Disodium guanylate

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from E627)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Disodium guanylate
Skeletal formula of disodium guanylate
Ball-and-stick model of the component ions of disodium guanylate
IUPAC name
disodium [(2R,3S,4R,5R)-5-(2-amino-6-oxo-3H-purin-9-yl)-3,4-dihydroxy-2-tetrahydrofuranyl]methyl phosphate[citation needed]
Other names
sodium 5'-guanylate
disodium 5'-guanylate
3D model (JSmol)
ECHA InfoCard 100.024.468 Edit this at Wikidata
E number E627 (flavour enhancer)
Molar mass 407.186 g·mol−1
Except where otherwise noted, data are given for materials in their standard state (at 25 °C [77 °F], 100 kPa).
☒N verify (what is checkY☒N ?)
Infobox references

Disodium guanylate, also known as sodium 5'-guanylate and disodium 5'-guanylate, is a natural sodium salt of the flavor enhancing nucleotide guanosine monophosphate (GMP). Disodium guanylate is a food additive with the E number E627.[2] It is commonly used in conjunction with glutamic acid.

As it is a fairly expensive additive, it is not used independently of glutamic acid; if disodium guanylate is present in a list of ingredients but MSG does not appear to be, it is likely that glutamic acid is provided as part of another ingredient such as a processed soy protein complex. It is often added to foods in conjunction with disodium inosinate; the combination is known as disodium 5'-ribonucleotides.

Disodium guanylate is produced from dried seaweed and is often added to instant noodles, potato chips and other snacks, savory rice, tinned vegetables, cured meats, and packaged soup.

Nutritional information[edit]

Disodium guanylate is not safe for babies under twelve weeks, and should generally be avoided by asthmatics and people with gout, as guanylates are metabolized to purines. However, the typical amounts found in food are generally too low to produce significant side effects.[2] Since it is often produced from fish,[2] vegans and vegetarians may wish to avoid it unless the product is specifically labeled as vegan or vegetarian. Such labels require the use of non-animal derived sources, such as seaweed or yeast.

See also[edit]


  1. ^ "SID 164216535 - PubChem". pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov.
  2. ^ a b c E627 : Sodium guanylate