Plant cream

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Strawberry rhubarb pie with Genovese basil ice cream made using MimicCreme, a nut based plant cream.

Plant cream is cream derived from a plant source. Common varieties are soy cream, oat cream and rice cream.[1][2][3]

There are a variety of reasons for consuming plant cream, including conditions such as PKU, making digestion of animal proteins (especially casein found in dairy) very difficult or even impossible, lactose intolerance and milk allergy (approximately 3% of people are allergic),[4] Jewish Kashrut (plant cream is Pareve), veganism or ovo-vegetarianism, and the avoidance of dairy products, considered unappealing by some people. Soy free and gluten free plant creams are marketed towards people with multiple food allergies and coeliac disease.

Plant milk may be considered by many Westerners as a substitute for dairy milk, but plant milks are commonly manufactured and used in places where cow's milk is unknown or unavailable in large quantities, or is unpopular because of cost.

See also[edit]


External links[edit]