Talk:Hit (baseball)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
WikiProject Baseball (Rated Start-class, Top-importance)
WikiProject iconThis article is within the scope of WikiProject Baseball, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of baseball on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
Start-Class article Start  This article has been rated as Start-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Top  This article has been rated as Top-importance on the project's importance scale.
 

Catcher's interference[edit]

According to the scoring rules, reaching on catcher's interference or because of obstruction do not result in the crediting of base hits. Catcher's interference counts as no time at bat and no hit for the batter, and an error on the catcher. Obstruction that allows the batter to reach first base is also no time at bat and no hit, and it's an error against the fielder who obstructs.

You are correct that a hit is credited when a batter reaches first and another runner is hit by the batted ball, putting that runner out for interference.

I'm deleting reference to catcher's inteference and obstruction. CharlieZeb 01:43, 28 Oct 2004 (UTC)

You're right...us umpires don't often crack open rule 10! Thanks for the correction. --Locarno 13:54, 28 Oct 2004 (UTC)

Rose, Ichiro[edit]

I added Rose as the lead image, followed by Ichiro. While this is a huge controversy, I did not add it to the Major League hits page; rather, this is in the same fashion as see in the "home run" article, which features an image of both Barry Bonds and Sadaharu Oh. Not trying to spark a debate, I think this does the article justice like the home run article. Thechased (talk) 01:19, 16 June 2016 (UTC)