Islamic dietary laws

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Islamic jurisprudence specifies which foods are halāl (حَلَال "lawful") and which are harām (حَرَامْ "unlawful"). This is derived from commandments found in the Qur'an, the holy book of Islam, as well as the Hadith and Sunnah, libraries cataloging things the Islamic prophet Muhammad is reported to have said and done. Extensions of these rulings are issued, as fatwas, by mujtahids, with varying degrees of strictness, but they are not always widely held to be authoritative.

According to the Quran, the only foods explicitly forbidden are meat from animals that die of themselves, blood, the meat of swine (porcine animals, pigs), and animals dedicated to other than God (either undedicated or dedicated to idols). All vegetarian cuisine are halal and allowed for muslims.

However, a person would not be guilty of sin in a situation where the lack of any alternative creates an undesired necessity to consume that which is otherwise unlawful. (Quran 2:173) This is the "law of necessity" in Islamic jurisprudence: "That which is necessary makes the forbidden permissible", which, in the case of dietary laws, allows one to eat pork or carrion, but not to drink wine or ethanol if one were starving or dying of thirst.[citation needed]

Food preparation[edit]

Main article: Dhabīḥah

Dhabīḥah (ذَبِيْحَة) is a prescribed method of ritual animal slaughter; it does not apply to most aquatic animals. The animal must be slaughtered while mentioning the name of God (Allah in Arabic). According to some fatwas, the animal must be slaughtered specifically by a Muslim; however, other fatwas dispute this, ruling that, according to verse 5:5 of the Qurʼan, an animal properly slaughtered by People of the Book is halal. The animal slaughtered must be killed quickly with a sharpened blade.

It must not suffer. It must not see the blade. It must not see or smell the blood from a previous slaughter. The main logic given by Islamic clerics is the significance of life. Many clerics argue that the life, given by God, is not an insignificant gift therefore no entity except God has the right to take this valuable gift away and by mentioning the God's name you imply that command of God.[citation needed]

Animals for food may not be killed by being boiled or electrocuted, and the carcass should be hung upside down for long enough to be free of blood.[1] All water game is considered halal (although the Hanafi madhhab differs on this): "Lawful to you is game from the sea and its food as provision for you [who are settled] as well as for travellers, although you are forbidden to hunt on land while you are in the state of pilgrimage. And be conscious of God, unto whom you shall be gathered." (Qurʼan 5:96.)

Foods stated to be Halal in Islamic texts[edit]

The Uromastyx maliensis lizard, known as "dabb" (ضَبّ) by peninsular Arabs, is consumed as food by the Bedouin populations of the Arabian peninsula, mainly those residing in the interior regions of Saudi Arabia.[2] This monitor lizard is considered a "bedouin delicacy".[3] An example of this is attributed to a hadith by the prophet Muhammad, who belonged to a sedentary family in the Hejaz. A Sahih Hadith recorded that when an uromastyx lizard was brought to the prophet Muhammad by Bedouins from the Najd, namely Hufaida bint al-Harith, Muhammad did not eat it and said that he dislike it although it is notot prohibited so one of his companion Khalid bin Walid consumed the lizard.[4][5][6] Dried lizard tonic was monopolized by the Hashemites before the Saudi family seized Medina and Mecca from them.[7]

A wedding dowry of 100 dabb lizards was proposed by a Saudi groom.[8]

One stereotype Persians have of Arabs is that they eat lizards.[9][10][11][12][13] Persians use the slur "soosmar-khor" (سوسمار خور) ("lizard eater"[14]) against Arabs and the Sunni Muslim Persian poet Ferdowsi included a derogatory insulting verse against Arabs in his Shahnameh poem (زشیر شتر خوردن و سوسمار عرب را به جایی رسیده ست کار که فر کیانی کند آرزو تفو بر تو ای چرخ گردون تفو) (zasheer shatar khordan va soosmar)[15] which is translated into Arabic as (مِن شُرب لبن الابل وأكل الضب بلغ العرب مبلغاً أن يطمحوا في تاج الملك؟ فتباً لك أيها الزمان وسحقا)[16] or (ثم قال: أعلمنى بما أنت عليه من دينك، و رسمك و آيينك. و أخبرنى مَن سلطانك و بمن اعتضادك و اعتصامك. فقد جئت فى عساكر حفاة عراة بلا ثقل و لا رحل و لا فيل و لا تخت. ثم بلغ بكم الأمر من شربكم ألبان الإبل و أكلكم أضباب القيعان إلى تمنى أسرّة الملوك العجم أرباب التخوت و التيجان.),[17] with the verse attributed to the Persian commander Rostam Farrokhzād as insulting the Arabs as camel milk drinkers and lizard eaters during the Muslim conquest of Persia. Some historians believed another Persian in the Medieval ages inserted the line about lizards and camels milk and that Ferdowsi did not write it.[18][19][20] Richard F. Burton translated the line as "Hath the Arabs daring performed such feat, Fed on camel’s milk and the lizard's meat, That he cast on Kayánian crown his eye? Fie, O whirling world! on thy faith and fie!"[21]

Prohibited food[edit]

A variety of substances are considered as unlawful(haraam) for humans to consume and, therefore, forbidden as per various Qurʼanic verses:

  • Pork[22]
  • Animals slaughtered in the name of anyone but "God".[23] All that has been dedicated or offered in sacrifice to an idolatrous altar or saint or a person considered to be "divine"[22][24]
  • Carrion (carcasses of dead animals which weren't killed by men or pets trained for purpose, like dogs or falcons)[22]
  • An animal that has been strangled, beaten (to death), killed by a fall, gored (to death), or savaged by a beast of prey (unless finished off by a human)[24]
  • Blood[24]
  • Intoxicants and alcoholic beverages[25]

Quranic verses which have information regarding halal foods include: 2:173, 5:5, and 6:118–119, 121.


Further information: Religion and alcohol

In Islam, consumption of any intoxicants (specifically, alcoholic beverages) is generally forbidden in the Qur'an through several separate verses revealed at different times over a period of years. At first, it was forbidden for Muslims to attend prayers while intoxicated.

O you who believe! do not go near prayer when you are Intoxicated until you know (well) what you say, nor when you are under an obligation to perform a bath—unless (you are) travelling on the road—until you have washed yourselves; and if you are sick, or on a journey, or one of you come from the privy or you have touched the women, and you cannot find water, betake yourselves to pure earth, then wipe your faces and your hands; surely Allah is Pardoning, Forgiving.

— Qurʼan, Sura 4 (al-Nisaʼ), ayah 43[26]

Then a later verse was revealed which said that alcohol contains some good and some evil, but the evil is greater than the good:

They ask you about intoxicants and games of chance. Say: In both of them there is a great sin and means of profit for men, and their sin is greater than their profit. And they ask you as to what they should spend. Say: What you can spare. Thus does Allah make clear to you the communications, that you may ponder.

— Qurʼan, Surah 2 (al-Baqarah), ayah 219[27]

In addition to this, most observant Muslims refrain from consuming food products that contain pure vanilla extract or soy sauce if these food products contain alcohol; there is some debate about whether the prohibition extends to dishes in which the alcohol would be cooked off or if it would be practically impossible to consume enough of the food to become intoxicated.[28][29] The Zaidi and Mutazili sects believe that the use of alcohol has always been forbidden and refer to this Qur'an Ayah (4:43) as feeling of sleepiness and not to be awake.

Substances which are intoxicants are not prohibited as such, although their consumption is.[30] For example, alcohol can be used as a disinfectant[31][32] or for cleaning, but not as a beverage. For people who will enter paradise, in Sura XLVII Verse 15 it states that,

(There is) a Parable of the Garden which the righteous are promised; in it are rivers of water incorruptible; rivers of milk of which the taste never changes; rivers of wine, a joy to those who drink; and rivers of honey... etc.

Consuming alcohol is not forbidden for Alevi people either as different from other Islamic religious groups.[33]


Blood and its by-products are forbidden in Islam, in the Qurʼan, surah 5, al-Maʼidah, verse 3:

Forbidden to you is that which dies of itself, and blood, and flesh of swine, and that on which any other name than that of Allah has been invoked, and the strangled (animal) and that beaten to death, and that killed by a fall and that killed by being smitten with the horn, and that which wild beasts have eaten, except what you slaughter, and what is sacrificed on stones set up (for idols) and that you divide by the arrows; that is a transgression. This day have those who disbelieve despaired of your religion, so fear them not, and fear Me. This day have I perfected for you your religion and completed My favor on you and chosen for you Islam as a religion; but whoever is compelled by hunger, not inclining willfully to sin, then surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

— Qurʼan, Surah 5 (al-Maʼidah), ayah 3[34]


Consumption of pork and products made from pork is strictly forbidden in Islam. The origin of this prohibition is in Surat al-Baqarah:

He has only forbidden you what dies of itself, and blood, and flesh of swine, and that over which any other (name) than (that of) Allah has been invoked; but whoever is driven to necessity, not desiring, nor exceeding the limit, no sin shall be upon him; surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful.

— Qurʼan, Sura 2 (Al-Baqara), ayat 173[35]


Consumption of rabbit is forbidden among the Alevi people in Turkey and Balkan countries.[36]

A halal meat store sign in Hankou, China, ca. 1935, serving the Hui Muslim community. The Hui Muslims are scattered throughout the country.
A halal Chinese restaurant in Da'an, Taipei.
Halal certificate issued for dairy products by a German registered merchant
Australian halal certificate for chocolate.

Food certification[edit]

Halal restaurant in Almaty, Kazakhstan. Yurta (potatoes with meat) and kumis are made of ingredients considered halal.

Since the turn of the 21st century, there have been efforts to create organizations such as the Muslim Consumer Group that certify food products as halal for Muslim consumers in the USA.[37] The Muslim Consumer Group is an example of an organization that employs certification labelling, using the H-MCG symbol, to identify the status of different edible and non-edible consumer products.

Since 1991, some mainstream manufacturers of soups, grains, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals, prepared foods, and other products, as well as hotels, restaurants, airlines, hospitals, and other service providers have pursued the halal market. These companies purchase halal-certified products. This can allow companies to export products to most Middle Eastern countries and South East Asian Countries. The oldest and most well-known halal certifier in the United States is called the Islamic Services of America.[38]

  • In 2011, the Halal Products Certification Institute was established in California and became the first worldwide corporation that certified halal consumer products such as cosmetics, personal care products, and perfumes and fragrances. The institute was established by Islamic intellectual scholars and Muslim scientists to assure the dissemination of halal consumer products.

In Europe, several organizations have been created over the past twenty years in order to certify the halal products. A survey recently published by a French association of Muslim Consumers (ASIDCOM[39]) shows that the market of halal products has been developed in a chaotic way in Europe.[40] The European certification organizations do not have a common definition of "halal" nor agreed upon control procedures and traceability. The controls implemented by individual agencies are all very different: they can go from an annual audit of the slaughterhouse, to checking each production with permanent controls in place and on-going independent monitoring.

Some animals and manners of death or preparation can make certain things haram to eat, that is, taboo food and drink. These include what are regarded as unclean animals such as swine, or animals that are sick.[41]

In South Africa, most chicken products have a halal stamp. The South African National Halal Authority (SANHA) issues certificates and products bearing this logo range from water, snacks, and even meat-free products (which may contain non-halal ingredients). The South African National Halal Authority also licenses the usage of the Halal logo in restaurants where the food is halal in addition to no alcohol or pork products being served.[42]

Availability of halal food in non-Islamic regions[edit]

Rules concerning halal food are relatively difficult to adhere to in non-Muslim countries:

  • The abundance of pork and non-dhabīḥah meats (that is, from animals that are not slaughtered by the prescribed method) at restaurants presents a rather difficult problem to overcome. While an observant Muslim would not order a non-halal dish, there is a concern about cross-contamination. This is likely to occur when the dhabīḥah halal dish is prepared with the same cooking tools and in the same kitchen as other non-dhabīḥah halal dishes. Food particles and juices from the two dishes are likely to be exchanged, technically rendering the dhabīḥah halal dish as haraam.
  • Many apparently meat-free dishes, and even some desserts, contain pork, such as most kinds of gelatin, or other non-conforming substances. There is some disagreement about food additives such as monosodium glutamate (MSG) that may use enzymes derived from pig fat in the production process. It is difficult to avoid such additives when eating out since they are usually not listed on restaurant menus. Some Muslim organizations compile tables of such additives.[43]

The halal market is now estimated to be 16% of world trade and is growing.[citation needed] Companies from Europe and North America that would like to access the growing Halal market must get their consumable products Halal certified. The Global Halal Institute has a list of Halal certifiers that are approved by most Muslim countries with dietary import restrictions. The list can be found on


In Dearborn, Michigan, the home of one of the largest Muslim and Arab populations in the United States, some fast-food restaurant chains such as the McDonald's Corporation have introduced halal chicken nuggets and chicken sandwiches.[44]

Popeye's Chicken in Ontario is mostly not halal-certified (depending on location); however, a legal dispute broke out between a group of 14 Muslim franchisees and the chain over the company's decision to use machine-slaughtered birds. The fourteen Toronto area outlets are instead using hand-slaughtered halal birds, and are suing the company so that they can continue to do so.[45]


In the United Kingdom, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, or Singapore, halal fried chicken restaurants having thousands of outlets serve halal foods, such as the ChicKing Fried Chicken, Kentucky Fried Chicken, Nando's, Brown's Chicken, and Crown Fried Chicken companies. As of February 2009, Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurants in the U.K. began to sell halal meals in several restaurants.[46]

In Europe, several organizations have been created over the past 20 years in order to certify halal products. A survey recently published by a French association of Muslim Consumers (ASIDCOM) shows that the market of halal products has been developed in a chaotic way. The certification organizations do not have a common definition of "halal" nor agreed upon control procedures and traceability. The controls implemented by individual agencies are all very different: it can go from an annual audit of the slaughterhouse to checking each production with permanent controls in place.[47]


Thailand and the Philippines also have a noticeable population of Muslims and halal-meat shops country-wide.[citation needed]

Within the People's Republic of China, which has a sizable Hui Muslim minority population, halal food is known as qingzhen (Chinese: 清真; pinyin: qīngzhēn; literally: "pure truth"). Halal restaurants run by Hui Chinese resemble typical Chinese food, except that they do not serve pork. Dishes specific to Hui Chinese are known as Chinese Islamic cuisine.

See also[edit]


  1. ^ What exactly does the halal method of animal slaughter involve? | Life and style | The Guardian
  2. ^ "Hunting 'dabb' in Al-Asyah". Arab News. 2001-04-27. Retrieved 2016-01-07.  "All comments on ضبان ضبان lizard in Saudi Arabia". YouTube. Retrieved 2016-01-07.  "Saudi Aramco World : The Toad-Head From Najd And Other Reptiles". Retrieved 2016-01-07.  American Bedu (September 26, 2008). "Don't Know What to Cook? How About Dhub – Traditional Saudi Beudion Dish". American Bedu. Usman, Omar (July 10, 2008). "Sunnah of the Dhab Lizard Delicacy". Muslim Matters.سوسمار-خوری-عربها-عکس/
  3. ^ John P. Rafferty (January 2011). Deserts and Steppes. The Rosen Publishing Group. pp. 55–. ISBN 978-1-61530-317-5. 
  4. ^ "SahihMuslim.Com". SahihMuslim.Com. Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  5. ^ IslamKotob. muslim. IslamKotob. pp. 1242–. GGKEY:SAAQR2RYZ87. 
  6. ^ IslamKotob (1978). Sahih Muslim: Being Traditions of the Sayings and Doings of the Prophet Muhammad as Narrated by His Companions and Compiled Under the Title Al-Jami'-us-sahih : with Explanatory Notes and Brief Biographical Sketches of Major Narrators. Islamic Books. pp. 1242–. GGKEY:A3373925T9E.  "Quran / Hadith English Translation - Search Engine". Retrieved 2016-01-07.  "Ruling on Different Types of Lizards". 2011-10-27. Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  7. ^ Kifner, John (1996-06-30). "Desert Storms - For Danger In the Mideast, Just Look Around". Iraq; Middle East; Israel; Saudi Arabia. Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  8. ^
  9. ^ Terence O'Donnell (1980). Garden of the brave in war. Ticknor & Fields. p. 19. ISBN 978-0-89919-016-7. 
  10. ^ [1] Archived April 21, 2012, at the Wayback Machine.
  11. ^ Elaine Sciolino (25 September 2001). Persian Mirrors: The Elusive Face of Iran. Simon and Schuster. pp. 170–. ISBN 978-0-7432-1779-8. 
  12. ^ Farhang Rajaee (1997). Iranian Perspectives on the Iran-Iraq War. University Press of Florida. pp. 75–. ISBN 978-0-8130-1476-0. 
  13. ^ Shirin Tahir-Kheli; Shaheen Ayubi (1983). The Iran-Iraq War: New Weapons, Old Conflicts. Praeger. p. 71. ISBN 978-0-03-062906-8.  "Arabs rise, Tehran trembles". Retrieved 2016-01-07.  "Islamic Revival and Middle East Social Revolution | AL-ALAM AL-ISLAMI". Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  14. ^
  15. ^ "گنجور » فردوسی » شاهنامه » پادشاهی یزدگرد » بخش ۳". Retrieved 2016-01-07.  [2] Archived August 25, 2015, at the Wayback Machine.
  16. ^ [3][dead link] "من طعنة الخنجر إلى الدمار الشامل بقلم: إبراهيم بوهندي". Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  17. ^ "يزدجرد الثالث - ويكي مصدر". (in Arabic). Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  18. ^ Touraj Daryaee. "Food, Purity and Pollution: Medieval Zoroastrian Views on the Eating Habits of the Arabs and Indians" (DOC). Retrieved 2016-01-07.  Franklin Lewis (1999). "Reviewed Work: The Image of Arabs in Modern Persian Literature by Joya Blondel Saad". Iranian Studies. 32: 163–167. JSTOR 4311227.  "Food, Purity and Pollution: Zoroastrian Views on the Eating Habits of Others | Touraj Daryaee". 1970-01-01. Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  19. ^ Ferdowsi, (27 April 2012). The Epic of the Kings (RLE Iran B): Shah-Nama the national epic of Persia. Taylor & Francis. ISBN 978-1-136-84077-7. 
  20. ^ David Menashri (6 December 2012). Post-Revolutionary Politics in Iran: Religion, Society and Power. Routledge. pp. 1999–. ISBN 978-1-136-33371-2. 
  21. ^ "The Book of the Thousand Nights and a Night/Volume 7". Retrieved 2016-01-07. 
  22. ^ a b c Quran 2:173
  23. ^ Quran 6:121
  24. ^ a b c Quran 5:3
  25. ^ Quran 5:90
  26. ^ Quran 4:43
  27. ^ Quran 2:219
  28. ^ Alcohol in Islam
  29. ^ Islam Prohibits Alcohol
  30. ^ Common Misconceptions About Islam, Muslims and The Quran: Alcohol is forbidden in all forms
  31. ^ UK NHS National Patient Safety Agency: Alcohol handrub
  32. ^ World Health Organization Guidelines on Hand Hygiene in Health Care
  33. ^ Turkey's Alevi muslims look to EU for protection from intolerance
  34. ^ Quran 5:3
  35. ^ Quran 2:173
  36. ^ Turkish Culture & Haci Bektas Veli Research Quarterly;2011, Issue 60, p281
  37. ^ "Welcome -". Retrieved 2012-07-17. 
  38. ^ "?". Islamic Services of America. 
  39. ^ ASIDCOM
  40. ^ (English) "Survey on the Halal certification agencies (December 2009)". ASIDCOM. Retrieved 2010-09-11. 
  41. ^ "Haram food". Retrieved 2014-11-04. 
  42. ^ "HHO: Recognized Halal Certification Bodies". Retrieved 2012-07-17. 
  43. ^ "Food additive numbers". Retrieved 2012-07-17. 
  44. ^ Dodge, Christine Huda. "Halal McNuggets a Hit in Detroit". Retrieved 2011-10-06. 
  45. ^ Stone, Laura (2 November 2011). "Popeye's in fight over Halal chicken". Toronto Star. Retrieved 2012-01-07. 
  46. ^ Killalea, Debra. "Fast food chain KFC converts eight London restaurants to halal-only menu". Daily Mail. 
  47. ^ "Survey on the Halal certification agencies (December 2009)". ASIDCOM. Retrieved 2010-09-11. 

External links[edit]