.com
  • General Dynamics Ordnance and Tactical Systems, Inc. www.gd-ots.com
  • Geocent www.geocent.com
  • GH Systems, Inc. www.gh-systems.us
  • Gideon Services, Inc www.gideon-services.com
  • Gleason Research Associates, Inc. (GRA) www.grainc.net
  • Global Business Solutions Inc. www.gbsi.com
  • Halo Monitoring www.halomonitoring.com
  • Harlan Lee & Associates LLC (HLA) www.hlassociates.com
  • Hawk Enterprises, LLC www.hawkworld.com
  • Hometown Lenders www.htlenders.com
  • HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology www.hudsonalpha.org
  • Hughes Properties Inc. www.hughes-properties.com
  • HydroGeoLogic, Inc. www.hgl.com
  • iCubate icubate.com
  • IDair, LLC www.idairco.com
  • IGNITE, Inc. ignitenow.net
  • IMI Huntsville, LLC. (Bridge Street) cm.hsvchamber.org/list/member/imi-huntsville-llc-bridge-street-1274
  • InDyne www.indyneinc.com/corporate/
  • Infinity Technology, Inc. www.infitech.com
  • InfoSurv, Inc. www.infosurv.net
  • Innovative Technology Solutions, LLC www.itsits.com
  • Insuvi insuvi.com
  • Integrated Management Solutions, Inc. www.ims-dynetics.com
  • Integrated Solutions for Systems (IS4S) is4s.com
  • Integration Innovation, Inc. (i3) www.i3-corps.com
  • Interfuze Corporation www.interfuze.com
  • Internal Revenue Services www.irs.gov
  • INTREPID www.intrepidinc.com
  • Intuitive Research and Technology Corporation www.irtc-hq.com
  • iRepertoire www.irepertoire.com
  • iXpressGenes (iXG) Inc. www.ixpressgenes.com
  • Jackson Center www.jacksoncenter.net
  • John H. Northrop & Associates (JHNA) Inc. jhna.com
  • Johnson Controls, Inc. www.johnsoncontrols.com
  • Kailos Genetics, Inc. www.kailosgenetics.com
  • KBRwyle http://ww2.wyle.com
  • Kindred Hospice www.kindredhealthcare.com/locations/hospice/huntsville-al-6607
  • Kord Technologies kordtechnologies.com
  • Kratos Defense & Security Solutions, Inc. www.kratosdefense.com
  • Kuwait Liaison Office (KLO) www.dsca.mil/major-arms-sales/government-kuwait-fa-18-cd-services-and-support
  • Kwajalein Range Services www.krsjv.com
  • L3 Technologies www.l3t.com
  • La Petite Academy of Huntsville www.lapetite.com/your-local-school/huntsville-al-7370
  • Layer 8 Technology, Inc. www.layer8technology.com
  • LCE Newport Beach IT, Inc. (TD Development West) lcenb.com
  • Leavendary www.leavendary.com
  • Leidos, Inc. www.leidos.com
  • Littlejohn Engineering Associates www.leainc.com
  • LJT & Associates, Inc. www.ljtinc.com
  • Lockheed Martin Corporation www.lockheedmartin.com
  • LogiCore www.logicorehsv.com
  • LOGOS Enterprises, Inc. www.logos-ent.com
  • LOGZONE, Inc. www.logzoneinc.com
  • LSINC Corporation www.lsinc.com
  • M.B. Kahn Construction Co., Inc. www.mbkahn.com
  • MacAulay-Brown, Inc. (MacB) www.gray-research.com
  • MACRO Industries, Inc. www.macroindustries.com
  • Madison County 310 Board www.madisoncounty310board.org
  • MagnaCom, Inc. www.magnacom-inc.com
  • ManTech NeXolve Corporation www.mantech.com
  • Martin Technologies, Inc. www.martin-tech.com
  • MBDA Missile Systems www.mbdainc.com
  • MCR, LLC www.mcri.com
  • Meads, LLC
  • MegaTech, Inc. www.megatech-inc.com
  • MEI Technologies, Inc. www.meitechinc.com
  • Mentor Graphics www.mentorg.com
  • Mercury Systems, Inc. www.mrcy.com
  • MetaboloStasis Therapeutics www.metabolostasis.com
  • Microarrays Inc. www.microarrays.com
  • Millennium Systems Services, Inc. (MSSI) www.mssi-inc.com
  • Mira Pharmaceuticals www.bloomberg.com/research/stocks/private/snapshot.asp?privcapId=274990333
  • Mobular Technologies, Inc. www.mobular.com
  • Molecular Logic
  • Moog, Inc. www.moog.com
  • MSB Analytics, Inc. www.msbainc.com
  • MTS - Manufacturing Technical Solutions, Inc. www.mts-usa.com
  • MTA, Inc. www.mta-inc.com
  • MVW Nutritionals mvwnutritionals.com
  • National Scale Technology, Inc. www.national-scale.com
  • National Weather Service Weather Forecast Office (NWS WFO HUN) www.srh.noaa.gov/hun
  • Network Services & Support, Inc. www.nss-corp.com
  • nLogic, LLC www.nlogic.com
  • North Alabama Center for Educational Excellence nacee.net
  • Northington Consulting, LLC www.northconllc.com
  • Northrop Grumman Corporation www.northropgrumman.com
  • NSPA Patriot Office www.nspa.nato.int
  • Omega Plus, Inc. www.omegaplus-inc.com
  • OMI, Inc. www.omi-eng.com
  • Orbital ATK www.atk.com
  • Orion Technology, Inc. www.orionhsv.com
  • PAE www.pae.com
  • PARSONS www.parsons.com
  • PeopleTec, Inc. www.peopletec.com
  • Powell Electronics www.powell.com
  • Pratt & Whitney/Space Propulsion
  • Premier Pre-School of Cummings Research Park www.premierpreschools.com/osr-state-pre-kindergarten-grant
  • Prozone Water Products, Inc. www.prozoneint.com
  • QTEC, Inc. qtecinc.com
  • Qualis Corporation www.qualis-corp.com
  • Quantech Services, Inc. www.quantechserv.com
  • Quantum Research International, Inc. www.quantum-intl.com
  • Radiance Technologies, Inc. www.radiancetech.com
  • RadioBro Corporation www.radiobro.com
  • Rainbow Child Care Center rainbowccc.com
  • Raytheon Company www.raytheon.com
  • Red Hat, Inc. www.redhat.com
  • Redstone Federal Credit Union www.redfcu.org
  • ResearchSouth, Inc. www.researchsouthinc.com
  • Rockwell Collins www.rockwellcollins.com
  • Rolls-Royce Instrument and Controls www.rolls-royce.com
  • RS Electronics
  • RTS Operation Center- Huntsville (ROC-H) www.army.mil/article/75407/ROC_H_makes_history
  • S3, Inc. www.s3inc.com
  • SAIC (Science Applications International Corporation) www.saic.com
  • Scientic, Inc. www.scientic.com
  • Seabrook Solutions www.seabrook-solutions.com
  • SEI Group www.seigroupinc.com
  • SELEX Galileo Inc., a Finmeccanica Company www.selexgalileo.com
  • Sentar, Inc. www.sentar.com
  • Serina Therapeutics www.serinatherapeutics.com
  • Shaffer Solutions Corp LLC www.ssc-corp.com
  • Shape Fidelity, Inc. shapefidelity.com
  • Shearer & Associates, Inc. www.shearerassociates.us
  • Siemens PLM Software, Inc. www.siemens.com/plm
  • Sierra Lobo, Inc. www.sierralobo.com
  • Sigmatech, Inc. www.sigmatech.com
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation www.sikorsky.com
  • Sierra Nevada Corporation www.sncorp.com
  • Simtech (Simulation Technologies, Inc.) www.simtechinc.com
  • SL1, Inc. www.SL1-inc.com
  • Small Business Technologies, Inc. www.smallbusinesstechnologiesinc.com
  • Smith Asset Management www.smithasset.com
  • Snelling of Huntsville www.snelling.com/huntsville
  • Southern Research Institute www.southernresearch.org
  • SpecPro, Inc. www.specpro-inc.com
  • Special Aerospace Services www.specialaerospaceservices.com
  • SRCTec www.srctecinc.com
  • SSS Optical Technologies, LLC www.sssopticaltechnologies.com
  • Stephen Gould of Alabama www.stephengould.com
  • Strata-G Solutions, Inc. www.stratag-inc.com
  • StrataForm, Inc. stratag-inc.com
  • Stratolaunch Systems Corporation www.stratolaunch.com
  • Strayer University www.strayer.edu
  • Sulfilatec, Inc.
  • Superior Solutions Incorporated www.ssihsv.com
  • Survice Engineering Company www.survice.com
  • Synapse Wireless, Inc. www.synapse-wireless.com
  • Synectic Research Analysis (SRA, Inc.) www.sra-hsv.com
  • System Dynamics International, Inc. www.sdi-inc.com
  • Systems Engineering Solutions, Inc. www.sesi.com
  • Systems Management and Production Center www.uah.edu/smap
  • Systems Products and Solutions, Inc. www.services-sps.com
  • T & W Operations, Inc. www.tnwops.com
  • Technical Micronics Controls, Inc. www.tmccorp.com
  • Technology Service Corporation (TSC) www.tsc.com
  • TEKsystems www.teksystems.com
  • Teledyne Brown Engineering www.tbe.com
  • Telephonics Corporation www.telephonics.com
  • Tennessee Valley Authority www.tva.gov
  • Terma North America, Inc. www.terma.com
  • The Catalyst Center for Business and Entrepreneurship catalystcenter.org
  • The Element Hotel www.elementhuntsville.com
  • The Trident Group, Inc. www.thetridentgroupinc.com
  • The Westin Huntsville www.westinhuntsville.com
  • Thermo Fisher Scientific www.thermo.com/openbiosystems
  • Time Domain Corporation www.timedomain.com
  • Titertek Instruments, Inc. www.titertek.com
  • TMC Design www.tmcdesign.com
  • Top of Alabama Regional Council of Governments (TARCOG) www.tarcog.us
  • Transomic Technologies www.transomic.com/Home.aspx
  • Trident Technologies www.tridenttechnologies.net
  • Trideum Biosciences trideumbiosciences.com
  • Trideum Corporation www.trideum.com
  • Trimble www.trimble.com
  • Tuba Group www.tvbagroup.com
  • Ubiquity Genomics www.ubiquitygenomics.com
  • United Controls Corporation ucc-scada.com
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville www.uah.edu
  • US Army Corps of Engineers www.usace.army.mil
  • UTC Aerospace Systems www.utcaerospacesystems.com
  • Valepro, LLC www.valepro.com
  • Valley Christian Counseling www.valley-christiancounseling.com
  • Valley Fellowship Christian Academy-Upper School www.vfchristianacademy.com
  • Vencore, Inc. www.vencore.com
  • Verity Integrated Systems, Inc. hwww.verityintsys.com
  • Vertiv www.vertivco.com
  • Viamedia viamediatv.com
  • Victory Solutions, Inc. www.v-s-inc.com
  • Volatile Analysis Corporation www.volatileanalysis.com
  • Warfighter Solutions, LLC www.warfighter-solutions.com
  • Wendy's of Huntsville www.wendysfsmc.com
  • West Corporation - Alorica www.west.com
  • Whitespace Innovations, Inc. whitespaceinnovations.com
  • Willbrook Solutions, Inc www.willbrook.com
  • Wimberly Company Inc. www.wimconts.com
  • Wxworx www.wxworx.com
  • Xerox Corporation www.xerox.com
  • Yellowhammer Logistics Services / Landstar Huntsville www.yellowhammerlogistics.com
  • Yorktown Systems Group Inc. www.ysginc.com
  • Yulista www.yulista.com

References[edit]

External links[edit]


Coordinates: 34°43′25″N 86°38′52″W / 34.723702°N 86.6477726°W / 34.723702; -86.6477726