October 1921

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31  

The following events occurred in October 1921:

October 1, 1921 (Saturday)[edit]

October 2, 1921 (Sunday)[edit]

Born: Edmund Crispin (pseudonym of Robert Bruce Montgomery), British crime writer and composer (died 1978)

October 3, 1921 (Monday)[edit]

October 4, 1921 (Tuesday)[edit]

October 5, 1921 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • The first broadcast of a World Series game on the radio, by Newark, New Jersey, station WJZ; Pittsburgh station KDKA; and a group of other commercial and amateur stations throughout the eastern United States.

October 6, 1921 (Thursday)[edit]

October 7, 1921 (Friday)[edit]

October 8, 1921 (Saturday)[edit]

  • The first Sweetest Day is staged in Cleveland, Ohio.

October 9, 1921 (Sunday)[edit]

October 10, 1921 (Monday)[edit]

  • Teaching at the University of Szeged starts in the Kingdom of Hungary.

October 11, 1921 (Tuesday)[edit]

October 12, 1921 (Wednesday)[edit]

October 13, 1921 (Thursday)[edit]

  • The Treaty of Kars is signed between the Grand National Assembly of Turkey and the Soviet Socialist Republics of Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, establishing the boundaries between Turkey and the states of the south Caucasus.
  • Swedish Social Democratic party leader Hjalmar Branting becomes yet again Prime Minister, after strong general election gains for his party.

October 14, 1921 (Friday)[edit]

October 15, 1921 (Saturday)[edit]

October 16, 1921 (Sunday)[edit]

October 17, 1921 (Monday)[edit]

October 18, 1921 (Tuesday)[edit]

October 19, 1921 (Wednesday)[edit]

  • 'Bloody Night' (Noite Sangrenta): A massacre in Lisbon claims the lives of Portuguese Prime-Minister António Granjo and other politicians.

October 20, 1921 (Thursday)[edit]

October 21, 1921 (Friday)[edit]

  • A peace conference between Ireland and the United Kingdom begins in London.
  • George Melford's wildly successful silent film The Sheik, which will propel its leading actor Rudolph Valentino to international stardom, is premiered in Los Angeles.

October 22, 1921 (Saturday)[edit]

October 23, 1921 (Sunday)[edit]

October 24, 1921 (Monday)[edit]

  • The Spanish Army defeats rifkabyl rebels in Morocco.

October 25, 1921 (Tuesday)[edit]

Bat Masterson dies of a heart attack around noon, in New York City, one month and a day before his 68 the birthday. He is buried in a cemetery in Bronx, NY

October 26, 1921 (Wednesday)[edit]

October 27, 1921 (Thursday)[edit]

October 28, 1921 (Friday)[edit]

October 29, 1921 (Saturday)[edit]

  • Construction of the Link River Dam, a part of the Klamath Project in Oregon, is completed.
  • Centre College's American football team, led by quarterback Bo McMillin, defeats Harvard University 6–0 to break Harvard's five-year winning streak. For decades afterward, this is called "football's upset of the century."

October 30, 1921 (Sunday)[edit]

October 31, 1921 (Monday)[edit]

References[edit]