Portal:Hudson Valley/Selected article/13

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
2006 Westchester County tornado forrest damage.jpg

The July 2006 Westchester County tornado was an F2 tornado that touched down in Rockland County, New York on July 12, 2006. It traveled 13 miles (21 km) into southwestern Connecticut during a 33-minute span through two states. The tornado touched down at 3:30 p.m. EDT (19:30 UTC) on the shore of the Hudson River before becoming a waterspout and traveling 3 mi (5 km) across the river. Coming ashore, the tornado entered Westchester County and struck the town of Sleepy Hollow at F1 intensity. After passing through the town, it intensified into an F2 tornado and grew to almost a quarter mile (400 m) in diameter, making it both the strongest and largest tornado in the county's history. The tornado continued through the county, causing damage to numerous structures, until it crossed into Connecticut at 4:01 p.m. EDT (20:01 UTC). Not long after entering the state, it dissipated near the town of Greenwich at 4:03 p.m. EDT (20:03 UTC). When the tornado entered Westchester County, it was the eighth known tornado to either touch down or enter the county since 1950.