Telemachus was also involved in what is probably the most bizarre stoppage in the history of cricket, when 'calamari stopped play'. During a regional match in South Africa, Telemachus was bowling to Daryll Cullinan, who hit the ball for six, whereupon it ended up in the kitchen and straight into a pan of frying calamari. According to Wisden, "Daryll Cullinan hit a six into a frying pan. It was about ten minutes before the ball was cool enough for the umpires to remove the grease. Even then, the bowler was unable to grip the ball and it had to be replaced".