Sodium DL-lactate; Lactic acid sodium salt; E325
3D model (JSmol)
|E number||E325 (antioxidants, ...)|
|Molar mass||112.06 g/mol|
|Density||1.33 g/mL, 1.31 g/ml (60 % syrup)|
|Melting point||161 to 162 °C (322 to 324 °F; 434 to 435 K)
17 °C (60 % syrup)
|Boiling point||113 °C (235 °F; 386 K) (60 % syrup)|
|> 1.5 g/mL|
|Flash point||< 25|
|Lethal dose or concentration (LD, LC):|
LD50 (median dose)
|1000 mg/kg (intravenous, rat)|
Except where otherwise noted, data are given for materials in their standard state (at 25 °C [77 °F], 100 kPa).
|what is ?)(|
Sodium lactate is the sodium salt of lactic acid, and has a mild saline taste. It is produced by fermentation of a sugar source, such as corn or beets, and then, by neutralizing the resulting lactic acid to create a compound having the formula NaC3H5O3
It also can be given intravenously as a source of bicarbonate for preventing or controlling mild to moderate metabolic acidosis in patients with restricted oral intake (for sodium bicarbonate) whose oxidative processes are not seriously impaired. However, the use in lactic acidosis is contraindicated. It can cause panic attacks in patients with existing panic disorder.
Despite the similarity in name, sodium lactate is not chemically similar to lactose (milk sugar) and therefore need not be restricted by those with lactose intolerance. In general, lactates such as sodium, calcium, and potassium lactate are salts derived from the neutralization of lactic acid and most commercially used lactic acids are fermented from dairy-free products such as cornstarch, potatoes, or molasses. Sugar or tapioca additionally may be used. In some rare instances some lactic acid is fermented from dairy products such as whey and lactose. Whey is made of up 6.5% solids of which 4.8% is solid lactose. Waste whey is infrequently used to produce lactic acid when the whey itself is produced as waste during the manufacture of certain dairy products. Such dairy-type lactic acid generally goes back into dairy products, such as ice cream and cream cheese, rather than into non-dairy products. Moreover, although the lactic-acid starter culture to ferment corn or beets may contain milk, sodium lactate does not contain milk protein and need not be restricted by someone avoiding milk or those with a milk allergy.
- Safety data for sodium lactate syrup
- Silberberg, Barrie (2009). The Autism and ADHD Diet: A Step-by-Step Guide to Hope and Healing by Living Gluten Free and Casein Free (GFCF) and Other Interventions. Sourcebooks, Inc. p. 119. ISBN 1-4022-1845-1.
- "Food Additive Code Numbers" (PDF). South Australian Department of Health. August 2006. Retrieved 2012-08-16.
- US Patent 4758599, Dawn C. Minetti, "Clear, hydroalcoholic aftershave lotion which moisturizes, conditions, and prevents irritation", issued 1988-07-19
- Trevor, Anthony; Bertram Katzung; Susan Masters (2008). Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination and Board Review (8e ed.). Go Dairy Free. p. 126. ISBN 0-07-148869-3.
- Hospira, Inc. (November 2004). "Sodium Lactate (sodium lactate) Injection, Solution, Concentrate". DailyMed. U.S. National Library of Medicine. Retrieved 2012-08-16.
- Eric Hollander; Daphne Simeon (2003). Concise Guide to Anxiety Disorders. American Psychiatric Pub. p. 1. ISBN 978-1-58562-080-7. Retrieved 13 May 2012.
- Willitts, Alice; Deborah Carter (2007). Food allergy & your child. Class Publishing Ltd. p. 85. ISBN 1-85959-186-8.
The following ingredients do not contain milk protein and need not be avoided by people allergic to milk: … Sodium lactate
- Fleming, Alisa Marie (2008). Go Dairy Free: The Guide and Cookbook for Milk Allergies, Lactose Intolerance, and Casein-free Living. Go Dairy Free. p. 90. ISBN 0-9791286-2-5.
- Ranken, M. D.; R. C. Kill (1997). Food industries manual. Springer. p. 125. ISBN 0-7514-0404-7.
- Inamdar (2009). Biochemical Engineering: Principles And Concepts. PHI Learning Pvt. Ltd. p. 254. ISBN 81-203-3677-1.