Patrick Epino

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Patrick Epino
Born Patrick Epino
San Francisco, CA
Years active 2000 — present
Website www.patrickepino.com

Patrick Epino is an American filmmaker. His feature film Mr. Sadman made for the Independent Feature Project (IFP) Independent Filmmaker Labs is a satirical dark comedy about a Sadam Hussein body-double loses his job and moves to Los Angeles in search of a new start.[1][2][3] It stars Al No'mani, Scoot McNairy, Rudy Ramos, Tim Kang, Amanda Fuller, and Cameron Bender and has received positive reviews from LA Weekly, Giant Robot Magazine and more, and Epino was also selected by the film magazine The Independent as one of its "10 Filmmakers to Watch" for that film.[4][5][6] Along with Stephen Dypiangco he makes up the "National Film Society"[1] which is part of PBS and makes original web content related to films, filmmaking and film festivals that is viewable online.[7][8][9][10]

Other than Mr. Sadman, Epino has directed a short film entitled "Void" under a Visual Communications "Armed With A Camera" Fellowship for Emerging Media Artists which premiered at the Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival.[11] He has directed and written another short film entitled "Spunk" which appeared at a number of film festivals, including SingaFest.[12][13] He has also served as a Producer on the short film, A Crossroad Called Manzanar.[14] As a designer, he serves as the Director of Online and New Media at Suey Creative, an LA-based design agency.[15][16]

Epino's most recent film (and also web series), which he co-wrote and co-directed with Stephen Dypiangco, is Awesome Asian Bad Guys, which stars a number of Asian American actors who played villains in 1980-1990s action movies, such as Al Leong, Yuji Okumoto and George Cheung. The film/series also stars Tamlyn Tomita, Dante Basco, Randall Park, Aaron Takahashi and more. The film/series made its debut at the 2014 CAAMFest and also made its Los Angeles premiere at the 2014 Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival.

Epino is a graduate of the University of Chicago and earned his MFA in Cinema from the film program at San Francisco State University.[17] He is also from San Francisco, California and is of Filipino American descent.[18]

Filmography[edit]

  • Awesome Asian Bad Guys (2014) - Writer, Director (with Stephen Dypiangco)
  • Mr. Sadman (2009)- Writer, Director
  • Void (2005) - Writer, Director
  • Spunk (2004) - Writer, Director

References[edit]

  1. ^ Winter Miller, IFP Offers Finishing Grant to Lab Films, Variety, June 06, 2008, http://www.variety.com/article/VR1117987010?refcatid=13&printerfriendly=true
  2. ^ A DIY Date with Mr. Sadman, Patrick Epino, Filmmaker Magazine, http://www.filmmakermagazine.com/news/2011/03/a-diy-date-with-mr-sadman/
  3. ^ Mr. Sadman, A Film by Patrick Epino, http://empireandsleep.com/
  4. ^ Id.
  5. ^ PBS Online Film Festival, Hosts, http://www.pbs.org/special/film-festival/about-hosts/
  6. ^ "Mr. Sadman" has also screened at the Chicago Asian American Showcase, See, Channel APA, 2010 Chicago Asian American Showcase, http://www.channelapa.com/2010/04/2010-chicago-asian-american-showcase.html
  7. ^ Angry Asian Man, National Film Society Joins PBS!, http://blog.angryasianman.com/2012/05/national-film-society-joins-pbs.html
  8. ^ National Film Society, About, http://nationalfilmsociety.tumblr.com/about
  9. ^ Asians On Film Interview: Patrick Epino, http://www.asiansonfilm.com/2011/09/patrick-epino-interview-national-film-society/
  10. ^ Fil-Am Ako, Filipino Filmmakers Stephen Dypiangco & Patrick Epino on Film School or No Film School, http://www.filamako.com/2011/09/filipino-filmmakers-on-film-school-or-no-film-school/
  11. ^ AWC Alumni & Projects, Class of 2005, http://www.vconline.org/alpha/cms/index.cfm/programs/artist-services/armed-with-a-camera-fellowship/awc-alumni/
  12. ^ AJPress, FilAm Creative calls on Fil-Ams to support Singafest Asian Film Festival, http://www.asianjournal.com/community/community-news/12879-filam-creative-calls-on-fil-ams-to-support-singafest-asian-film-festival.html
  13. ^ Independent Exposure, Patrick Epino: Bio, http://www.independentexposure.com/filmmaker/1059/PatrickEpino.html
  14. ^ A Crossroad Called Manzanar, Crew, http://www.manzanarfilm.com/?page_id=91
  15. ^ Suey Creative, http://sueycreative.com
  16. ^ National Film Society, About, http://nationalfilmsociety.tumblr.com/about
  17. ^ National Film Society, About, http://nationalfilmsociety.tumblr.com/about
  18. ^ Id.

External links[edit]