Gun laws in Ohio
|Subject/Law||Long Guns||Hand Guns||Relevant Statutes||Notes|
|State permit required to purchase?||No||No|
|Assault weapon law?||No||No||O.R.C. 2923.11|
|Magazine capacity restriction?||No||No|
|Owner license required?||No||No|
|Permit required for concealed carry?||N/A||No||O.R.C. 2923.111
|Ohio is a "shall issue" state for citizens and lawful permanent residents who are 21 years or older.|
Permitless carry took effect on June 13, 2022.
|Permit required for open carry?||No||No||O.R.C. 2923.111
|May carry openly without permit.|
|Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground law?||Yes||Yes||O.R.C. 2901.09|
|State preemption of local restrictions?||Yes||Yes||O.R.C. 9.68|
|NFA weapons restricted?||No||No||O.R.C. 2923.17|
|Shall certify?||Yes||Yes||O.R.C. 311.43||Shall certify within 45 days.|
|Peaceable Journey laws?||No||No|
|Background checks required for private sales?||No||No|
|Duty to inform?||No||No||O.R.C. 2923.12
|If asked by Law Enforcement. Section 2923.12 (B)(1)|
|Purchase age restriction?||Yes||Yes||O.R.C. 2923.211(B)||In addition to federal law, state law prohibits sales of handguns to those under 21, including in private transactions.|
State constitutional provisions
Article I, Section 4 of the Ohio Constitution states: "The people have the right to bear arms for their defense and security; but standing armies, in time of peace, are dangerous to liberty, and shall not be kept up; and the military shall be in strict subordination to the civil power."
Restrictions on purchasing
To purchase a long gun (rifle or shotgun) in Ohio, a person must be at least 18 years of age, with some restrictions still remaining. To be able to qualify to purchase a handgun (pistol or revolver) in Ohio, a person must be at least 21 years of age. This applies to both private sales and those through a Federal Firearms Licensee. However, the law regarding purchasing age is silent on ammunition, components and accessories. In Ohio, there are also a few other laws that are important to be mindful of. It is illegal to consciously fire a firearm while inside of a motor vehicle. Antique or replica rifles, shotguns, and handguns are supposed to be treated with the same urgency and under the same law a modern firearm would be. Antiques or replicas have to be carried and purchased under modern Ohio regulatory law.
While there are restrictions against purchasing a long gun under 18 years of age and purchasing a handgun under 21 years of age, there are no restrictions against possessing a long gun under the age of 18 or possessing a handgun under the age of 21. Ohio law is silent on 80% receivers and other firearms parts, as well as manufacturing one's own firearm. One may openly carry a long gun or handgun under the respective purchasing ages, per se.
In April 2004, Ohio became the 45th state to legalize concealed carry and its statute went into effect. The law (Ohio Revised Code [O.R.C.] 2923.12, et seq.) allows persons 21 and older to receive a concealed handgun license provided that they receive a minimum of 8 hours of handgun training (6 hours of classroom instruction and 2 hours of range time) from a certified instructor, demonstrate competency with a handgun through written and shooting tests, pass a criminal background check, and meet certain residency requirements [non-residents who work in Ohio will be allowed to obtain licenses as of March 23, 2015].
The statute prohibits any person with any drug conviction from receiving a license, as well as any person convicted of a felony and those who have been convicted of certain misdemeanor crimes of violence within three years (ORC 2923.125).
Ohio's concealed handgun law allows for reciprocity with other states with "substantially comparable" statutes, and to date Ohio has reciprocity with 22 other states. Such written agreements allow licensees from each state to carry in the other. Other states, such as Iowa, recognize Ohio licenses in their state without reciprocity, meaning Ohio does not in turn recognize permits issued by that state. Indiana and Ohio now have reciprocity. All told an Ohio license is accepted in 30 other states, although some of these states such as Vermont do not require anybody to have a license to carry. As of March 23, 2015, non-residents will be able to carry on any valid out-of-state license regardless of whether or not a formal reciprocity agreement has been signed.
An Ohio concealed carry license does not allow totally unfettered carry. Any owner of private property can ban handguns by posting a sign in clear view or providing verbal notice. Additional "no-carry" zones are mandated by O.R.C., including most government buildings, churches, and school property with the latter two zones having exceptions for licensees in certain circumstances. Various other "no-carry" zones are also enumerated.
Employers may not forbid employees from storing guns in their vehicles while the vehicle is on the employer's parking lot.
The law also allows concealed carry permit holders to:
- Store their guns in the car while in a school zone
- Carry in non-secure areas of airports, such as baggage claim.
- Carry inside daycare centers and home daycares, unless the facilities post a sign prohibiting guns
On March 14, 2022, Ohio Governor Mike DeWine signed Senate Bill 215 (effective June 13, 2022). Under its provisions, any person 21+, residents and nonresidents, who meets the definition of a "qualifying adult" under O.R.C. 2923.111, may carry a concealed handgun without a license. Residents and non-residents under 21 may still open carry, but require a valid concealed handgun license issued by another U.S. jurisdiction to conceal carry.
Ohio is a traditional open-carry state. The open-carry of firearms by those who legally possess the firearm is a legal activity in Ohio with or without a license. One need not have a concealed handgun license (CHL, CCW) to transport an unloaded handgun in a motor vehicle but it must be secured/contained and located in the vehicle requiring an exit of said vehicle to access it. Ammunition and magazines must be in a separate compartment or holding device. It is illegal for someone with alcohol in their system to possess a firearm in their vehicle or on their person.
It is illegal to openly carry a handgun in Class D Liquor permit premises unless one possesses a concealed carry permit and is not consuming alcohol. The law does not specify if the handgun must be concealed or not.
On March 22 of 2017, Senate Bill 199 went into effect in the state of Ohio that allowed even larger freedoms for gun holders in the state. The new state legislature denies employers or law enforcement from limiting the open carry freedoms in parking lots. Gun owners are only permitted to have their firearm on private company property if it stays locked inside the vehicle. Employers can still deny their employees the ability to bring a firearm into the workplace.
The laws still prohibit having concealed firearms on college campuses in Ohio, but allow for open carry. Colleges are now able to hire and designate authorized people or groups to concealed carry firearms to manage the campus. Private day care centers are still able to limit the concealed carrying of firearms on the premises of the school by posting "no gun" signs. Lastly, this bill allows active duty members of the armed forces to forgo the concealed handgun license if they can provide a valid military ID and documentation of their firearms training.
Per O.R.C. 9.68, all firearm laws in Ohio, except those restricting the discharge of firearms and certain zoning regulations, supersede any local ordinances. This restriction on municipalities was upheld by the Ohio Supreme Court in the cases of OFCC vs. Clyde (2008) and City of Cleveland vs. State of Ohio (2010). An individual in Ohio has a constitutional right, by the United States Constitution and the Ohio State Constitution to bear arms. This is a right that is consistently upheld and respected by the state of Ohio and it is the responsibility of the general assembly to create a set of fair, just and uniform laws throughout Ohio when monitoring the possession, retail or ownership of a firearm or the necessary components to use a firearm. That is the expectation of the state's government leaders and their regulation practices.
- "State Gun Laws of Ohio", National Rifle Association – Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA), November 1, 2011. Retrieved January 26, 2014.
- "Ohio State Law Summary", Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence (LCPGV), January 1, 2012. Retrieved January 26, 2014.
- "Section 2923.211 - Ohio Revised Code | Ohio Laws".
- "Lawriter - ORC - 2923.211 Underage purchase of firearm or handgun". codes.ohio.gov. Retrieved October 23, 2019.
- "Lawriter - ORC - 2923.16 Improperly handling firearms in a motor vehicle". codes.ohio.gov. Retrieved October 23, 2019.
- "Lawriter - ORC". codes.ohio.gov. Retrieved October 23, 2019.
- Ohio Attorney General – Concealed Carry information
- "Ohio Legislature HB 234".
- Ohio's Concealed Carry Laws and License Application.
- NRA-ILA. "NRA-ILA | Ohio: Kasich Signs Critical Self-Defense Bill Into Law!". NRA-ILA. Retrieved December 22, 2016.
- "Lawriter - ORC - 2923.121 Possession of firearm in beer liquor permit premises - prohibition, exceptions". codes.ohio.gov. Retrieved June 20, 2016.
- "New Ohio gun law expands where people can carry concealed weapons". cleveland.com. Retrieved December 7, 2017.
- "Big changes to Ohio's concealed carry law to take effect Tuesday". NBC4i.com. March 20, 2017. Retrieved December 7, 2017.
- Marshall, Aaron (December 29, 2010). "Ohio Supreme Court Upholds State Law Blocking Cleveland's Gun Law", The Plain Dealer. Retrieved January 25, 2014.
- NRA-ILA. "NRA-ILA | Ohio Gun Laws". NRA-ILA. Retrieved December 7, 2017.
- "Commissioners express support for Second Amendment - Pomeroy Daily Sentinel". www.mydailysentinel.com. December 19, 2019. Retrieved December 20, 2019.