Joseph A. Foran High School

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Joseph A. Foran High School
Location
80 Foran Road
Milford, Connecticut 06460

United States
Information
Type Public
Motto Strive and Thrive
Established 1973
School district Milford Public Schools
Principal Max Berkowitz
Faculty 76.5 (on FTE basis)[1]
Grades 9-12
Enrollment 963[2] (2013-14)
Student to teacher ratio 12.59[3]
Color(s) Blue and red
        
Athletics conference CAS/CIAC Southern Connecticut Conference
Team name Lions
Newspaper Mane Street Mirror
Website

Joseph A. Foran High School is a public high school located in Milford, Connecticut. The school serves about 1,000 students in grades 9-12 in the Milford Public Schools system.

History[edit]

Opening in 1973, the school was named for former Superintendent of Schools Joseph A. Foran. It opened as the third of three high schools in Milford, including Milford High School and Jonathan Law High School. About ten years after the opening of Foran High School, Milford High School closed in 1983. The school's motto is "Strive and Thrive" and the sports teams are the Foran Lions. The Foran Lion mascot is named Brutus in honor of Joseph A. Foran's grandfather Brutus P. Foran.

Clubs and Activities[edit]

[4]

  • AP European Scholars Club
  • Band
  • Beast Club
  • Bible & Prayer Club
  • Bike Club
  • Book Club
  • Cheerleading
  • Chess Club
  • Choir
  • Concerned Citizens for People with Disabilities Youth Group
  • DECA
  • Digital Animation Club
  • Drama Club
  • Fencing Club
  • French Club
  • French National Honor Society
  • Gay/Straight Alliance (GSA) Club
  • Helping Hands
  • Interact Club
  • Investment Club
  • Jazz Band
  • Key Club
  • Library Student Review Board
  • National Honor Society
  • Natural Helpers
  • Robotics Club
  • Sci-Lions
  • Ski & Snowboard Club
  • Smash Brothers Club
  • Spanish National Honor Society
  • Student Government
  • UNICEF Club
  • Unified Sports
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga Club
  • Youth & Government Club

Sports Offered:[edit]

[5]

Athletic Director: Athletic Director Mr. Anthony Vitelli

Email: avitelli@milforded.org

Office Phone: 203-783-3502 #5

Fall:[edit]

Cross Country(boys)- Head Coach Mr. Dick Jeynes…203-387-1513

Cross Country (girls)- Head Coach Mrs. Ramsey….sramsey@milforded.org

Field hockey- Head Coach

Football- Head Coach Mr. Jeff Bevino Contact: jbevino@milforded.org

Soccer(boys)- Head Coach Mr. Rick DiStefano Contact: rdistefano@snet.net

Soccer(girls)- Head Coach Ms. Casey Blake Contact: cblake@mpsemail.org

Swimming(girls)- Head Coach .Mrs. Kristin Skuches….kskuches@milforded.org

Volleyball(girls)- Head Coach Mrs. Julie Johnson….julie.esposito.johnson@gmail.com

Winter:[edit]

Basketball(boys)- Head Coach Mr. Ian Kirkpatrick Contact: ikirkpatrick@milforded.org

Basketball(girls)- Head Coach Mr. Bob Asmussen Contact: rasmussen@milforded.org

Gymnastics(girls)- Head Coach Mrs. Tracy Ruotolo Contact: tvassalluzzo@hotmail.com

Ice Hockey (boys)- Head Coach Mr. Sal Follo Contact: sfollo@milforded.org

Ice Hockey (girls)- Head Coach Mrs. Kerri Rowland Contact: krowland34@gmail.com

Swimming(boys)- Head Coach .Mrs. Kristin Skuches Contact: kskuches@milforded.org

Indoor Track(B&G)- Head Coach Mr. Pete Jambor Contact: pjambor@milforded.org

Wrestling- Head Coach .Dr. David Esposito Contact: davidespo13@gmail.com

Spring:[edit]

Baseball- Head Coach Mr. Garrett Walker email: gwalker@milforded.org

Golf(B&G)- Head Coach Mr. Frank Griffin Contact: fj.griffin@comcast.net

Lacrosse(Boys)- Head Coach Mr. Brian Adkins Contact: adkinsb@stratfordk12.org

Lacrosse(Girls)- Head Coach Mr. Jack Connors Contact: jconnors@milforded.org

Outdoor Track(B&G)- Head Coach Mr. Peter Jambor…pjambor@milforded.org

Outdoor Track (girls)- Head Coach Mr. Rick Raucci….rraucci@milforded.org

Softball- Head Coach .Miss Stephanie Dawid Contact: sdawid@milforded.org

Tennis (girls)- Head Coach Mrs. Melissa Kaminski….mkaminski@milforded.org

Tennis(boys)-Head Coach .Mr. George Noyes Contact: gnoyes@milforded.org

Volleyball(boys)-Head Coach

References[edit]

External links[edit]

Coordinates: 41°13′08″N 73°00′45″W / 41.2189°N 73.0126°W / 41.2189; -73.0126