Gun laws in Maine
|Subject/Law||Long Guns||Handguns||Relevant Statutes||Notes|
|State permit required to purchase?||No||No|
|Owner license required?||No||No|
|Permit required for concealed carry?||N/A||No||25 MRS §2003||Maine is a "shall issue" state for concealed carry. Constitutional/permitless carry legislation took effect on October 15, 2015.|
|Permit required for open carry?||No||No||Open carry is permitted.|
|State preemption of local restrictions?||Yes||Yes||Local governments may restrict the discharge of firearms.|
|Assault weapon law?||No||No|
|Magazine capacity restriction?||No*||No||12 MRS §11214|
|NFA weapons restricted?||No||No|
|Shall certify?||Yes||Yes||25 MRSA §2013(3)||Shall certify within 15 days.|
|Background checks required for private sales?||No||No|
Laws Regarding Concealed and Open Carry
Maine is a constitutional carry and "shall issue" state for concealed carry. The issuing authority for permits are the local police, or the state police. As of October 15, 2015, a permit is not needed to carry a firearm - concealed or open - in the state of Maine, provided that the carrier is legally allowed to own a gun and is over 21 or a member or veteran of the military and over age 18. Concealed carry permits are still available (and are needed in order to legally carry weapons in various other states with which Maine has reciprocity agreements as well as for those under 21); such permits shall be issued within 30 days to a qualified applicant (who has to show proficiency in the use of pistols) and who has been a Maine resident for at least five years, or within 60 days to a nonresident or a resident for less than five years. The permit is valid for four years.
Open carry is not lawful in establishments licensed to serve alcohol for consumption on premises (bars, clubs, certain restaurants and so on) provided there is a "no firearms" sign posted in a manner reasonably likely to come to the attention of patrons or if the carrier of firearms is under the influence of alcohol or drugs by the same standards as apply for operating a motor vehicle. Open carry is not lawful in Federal buildings. Maine honors concealed carry permits from several other states.
Laws Regarding Use of Firearms for Hunting
For hunters, a semi-automatic firearm's magazine capacity can not exceed 6 cartridges (5 in the magazine +1 in the chamber). For migratory game bird hunting, shotgun capacity is 3 shells. Upland bird hunting follows the semi-automatic laws. This is stated in Maine hunting law, but not Maine firearm law. Firearms, even if by definition it qualifies as a "hunting firearm", have no magazine capacity restriction. It only becomes a crime if one actively, or has previously, hunted while violating the magazine capacity restriction. These provisions do not apply to .22 caliber rimfire guns or to auto-loading pistols with a barrel length of less than 8 inches. Maine allows the use of suppressors (also known as "silencers") for hunting, subject to the acquiring a permit.
Maine has state preemption of firearms laws. No political subdivision of the state may adopt any law regulating firearms or ammunition, except for regulating the discharge of firearms.
A municipality may not sue a firearm or ammunition manufacturer for damages relating to the lawful design, manufacture, marketing or sale of firearms or ammunition. A municipality may bring legal action for breach of contract or warranty.
Employers in Maine may not prohibit its employees from keeping a firearm in the employee's vehicle if the employee has a valid permit to carry the concealed firearm and the firearm is concealed in the employee's own locked vehicle. Employers may continue to prohibit firearms on its premises other than in its parking lot under the conditions specified in the law.
- "State Gun Laws: Maine", National Rifle Association – Institute for Legislative Action. Retrieved December 31, 2012.
- "Maine State Law Summary", Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. Retrieved December 31, 2012.
- Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms – State Firearms Laws – Maine
- "Search the Maine Statutes – "firearm"". Janus.state.me.us. October 1, 2010. Retrieved November 23, 2011.
- "Maine State Police – Weapons Permits & Professional Licensing". Maine.gov. Retrieved November 23, 2011.
- "State of Maine Laws Relating to Permits to Carry Concealed Firearms" (PDF). Retrieved November 23, 2011.
- "Maine Concealed Carry Permit Information on". Usacarry.com. Retrieved November 23, 2011.
- "Concealed Handgun Permits", Maine State Police. Retrieved December 14, 2011.
- 2013-14 Maine Hunting & Trapping Guide
- Olivier, Elizabeth A. (October 19, 2011). "LD 35 Prohibits Maine Employers from Banning Concealed Guns in Vehicles on Workplace Property". Preti Flaherty Beliveau and Pachios.
- Verrill Dana LLP (July 14, 2011). "Ten Questions On Every Employer's Mind About Maine's New Bring Your Gun To Work Law". martindale.com. LexisNexis.
- Journal, Jon BolducSun (2019-05-29). "Paris selectmen adopt Second Amendment Sanctuary Town resolution". Lewiston Sun Journal. Retrieved 2019-06-05.