List of ballet companies in the United States

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

This is a list of ballet companies in the United States.

Company City State Years active Web site
Alabama Ballet Birmingham Alabama 1981–present www.alabamaballet.org
Alameda Civic Ballet Alameda California 2003–present alamedacivicballet.org
Alexandra Ballet St. Louis Missouri 1949–present alexandraballet.com
Alonzo King LINES Ballet San Francisco California 1982–present linesballet.org
American Ballet Theatre New York New York 1937–present abt.org
American Ballet New York New York 1935–1941 see nycballet.com
American Ballet Caravan New York New York 1941–194? see nycballet.com
American Chamber Ballet New York New York 19??–1976
American National Ballet Duluth Minnesota 2001–2006
American Negro Ballet Company Harlem New York 1934–1938
American Repertory Ballet New Brunswick New Jersey 1963–present americanrepertoryballet.org
Anaheim Ballet Anaheim California 1985–present anaheimballet.org
Asheville Ballet Asheville North Carolina 1963–present ashevilleballet.com
Aspen Santa Fe Ballet Aspen / Santa Fe Colorado / New Mexico 1996–present aspensantafeballet.com
Atlanta Ballet Atlanta Georgia 1929–present atlantaballet.com
Atlanta Festival Ballet Stockbridge Georgia 1989–present atlantafestivalballet.com
Ballet 5:8 Chicago Illinois 2012–present ballet58.org
Ballet Arizona Phoenix Arizona 1986–present balletaz.org
Ballet Arkansas Little Rock Arkansas 1978–present balletarkansas.org
Ballet Austin Austin Texas 1956–present balletaustin.org
Ballet Caravan New York New York 1936–1941 see nycballet.com
Ballet des Amériques Port Chester New York 2011–present balletdesameriques.com
Ballet Des Moines Des Moines Iowa 2002–present balletdesmoines.org
Ballet Deviare New York New York 2003–present balletdeviare.org
Ballet Etudes Hialeah / Miami Beach Florida 1974–present balletetudesfla.com
Ballet Fantastique Eugene Oregon 2000–present balletfantastique.org
Ballet Hispanico New York New York 1970–present ballethispanico.org
Ballet Idaho Boise Idaho 19??–present balletidaho.org
Ballet Magique Los Angeles California 1999–present [1]
Ballet Magnificat! Mississippi Mississippi 1986–present balletmagnificat.com
Ballet Memphis Memphis Tennessee 19??–present balletmemphis.org
BalletMet[1] Columbus Ohio 1978–present balletmet.org
Ballet Minnesota Saint Paul Minnesota 1987–present balletminnesota.org
Ballet Mississippi Jackson Mississippi 1964–present balletms.com
Ballet Nebraska Omaha Nebraska 2010–present balletnebraska.org
Ballet Nouveau Colorado Broomfield Colorado 2002–present bncdance.com
Ballet Palm Beach Palm Beach Gardens Florida 2001-Present balletpalmbeach.org
Ballet Pensacola Pensacola Florida 19??–present balletpensacola.com
Ballet Quad Cities Rock Island / Quad Cities Illinois 1996–present balletquadcities.com
Ballet San Antonio San Antonio Texas 1985–present balletsanantonio.org
Ballet San Jose[2] San Jose California 2000–2016 balletsj.org
Ballet Theatre of Maryland Annapolis Maryland 1978–present balletmaryland.org
Ballet West Salt Lake City Utah 1963–present balletwest.org
Ballet Wichita Wichita Kansas 1974–present [2]
Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo New York New York 1974–present trockadero.org
Bay Area Houston Ballet and Theatre Houston / Bay Area Texas 19??–present bahbt.org
Bay Pointe Ballet South San Francisco California 2013–present baypointeballet.org
Boston Ballet Boston Massachusetts 1963–present bostonballet.org
Brandon Ballet Brandon Florida 1995–present brandonballet.org
Brighton Ballet Theater Brooklyn New York 1987–present brightonballet.org
California Riverside Ballet Riverside California 1969–present crballet.com
California Ballet Company San Diego California 1968–present californiaballet.org
Carolina Ballet Raleigh North Carolina 1997–present carolinaballet.com
Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet New York New York 2003–2015[3] cedarlakedance.com
Central West Ballet Modesto California 1987–present centralwestballet.org
Central Illinois Ballet Peoria Illinois 2015-present
Charleston Ballet Theatre Charleston South Carolina 19??–present charlestonballet.com
Charlotte Ballet Charlotte North Carolina 1970–present charlotteballet.org
Chattanooga Ballet Chattanooga Tennessee 1973–present chattanoogaballet.net
Chicago Ballet Chicago Illinois 1910–19??
Chicago Festival Ballet Chicago Illinois 1989–present chicagofestivalballet.com
Cincinnati Ballet Cincinnati Ohio 1963–present cballet.org
City Ballet of San Diego San Diego California 1993–present cityballet.org
Cleveland Ballet[2] Cleveland Ohio 1976–1985 see balletsj.org
Colorado Ballet Denver Colorado 1961–present coloradoballet.org
Company C Contemporary Ballet Walnut Creek California 2002–present companycballet.org
Complexions Contemporary Ballet New York New York 1994–present complexionsdance.org
Concert Ballet of Virginia Richmond Virginia 1976–present concertballet.com
Dance Theatre of Harlem Harlem / New York City New York 1969–present dancetheatreofharlem.org
Dayton Ballet Dayton Ohio 1938–present daytonballet.org
Diablo Ballet Walnut Creek California 1993–present diabloballet.org
El Paso City Ballet El Paso Texas 2005–present elpasocityballet.org
Eugene Ballet Eugene Oregon 1978–present eugeneballet.org
Festival Ballet Providence Providence Rhode Island 1978–present / festivalballet.com
Festival Ballet Theatre Fountain Valley California 1988–present festivalballet.org
Florida Ballet Jacksonville Florida 1979–present floridaballet.org
Hawkins Classical and Contemporary Ballet Company[4] Folsom California 1996–present http://www.hawkinsschool.com/
Fort Wayne Ballet Fort Wayne Indiana 1956–present fortwayneballet.org
Gwinnett Ballet Theatre Snellville, Gwinnett County Georgia 1977–present gwinnettballet.org
Grand Rapids Ballet Grand Rapids Michigan 1971–present grballet.com
Greensboro Ballet Greensboro North Carolina 1964–present greensboroballet.org
Harkness Ballet New York New York 1964–1975
Hollywood Ballet Hollywood California 2011–present hollywoodballet.com
Houston Ballet Houston Texas 1969–present houstonballet.org
Huntsville Ballet Company Huntsville Alabama 19??–present huntsvilleballetcompany.org
Island Moving Co. Newport Rhode Island 1982–present islandmovingco.org
James Sewell Ballet Minneapolis Minnesota 1990–present jsballet.org
Joffrey Ballet Chicago Illinois 1965–present joffrey.com
Kansas City Ballet Kansas City Missouri 1957–present http://www.kcballet.org
Kentucky Ballet Theater Lexington Kentucky 1989 - present kyballet.com
Ketchikan Theatre Ballet Ketchikan Alaska 1968–present ktbdance.com
Lake Charles Civic Ballet Lake Charles Louisiana 1968–present lakecharlescivicballet.com
Lexington Ballet Lexington Kentucky 1975-present lexingtonballet.org
Lincoln Midwest Ballet Company Lincoln Nebraska 1989–present [3]
Littlefield Ballet (aka Philadelphia ballet) Philadelphia Pennsylvania 1935-1941
Los Angeles Ballet Los Angeles California 2006–present losangelesballet.org
Louisville Ballet Louisville Kentucky 1952–present louisvilleballet.org
Madison Ballet Madison Wisconsin 1981–present madisonballet.org
Maine State Ballet Falmouth Maine 1986–present mainestateballet.org
Mendocino Ballet Mendocino County California 1984–present mendocinoballet.org
Menlowe Ballet Menlo Park California 2011–present menloweballet.org
Miami City Ballet Miami Florida 1986–present miamicityballet.org
Milwaukee Ballet Milwaukee Wisconsin 1969–present milwaukeeballet.org
Minnesota Ballet Duluth Minnesota 1965–present minnesotaballet.org
Missouri Contemporary Ballet Columbia Missouri 2006–present missouricontemporaryballet.com
Mobile Ballet Mobile Alabama 19??–present mobileballet.org
Montgomery Ballet Montgomery Alabama 19??–present montgomeryballet.org
MorDance New York New York 2013–present mordance.org
Morphoses New York New York 2007–present morphoses.org
Moscow Ballet Pittsfield Massachusetts 1993–present nutcracker.com
Mystic Ballet Mystic Connecticut 1997–present mysticballet.org
Nashville Ballet Nashville Tennessee 1974–present nashvilleballet.com
National Ballet Theater of Puerto Rico Guaynabo Puerto Rico 2005–present balleteatropr.org
Neglia Ballet Buffalo New York 1994–present negliaballet.org
Nevada Ballet Theatre Las Vegas Nevada 1972–present nevadaballet.org
New Chamber Ballet New York New York 2004–present newchamberballet.com
New Jersey Ballet Livingston New Jersey 1958–present njballet.org
New Orleans Ballet New Orleans Louisiana 1969–present nobadance.com
New York City Ballet New York New York 1948–present nycballet.com
New York Theatre Ballet New York New York 1978–present nytb.org
Oakland Ballet Oakland California 1961–present[5] oaklandballet.org
Oklahoma City Ballet Oklahoma City Oklahoma 1963–present okcballet.com
Oregon Ballet Theatre Portland Oregon 1989–present obt.org
Orlando Ballet Orlando Florida 1974–present orlandoballet.org
Pacific Northwest Ballet Seattle Washington 1972–present pnb.org
Paradosi Ballet Company Tacoma Washington 2007–present paradosiballetcompany.com
Pas de Vie Ballet Tallahassee Florida 1989–present [4]
Pennsylvania Ballet Philadelphia Pennsylvania 1963–present paballet.org
Pittsburgh Ballet Theatre Pittsburgh Pennsylvania 1968–present pbt.org
Placer Theatre Ballet Placer County California 19??–present placertheatreballet.org
Portland Ballet Portland Maine 1980–present portlandballet.org
Richmond Ballet Richmond Virginia 1984–present richmondballet.com
Rochester City Ballet Rochester New York 1987–present rochestercityballet.org
Sacramento Ballet Sacramento California 1954–present sacballet.org
San Diego Ballet San Diego California 1990–present sandiegoballet.org
San Francisco Ballet San Francisco California 1933–present sfballet.org
San Jose Cleveland Ballet[2] San Jose California 1985–2000 balletsj.org
San Jose Ballet[2] San Jose California 1985–2016 balletsj.org
Savannah Danse Theatre Savannah Georgia 1998–present savannahdance.com
Sarasota Ballet Sarasota Florida 1987–present sarasotaballet.org
Shreveport Metropolitan Ballet Shreveport Louisiana 1973–present shreveportmetroballet.org
Silicon Valley Ballet[2] San Jose California 1986–2016 siliconvalleyballet.org
Smuin Ballet San Francisco California 1994–present smuinballet.org
Suzanne Farrell Ballet Washington District of Columbia 2000–present kennedy-center.org
Tallahassee Ballet Tallahassee Florida 1972–present tallahasseeballet.org
Texas Ballet Theater[6] Fort Worth / Dallas Texas 1961–present texasballettheater.org
Toledo Ballet Toledo Ohio 1958–present toledoballet.net
Tulsa Ballet Tulsa Oklahoma 1956–present tulsaballet.org
Tupelo Ballet Tupelo Mississippi 1982–present tupeloballet.com
Washington Ballet Washington District of Columbia 1976–present washingtonballet.org
Yellowstone Ballet Livingston Montana 1991–present yellowstoneballet.org

See also[edit]

Footnotes[edit]

  1. ^ BalletMet, not Ballet Met
  2. ^ a b c d e Silicon Valley Ballet was formerly Ballet San Jose, prior that the San Jose Cleveland Ballet and before that the Cleveland Ballet.
  3. ^ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cedar-Lake-Contemporary-Ballet/108501152507072?fref=ts#
  4. ^ ages 8–18
  5. ^ briefly inactive 2006–2007
  6. ^ formerly the Fort Worth Ballet