List of United States mobile virtual network operators

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Mobile virtual network operators (MVNOs) in the United States lease wireless telephone and data service from major carriers such as AT&T Mobility, Sprint Corporation, T-Mobile US, and Verizon Wireless, as well as the regional carrier the United States Cellular Corporation for resale.

Voice and data service operators[edit]

These providers offer services to individuals for personal use. Providers offering services to businesses are listed in a later section. Providers with multiple host networks listed will only use one depending on the phone and/or SIM card used, except Project Fi which combines all listed networks together.

Company Host network Wireless technology[1] Website BYOD[2] Unlimited Data Notes
420 Wireless AT&T GSM, UMTS, & LTE 420wireless.com
Aeris Communications Inc Sprint, T-Mobile, Vodafone, AT&T GSM, LTE, CDMA aeris.com Yes No
Affinity Cellular Verizon CDMA affinitycellular.com Yes No
AirVoice Wireless AT&T GSM & UMTS airvoicewireless.com Yes No
Armed Forces Wireless Verizon CDMA armedforceswireless.com Yes No
Black Wireless AT&T GSM, UMTS, & LTE blackwireless.com Yes Yes
Boom Mobile AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, Verizon CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE boom.us Yes Yes
Boost Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE boostmobile.com Yes Yes Owned by Sprint Corporation
Budget Mobile Lifeline Verizon CDMA www.budgetmobile.com No No
campusSIMs AT&T, T-Mobile GSM & UMTS campussims.com Yes Yes
CellNUVO Sprint CDMA & LTE cellnuvo.com Yes Yes
Cellular Abroad T-Mobile GSM & UMTS cellularabroad.com Yes No
Charge Communication Sprint CDMA & LTE charge.co Yes No
Chit Chat Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE chitchatmobile.com Yes No
Consumer Cellular AT&T, T-Mobile[3] GSM, UMTS, & LTE consumercellular.com Yes No
Credo Mobile Verizon[4] CDMA & LTE credomobile.com Yes No
Cricket Wireless AT&T GSM, UMTS, & LTE cricketwireless.com Yes Yes Owned by AT&T Mobility
China Telecom Americas (CTExcel) T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE www.ctexcel.us Yes Yes
Defense Mobile AT&T, Sprint, Verizon CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE defensemobile.com Yes No
EcoMobile Sprint CDMA & LTE ecomobile.com Yes Yes
envie mobile Verizon CDMA envie mobile Yes No
Español Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE espanolmobile.com Yes No
Expo Mobile Sprint, Verizon CDMA & LTE expomobile.com Yes No
FamilyTalk Wireless Sprint, Verizon, AT&T CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE myfamilytalkwireless.com Yes No
Flash Wireless Sprint, Verizon, AT&T CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE flashwireless.com Yes Yes
FMP Wireless Verizon CDMA fmpwireless.com Yes Yes
good2GO Mobile AT&T, Sprint CDMA, GSM, & UMTS good2gomobile.com Yes No
GoSmart Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS gosmartmobile.com Yes No Owned by TracFone Wireless. Acquired from T-Mobile.
GreatCall Verizon CDMA greatcall.com No No
H2O Wireless AT&T GSM, UMTS, & LTE h2owirelessnow.com Yes Yes
KDDI Mobile AT&T GSM, UMTS, & LTE kddimobilesim.com Yes Yes
Helio Sprint CDMA helio.com Yes Yes
Infinium Wireless Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, & UMTS infiniumwireless.com Yes No
i-wireless Sprint CDMA & LTE krogeriwireless.com Yes Yes
Jaguar Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS jaguarmobile.com Yes Yes
Jolt Mobile AT&T, T-Mobile GSM & UMTS joltmobile.com Yes No
Kajeet Sprint CDMA kajeet.com Yes No
KidsConnect T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE mykidsconnect.com No No
Liberty Wireless T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE libertywireless.com Yes No
LycaMobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS lycamobile.us Yes Yes
Madstar Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE madstar.com Yes Yes
MetroPCS T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE metropcs.com Yes Yes Owned by T-Mobile US
Mobal T-Mobile GSM & UMTS mobal.com Yes Yes
Net10 Wireless AT&T, Sprint,

T-Mobile, Verizon, U.S. Cellular (only on PAY-AS-YOU-GO minute plans)

CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE net10wireless.com Yes Yes Owned by TracFone Wireless
NetZero Sprint CDMA & LTE netzero.net Yes No
NTT DoCoMo USA T-Mobile GSM & UMTS docomousawireless.com No No
OTG Mobile Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, & UMTS otgm.net Yes No
Page Plus Cellular Verizon CDMA & LTE pagepluscellular.com Yes Yes Owned by TracFone Wireless
Patriot Mobile Sprint, Verizon CDMA & LTE patriotmobile.com Yes Yes
Pix Wireless AT&T, Sprint CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE PixWireless.com Yes Yes
Project Fi Sprint, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular, Three CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE fi.google.com Yes No
Proven Wireless Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, & UMTS provenwireless.com Yes No
Pure TalkUSA AT&T GSM & UMTS puretalkusa.com Yes No
Puppy Wireless Verizon CDMA & LTE mypuppywireless.com Yes No
Ready Mobile Sprint CDMA readymobile.com Yes No
Red Pocket Mobile AT&T, Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE goredpocket.com Yes Yes
Republic Wireless Sprint, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, LTE, Wi-Fi & UMTS republicwireless.com Yes No
Ring Plus, Inc Sprint CDMA & LTE ringplus.net Yes No
ROK Mobile Verizon[5] CDMA & LTE www.rokmobile.com Yes Yes
Scratch Wireless Sprint CDMA scratchwireless.com No No
Selectel Wireless Verizon CDMA & LTE selectelwireless.com Yes No
Simple Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE mysimplemobile.com Yes No Owned by TracFone Wireless
SkyView Wireless AT&T GSM & UMTS skyvw.com Yes No
Speed Talk Mobile T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE speedtalkmobile.com Yes No
Straight Talk AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, Verizon CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE straighttalk.com Yes Yes Owned by TracFone Wireless. Available only at Walmart.
Telcel América Sprint, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE telcelamerica.com Yes No Owned by TracFone Wireless
Tello US Sprint CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE tello.com Yes Yes
Tempo Telecom Sprint, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE mytempo.com No No
TextNow Sprint CDMA & LTE textnow.com Yes Yes
The People's Operator USA Sprint, T-Mobile CDMA & LTE store.tpo.com Yes No
Ting Sprint, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE[6] ting.com Yes No
Total Call Mobile Sprint CDMA totalcallmobile.com No Yes
Total Wireless Verizon CDMA & LTE totalwireless.com Yes No Owned by TracFone Wireless. Available only at Walmart.
Touch Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE touch.com No Yes
TracFone AT&T, T-Mobile, U.S. Cellular (feature phones only), Verizon CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE tracfone.com Yes No Owned by TracFone Wireless
Ultra Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE ultra.me Yes Yes
Univision Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS & LTE univisionmobile.com/en-home Yes No
UppWireless T-Mobile GSM & UMTS uppwireless.com Yes No
US Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE usmobile.com Yes No
UVA Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS uvamobile.com Yes No
UWT Mobile AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, & UMTS uwtmobile.com Yes No
Value Wireless T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE myvaluewireless.com Yes Yes
Virgin Mobile USA Sprint CDMA & LTE virginmobileusa.com No Yes Owned by Sprint Corporation
Walmart Family Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE walmart.com Yes Yes Owned by TracFone Wireless. Available only at Walmart. Acquired from T-Mobile
Wireless Services US Verizon CDMA & LTE wirelessservices.us Yes Yes
ZingPCS Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE zingpcs.com Yes Yes
ZIP SIM T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE zipsim.us Yes No

Lifeline Assistance free government operators[edit]

The following is a list of all the Mobile virtual network operators (MVNOs) Lifeline Assistance free government cell phones in California. This list needs to be expanded for all other states. All 50 States run and operate their own Lifeline Assistance free government cell phones program so company, MVNOs participation and plan offerings vary greatly from state to state.

Many of the Mobile Virtual Network Operators MVNOs are often partnered with one sometimes two host carrier companies, one of the big 3 cell service providers, Sprint, T Mobile, Verizon Wireless. MVNOs are too small to build out their own cell network. Providers with multiple host networks only use one depending on the "specific model phone" you get / purchase and/or SIM card used. Mobile Virtual Network Operators MVNOs will often push / favor a specific model phone because it's locked into the host carrier "preferred network" that gives that MVNO the best deal / rates. This can matter greatly when selecting a MVNO company and or selecting a model phone thus your actual service provider. For example let's say you know that a particular host / one of the big 3 carriers has very poor coverage in you area when compared two big 3 host carrier companies. MVNOs do a really good job of hiding this info, what host service provider you are really connected with.

Fact: Currently Sprint of the big 3 host carriers is the most aggressive in obtaining Mobile Virtual Network Operators MVNOs market share. Sprint owns,[7] Boost Mobile, Virgin Mobile,[8] and has partnerships with Assurance Wireless, i-Wireless’ and Access Wireless just to name a few. All MVNO's listed below are BYOD, unless otherwise noted.

Reference:[9] List of Mobile Virtual Network Operators MVNOs CA Lifeline.

Company Host network Wireless technology Website Notes
Access Wireless
Assurance Wireless
Blue Jay Wireless
Budget Mobile
Entouch Wireless
Feel Safe Wireless
ReachOut Wireless Out of business
SafeLink Wireless Owned by TracFone Wireless
Tag Mobile
Total Call Mobile
TruConnect (formerly Telscape)

International SIM voice and data service operators[edit]

These providers offer services to individuals for personal use. Providers offering services to businesses are listed in a later section. All MVNO's listed below are BYOD, unless otherwise noted.

Company Host network Wireless technology Website Notes
TravelSim AT&T GSM & UMTS travelsim.com
TravelSim T-Mobile GSM & UMTS travelsim.com
Truphone AT&T GSM & UMTS truphone.com
Truphone T-Mobile GSM & UMTS truphone.com

Voice service operators[edit]

The following table lists operators focused on providing voice calls. Additional services may include SMS and basic low-speed data access.

Company Host network Wireless technology Website Notes
AirLink Mobile Sprint CDMA airlinkmobile.com
Boomerang Wireless Sprint CDMA boomerang-wireless.com
Earthtones AT&T GSM & UMTS earthtones.com
H2O Wireless CDMA Verizon CDMA h2owirelesscdma.com
Pure Unlimited AT&T GSM & UMTS pureunlimited.net
Q Link Wireless Sprint CDMA QLinkWireless.com
STi Mobile Sprint CDMA stimobile.com
ZERO11 Wireless AT&T GSM & UMTS zero11wireless.com

Mobile broadband operators[edit]

These providers offer services to individuals for personal use. Providers offering services to businesses are listed in a later section. Unless specified otherwise, mobile broadband providers require the purchase of a dedicated mobile broadband modem.

Company Host network Wireless technology Website Notes
Armed Forces Wireless (AFMobile) Verizon CDMA armedforceswireless.com
BOOM Mobile Verizon CDMA & LTE boom.us
BroadBLUE Sprint CDMA broadblue.com
DataJack Sprint CDMA datajack.com
EcoMobile Sprint CDMA ecomobile.com
FreedomPop Sprint CDMA & LTE freedompop.com
H2O Wireless AT&T GSM & UMTS h2owirelessnow.com
H2O Wireless Bolt Sprint CDMA h2owirelessnow.com
Internet on the Go Sprint CDMA internet-go.com
Karma Sprint CDMA & LTE yourkarma.com
Madstar Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE madstar.com
MetroPCS T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE metropcs.com
NetZero Sprint CDMA & LTE netzero.com
Red Pocket Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE goredpocket.com
Simple Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE mysimplemobile.com
Selectel Verizon CDMA & LTE selectelwireless.com
Ting Sprint & T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE ting.com
TruConnect Sprint CDMA & LTE truconnect.com
Virgin Mobile USA Sprint CDMA & LTE virginmobileusa.com
Ultra Mobile T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE ultra.me

Providers of business services[edit]

Company Host network Wireless technology Website Notes
Cbeyond Sprint CDMA cbeyond.net
Cognia Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS cognia.com
Dataxoom AT&T, Sprint, Verizon CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE dataxoom.com
Harbor Mobile AT&T, T-Mobile GSM, UMTS, & LTE harbormobile.com
MetTel Mobile AT&T, Sprint, Verizon CDMA, GSM, & UMTS mettelmobile.com
Mobal Freedom T-Mobile GSM & UMTS mobalfreedom.com

Defunct, merged and acquired operators[edit]

Company Host network Wireless technology Website End date Notes
7-Eleven Speak Out Wireless AT&T, Sprint CDMA, GSM, & UMTS 2010
Amp'd Mobile Verizon GSM & UMTS 2014
Aio Wireless AT&T GSM & UMTS 2007 Owned by AT&T
Brightspot T-Mobile GSM & UMTS brightspotmobile.com December 2015 Available only at Walmart
BYO Wireless Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, UMTS, & LTE 2015
BZRMobile Sprint CDMA & LTE mobile.bzrcorp.com Website inaccessible as of 2016-06-15
Circle-K Talk-and-Go AT&T GSM & UMTS 2011
Cloven Sprint CDMA & LTE clovenwireless.com Website inaccessible as of 2015-04-27
Comcast Sprint, Clearwire CDMA 2011
Common Cents Mobile Sprint CDMA 2011
Cox Sprint CDMA 2012
Disney Mobile Sprint CDMA 2007
EarthLink Sprint WiMAX earthlink.net 2015
Embarq Sprint CDMA 2009
ESPN MVP Sprint CDMA 2006
Firefly Mobile AT&T GSM & UMTS fireflymobile.com 2012
Fuzion Mobile AT&T GSM & UMTS fuzionmobile.com 2013
GIV Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS givmobile.com 31 January 2016
GTC Wireless AT&T GSM & UMTS 2009
Hello US Mobile Verizon, T-Mobile CDMA, GSM, & UMTS hellousmobile.com Unknown
Helio Sprint CDMA 2010
iQ Cellular AT&T, Sprint, Verizon CDMA 2014
Itel UTel Sprint CDMA & LTE itelutel.com Website inaccessible as of 2015-04-27
Jump Mobile Cricket CDMA 2010
Lucky Wireless Verizon CDMA 2011
Mi Gente Mobile Sprint CDMA & LTE migentemobile.com 2013
Mingo Wireless Sprint CDMA mingowireless.com 2012
MOSH Mobile Centennial Wireless GSM & UMTS 2012
Movida Sprint CDMA 2012
Omni Prepaid omniprepaid.com 2012
Millenicom Verizon CDMA & LTE millenicom.com 2014
Next G Mobile Verizon CDMA nextgmobile.com 2013
Phonata AT&T, Sprint, Verizon CDMA, GSM, & UMTS phonata.com 2013
PrepaYd Wireless Sprint CDMA prepaydwireless.com 2014
PTel Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS ptel.com 31 January 2016
Pure Mobile Verizon GSM & UMTS usepuremobile.com 2012
Qwest Wireless Sprint CDMA 2010
Shaka Mobile Sprint CDMA shakamobile.com Their domain name expired on 8/31/2014 and is pending renewal or deletion.
Simple Freedom Alltel CDMA 2007
Solavei T-Mobile GSM & UMTS solavei.com December 2015
Spot Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS spotmobile.com September 7, 2014
SWT Mobile AT&T GSM & UMTS swtmobile.com 2013
TalkForGood Verizon CDMA talkforgood.com 2013
Trumpet Mobile Sprint CDMA trumpetmobile.com 2013
TúYo Mobile T-Mobile GSM & UMTS tuyo.com 2012
Voce AT&T GSM & UMTS 2008
Votel Mobile Sprint CDMA votelmobile.com 2014
Voyager Mobile Sprint CDMA voyagermobile.com 2015
WOW Mobile PCS Sprint CDMA wowpcsdotorg.homestead.com 2012
XCellular USA Sprint CDMA & LTE xcellularusa.net 25 July 2014
ZACT Sprint CDMA & LTE zact.com 3 August 2014
Zapp Sprint CDMA zappunlimited.com 2012
ZUMA Prepaid Sprint CDMA amitygroup.com/zuma.htm 2013

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. ^ GSM, CDMA, UMTS, WiMAX, LTE, HSPA
  2. ^ BYOD or BYOP -- "Bring Your Own Device/Phone." Willing to connect compatible devices not sold by the company.
  3. ^ http://www.prepaidphonenews.com/2015/03/consumer-cellular-now-offers-service-on.html
  4. ^ "Credo Mobile MVNO dumps Sprint for Verizon: source". 
  5. ^ " ROK Mobile To Cease Service On T-Mobile And Sprint From Dec. 18", Prepaid Mobile Phone Reviews, 2015-07-12
  6. ^ (Ting goes for three: Tri- LTE : Ting Blog ting.com Retrieved on 2014-12-7
  7. ^ "Sprint Announces Wireless Lifeline Services Partnership with i-wireless | Sprint Newsroom". newsroom.sprint.com. Retrieved 2016-11-13. 
  8. ^ News, A. B. C. (2009-07-28). "Sprint expands in prepaid, will buy Virgin Mobile". ABC News. Retrieved 2016-11-13. 
  9. ^ "California Lifeline: Free Cell Phones with Unlimited Talk/Text". www.freegovernmentcellphones.net. Retrieved 2016-11-13.