Purnima

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Kartik Poornima: November 28, 2012

Purnima (also called Poornima, Pournima, Bangla: পূর্ণিমা, Sanskrit: पूर्णिमा (IAST: pūrṇimā)) is the Indian and Nepali word for Full Moon. The day of Purnima is the day (Tithi) in each month in which the full moon occurs, and marks the division in each month between the two lunar fortnights (Paksha). The Shukla ("bright") Paksha is the fortnight before, and the Krishna ("dark") Paksha is the fortnight after, Purnima.

Purnima in 1911[edit]

Month Purnima Date (2017 Festivals
Paush 12 January (Thersday) Paush Purnima
Magha 10 February (Friday) Magha Purnima
Phalguna 12 March (Sunday) Holi
Chaitra 11 April (Tuseday) Hanuman Jayanti
Vaishakha 10 May (Wednesday) Buddha Purnima
Jyeshtha 9 June (Friday) Vat Purnima
Ashadha 9 July (Sunday) Ashadha Purnima
Shravana 7 August (Monday) Raksha Bandhan, Hayagriva Jayanti
Bhadrapada 6 September (Wednesday) Madhu Purnima
Ashwin 5 October (Thursday) Sharad Purnima
Kartik 4 November (Saturday) Kartik Poornima
Margashirsha 3 December (Sunday) Dattātreya Jayanti

[1] [2]

Festivals[edit]

The following festivals occur on Purnima.

References[edit]

External links[edit]