26 May 1979|
Kapiri Mposhi, Zambia
Janny Sikazwe (born 1979) is a Zambian international football referee. He got his big break in 2008 at COSAFA U-20 Challenge Cup in South Africa when he was called to replace another referee who had failed a fitness test.
He was one of the referees for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations. He refereed the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup Final in Japan, and the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations Final in Gabon. He was selected to officiate at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, and made his debut in the Belgium vs Panama Group G game on 18 June. The match also saw him going into the record books as he became the first Zambian referee to officiate a game at the FIFA World Cup finals.
Sikazwe also refereed at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, where he came under scrutiny for incorrectly calling for full-time twice in the Group F game between Mali and Tunisia on 12 January 2022: firstly at the 86th minute, and again before the 91st minute by about 17 seconds. He announced the return of the match after 25 minutes of stopping to complete three minutes, but the Tunisian team refused to complete it. A forensic report stated that Sikazwe suffered heat stroke, which contributed to his mishandling of the match.
|2018 FIFA World Cup|
|18 June 2018||Belgium – Panama||Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi||Group stage|
|28 June 2018||Japan – Poland||Volgograd Arena, Volgograd||Group stage|
|2022 FIFA World Cup|
|23 November 2022||Belgium – Canada||Ahmad bin Ali Stadium , Al Rayyan||Group stage|
- "Education & Technical - Referees by Association - FIFA.com". Fifa.com. 6 September 2015. Archived from the original on 6 September 2015. Retrieved 22 November 2022.
- "'Sikazwe could referee the World Cup final'". ESPN.com. Retrieved 10 June 2018.
- "Reverential salute for referee Janny Sikazwe". ZamFoot. 19 June 2018. Retrieved 12 January 2022.
- Darwin, Stephen (12 January 2022). "Crazy scenes at Afcon as referee Janny Sikazwe twice blows too early for full-time in Mali's 1-0 win over Tunisia". Goal. Retrieved 12 January 2022.
- Lawless, Josh (13 January 2022). "AFCON Official Explains Why Referee From Tunisia Vs Mali Game Blew Early For Full-Time TWICE". SPORTbible. The LADbible Group Ltd. Retrieved 25 January 2022.