List of fictional Microsoft companies

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Microsoft uses a variety of fictional companies in the documentation and training material for its products. Microsoft documentation and learning materials often contain fictional scenarios and descriptions of how their products can be deployed and used in these scenarios. Many of these companies are used in such examples. Some of the fictional companies have associated websites, almost all of which redirect to Microsoft.com.

Companies[edit]

All websites redirect to Microsoft.com, unless marked by an asterisk (*)

Name Website Usage
A. Datum Corporation adatum.com
AdventureWorks Cycles adventure-works.com
Alpine Ski House alpineskihouse.com
Awesome Computers
Baldwin Museum of Science
Blue Yonder Airlines blueyonderairlines.com*

(has been both a demo website[8] and a redirect page to microsoft.com[9] in the past, but is no longer a functional website)

  • Used as an example site for various features of Windows Installers, including embedding links in installers and creating URL based installers[10]
City Power & Light
Coho Vineyard cohovineyard.com and cohovineyarddemo2.com*
Coho Winery cohowinery.com
  • Used as an example in documentation for XML Serialization [11]
Coho Vineyard & Winery
Consolidated Messenger
Contoso Ltd. contoso.com and contoso.net*

(contoso.net is used in Microsoft documentation, but is not owned by Microsoft)

Contoso Bank Contoso Bank Website
Contoso Hotel (no longer owned by Microsoft) Contoso Hotel Website
  • Contoso Hotel has been used in several Microsoft Office Tutorials, for example how to embed a PowerPoint Presentation into a website PowerPoint Tutorial Example
Contoso Pharmaceuticals
cpandl.com
  • Used as an example in documentation for XML Serialization[11]
Electronic, Inc.
Fabrikam, Inc. fabrikam.com
Fourth Coffee fourthcoffee.com and fourthcoffee1.com*
Graphic Design Institute
Humongous Insurance humongousinsurance.com
Itexamworld.com
LitWare Inc. litware.com and litwareinc.com
Lucerne Publishing lucernepublishing.com
Margie's Travel
malvertising.info[citation needed]*
Northridge Video
Northwind Traders northwindtraders.com
Parnell Aerospace
ProseWare, Inc. proseware.com
School of Fine Art fineartschool.net
Southbridge Video
StrikeStrike strikestrike.com*

(This site is no longer owned by Microsoft, and may contain actual malware threats. Therefore the external link has been removed. Use caution if visiting this site.)

TailSpin Toys
Tasmanian Traders
The Phone Company
Trey Research Inc. treyresearch.net
WingTip Toys wingtiptoys.com
  • Used in the Microsoft Office Frontpage 2003 demo
  • Used in the Small Business Server test drive
Wide World Importers wideworldimporters.com
Woodgrove Bank woodgrovebank.com*

References[edit]

  1. ^ "Simplify Single Sign-on Using ADFS". Microsoft Technet. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  2. ^ "ReportViewingUrl". MSDN Library. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  3. ^ "BizTalk Server 2010 Administrator Training Kit". Micrsoft Download Center. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  4. ^ "AdventureWorks Sample OLTP Database". MSDN Library. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  5. ^ "PerformancePoint Server 2007 Sample: Planning Data". Microsoft Download Center. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  6. ^ "ISP model". Microsoft Technet. Retrieved 2 December 2011. 
  7. ^ a b "Maximizing Address Find Rates in MapPoint .NET Version 3.0". Microsoft Technet. Retrieved 2 December 2011. 
  8. ^ "Blue Yonder Airlines". Archived from the original on 2009-04-06. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  9. ^ "Blue Yonder Airlines". Archived from the original on 2005-02-08. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  10. ^ "Hyperlink Control". Microsoft Technet. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  11. ^ a b "XmlSerializerNamespaces Class". MSDN Library. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  12. ^ "Microsoft Lync Server 2010". Microsoft. Retrieved 2 December 2011. 
  13. ^ "PerformancePoint Server 2007 Contoso Demo Data". Microsoft Download Center. Retrieved 24 September 2013. 
  14. ^ "Update the picture on the Electronic Business Card to match the contact picture". Microsoft Office. Retrieved 10 September 2014. 

External links[edit]