|WikiProject Board and table games||(Rated Start-class, Low-importance)|
I am fairly certain that the official name of this game is Philospher's Football and not Phutball, but I don't happen to have a copy of Winning Ways lying around to check it. Does anyone? Phil Bordelon 23:03 24 Jun 2003 (UTC)
- I checked the book. The article heading is Philosopher's Football, but in the article they refer to it three times as Phutball, so the terms are clearly meant to be interchangeable. --Fritzlein 20:06 10 Jul 2003 (UTC)
- Works for me. Phil Bordelon
The article states "theoretically one of the players has a winning strategy". It isn't immediately obvious to me why this should be so, given that stones can come off the board as well as being placed on the board. How do we know that perfect play by both sides doesn't return the game state to the starting position? --Fritzlein 18:54, 10 March 2006 (UTC)
O and X
Single jump claim
"It is never worth jumping just one man - your opponent can replace it as his next move." Is this true? It seems to me that jumping a single man changes the state in two ways: a piece is removed, and the football moves. If the opponent uses his next move to replace the jumped piece, this still doesn't cancel out the single jump entirely. Factitious 10:51, 12 September 2006 (UTC)
- You are correct, it can be advantageous to jump a single piece, although it rarely is. For example, if the football is on the edge of the board, and you jump diagonally away, and the other player replaces the jumped man, you can place a man on the edge of the board where the football came from. This makes a return jump impossible, as the football would go off the edge of the board. --Fritzlein 20:07, 12 September 2006 (UTC)
Are there "official" rules and where to find them?
Is it allowed to jump over the corner, e.g. jump a stone on a19 with the ball on b18?
Is ist allowed to move the ball over the own goal line, i.e. jump onto the virtual line 0 or 20 and back onto the board again: e.g. the ball is on c2 and black stones on d1 and f1; is it then allowed to move c2-e0-g2 ? --184.108.40.206 (talk) 09:52, 9 September 2011 (UTC)