Talk:Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Questions on naming?[edit]

From what I've been able to ascertain this special purpose district was originally called the "Chicago Sanitary District" before being renamed to the "Metropolitan Sanitary District of Greater Chicago" and finally the "Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago." But I'm unable to find sources for this beyond this CPL page[1]. Perhaps the main article can be updated to reflect this info? Mistergoodbar (talk) 21:50, 27 January 2008 (UTC)

  • Go ahead and correct it as you see fit. Speciate (talk) 07:51, 8 February 2008 (UTC)
    • You could find the public acts, passed by the Illinois General Assembly that made these naming changes (most likely simultaneously with many other changes.) I suspect that while the more recent might be available online, the older probably will not be (unless someone found them important enough to put there) which means that the content of those act(s) may need to be acquired and put into wikisource for reference. Squideshi (talk) 06:34, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

Growing Importance, Influence?[edit]

Would it be appropriate to include a section on the growing public and political interest in the MWRDGC?

In 2006 there was a hard fought insurgent campaign by Debra Shore which has generated a lot of interest in the District.

Here is a recent write up in The Reader about the growing interest.] Mistergoodbar (talk) 21:41, 7 March 2008 (UTC)

  • I think that would be very appropriate, especially considering that MWRDGC is the entity that operates the Sanitary and Ship Canal, as well as the locks and dam between it and Lake Michigan; and a hot story in the news right now seems to be that all the other lake states want this historic artificial link between the lake and Mississippi River basin to be severed (in order to prevent an infestation of Asian Carp from making their way into the great lakes, which would devastate the ecosystem.) It's my understanding that even President Obama has gotten involved as of late, siding with Illinois in keeping this link open (it's a vital economic shipping channel for a region that likes to consider itself a hub of transportation.) The other states, such as Michigan, are actually threatening to sue in federal court. Plenty of stories should come up on any news search. Squideshi (talk) 06:40, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

Flooding in Franklin Park[edit]

I live in Franklin Park And the deep tunnel is flooding area homes with in miles of the Desplaines river. Now insurance carriers are not renewing policies and others wont even look at these house to insure so now I think I am just going to walk away because the village says the department does not no what they are doing. So I thank you for ruining our chances of making it through this recession because now we are going to walk away and let the house go into forclosure my mortgage has been on time every month but now it is time to go. Thanks to the deep tunnel. —Preceding unsigned comment added by 76.203.5.220 (talk) 16:47, 23 November 2009 (UTC)

  • How is deep tunnel flooding homes? I'm not arguing with you; but having read how the tunnel works, I'm not sure I understand how this would be possible. The tunnel is deeper and larger than the regular wastewater system and is designed to prevent flooding and overflow. Squideshi (talk) 06:43, 15 January 2010 (UTC)

External links modified[edit]

Hello fellow Wikipedians,

I have just modified one external link on Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago. Please take a moment to review my edit. If you have any questions, or need the bot to ignore the links, or the page altogether, please visit this simple FaQ for additional information. I made the following changes:

When you have finished reviewing my changes, you may follow the instructions on the template below to fix any issues with the URLs.

You may set the |checked=, on this template, to true or failed to let other editors know you reviewed the change. If you find any errors, please use the tools below to fix them or call an editor by setting |needhelp= to your help request.

  • If you have discovered URLs which were erroneously considered dead by the bot, you can report them with this tool.
  • If you found an error with any archives or the URLs themselves, you can fix them with this tool.

If you are unable to use these tools, you may set |needhelp=<your help request> on this template to request help from an experienced user. Please include details about your problem, to help other editors.

Cheers.—InternetArchiveBot (Report bug) 02:01, 18 September 2017 (UTC)