|This article does not cite any sources. (February 2016) (Learn how and when to remove this template message)|
|Look up no decision in Wiktionary, the free dictionary.|
Baseball and softball
A starting pitcher who leaves without earning either a win or a loss – that is, before either team gains or surrenders the ultimate lead – is said to have received a no decision pitching win–loss record, regardless of individual performance.
Although uncommon these days except in white-collar boxing, a no decision (ND), i.e. a tie or draw, occurs if both boxers are still standing at the bout's conclusion and there was no knockout. This may be by law, to discourage gambling; by rules to discourage injury of amateurs; or by prearrangement of the fighters, to protect titles from sudden upsets.