January 1954

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31  

The following events occurred in January 1954:

January 1, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

  • The Soviet Union ceases to demand war reparations from East Germany.

January 2, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

January 3, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

January 4, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

January 5, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

  • Died:
    • Rabbit Maranville, American baseball player (Boston Braves) and a member of the MLB Hall of Fame (b. 1891)
    • Lillian Rich, English actress (b. 1900)

January 6, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

January 7, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

January 8, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

January 9, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

January 10, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

  • BOAC Flight 781, a de Havilland Comet jet plane, disintegrates in mid-air due to metal fatigue and crashes in the Mediterranean near Elba. All 35 people on board are killed.

January 11, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

January 12, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

January 13, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

January 14, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

  • Marilyn Monroe marries baseball player Joe DiMaggio.

January 15, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

  • Mau Mau leader Waruhiu Itote is captured in Kenya.

January 16, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

January 17, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

  • In Yugoslavia, Milovan Đilas, one of the leading members of the League of Communists of Yugoslavia, is relieved of his duties.

January 18, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

January 19, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

January 20, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • The US-based National Negro Network is established with forty-six member radio stations.
  • Died:Fred Root, English cricketer (b. 1890)

January 21, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

  • The first nuclear-powered submarine, the USS Nautilus, is launched in Groton, Connecticut, by First Lady of the United States Mamie Eisenhower.

January 22, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

January 23, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

January 24, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

January 25, 1954 (Monday)[edit]

  • The foreign ministers of the United States, Britain, France and the Soviet Union meet at the Berlin Conference.

January 26, 1954 (Tuesday)[edit]

January 27, 1954 (Wednesday)[edit]

January 28, 1954 (Thursday)[edit]

January 29, 1954 (Friday)[edit]

January 30, 1954 (Saturday)[edit]

  • Died:
  • Born:
    • Albert Gerard Gardner, son of Lawrence Walton Gardner and Agnes Mary Tronolone Gardner

January 31, 1954 (Sunday)[edit]

References[edit]