|A fact from Wheat allergy appeared on Wikipedia's Main Page in the Did you know? column on 12 September 2007. The text of the entry was as follows: "Did you know
|WikiProject Medicine||(Rated B-class, Mid-importance)|
|Ideal sources for Wikipedia's health content are defined in the guideline Wikipedia:Identifying reliable sources (medicine) and are typically review articles. Here are links to possibly useful sources of information about Wheat allergy.
What does "severe physical symptoms" mean? They need a list of more typical symptoms (which is what I came here to look for).
Answer: Gut pain would be the main one, and hives.
Please cross reference with celiac disease. Also many gluten-free cookbook sites are on the web for free with delicious recipes. Key in: gluten-free recipes or celiac disease. It is life changing and health changing and actually your cooking skills improve as most people in this economy live on noodles. There is so much more to life than that. Sushi is great. Also anything that was a sandwich can become a salad with a knife and fork, use the bread as a skateboard. If you are not milk sensitive ice cream is a nice dessert instead of cake. The Pamela's site has gluten-free cake mix. Rice flour is a replacement for wheat flour and easy for muffins and brownies but tricky for sandwich breads. And potatoes are great. And there is rice based beer. Enjoy. and be well. Mexican food and chinese work well for the business lunch. If this is a problem you have you are not alone. —Preceding unsigned comment added by 18.104.22.168 (talk) 23:43, 7 August 2009 (UTC)
Going to merge this page
with Wheat allergies (previously Gluten allergies) under the current title, I will have a work-up ready for inspection for comments before replacing this page. PD —Preceding unsigned comment added by 22.214.171.124 (talk) 23:57, 10 February 2008 (UTC)
- Shouldn't the article title be "Wheat allergy" instead of "Gluten allergy"? Otherwise, looks much better than the current pages so gets my approval. Socrates2008 (Talk) 05:54, 12 February 2008 (UTC)
In addition the "Stupid laundry list" was place in paragraph form and added as well as aspects of treatment (foods). If someone desires to edit or even remove these I have no problem with that, but in order to create a parsimonious merger I have retained these elements.Pdeitiker (talk) 02:22, 14 February 2008 (UTC)
It is possible to be allergic to wheat without being allergic to gluten in general. Are you sure merging this is the right thing? These things are already often confused, and we don't want to make it worse. Asbruckman (talk) 02:26, 2 May 2008 (UTC)
- It is possible to be allergic to wheat an not allergic to gluten.Pdeitiker (talk) 20:48, 9 June 2008 (UTC)
This merge is wrong. Gluten is a protein found in more grains that just wheat. That is, unless you consider rye and barley a variety of wheat. If anything, it should be reversed. In which case, wheat allergy, barley allergy, and rye allergy would redirect to gluten allergy. This merge should be undone. — Preceding unsigned comment added by 126.96.36.199 (talk) 13:54, 26 April 2012 (UTC)
- Agreed - not all wheat allergies are a form of gluten allergy and gluten exists in varying degrees in all types of rye and barley as well as wheat (members of the plant tribe Triticeae. Also see the article on Triticeae glutens.Penelope Gordon (talk) 07:55, 14 March 2013 (UTC)
Food induced Asthma
I've removed this section from the article because the cited reference does not support the claim, stating instead that one person out of 70+ in the trial had a wheat allergy.
Food induced Asthma Wheat is a common cause.
An anonymous user deleted this section as irrelevant. I believe it is relevant, and also consistent with other articles. For example, the article on Marfan's Syndrome discusses whether Abraham Lincoln might have suffered from it. Asbruckman (talk) 19:27, 8 October 2008 (UTC)
"Wheat and rye allergy (IgE) antibodies have also been found in acute psychosis patients." This doesn't claim these antibodies are found more often in acute psychosis patients than in the general population. If that's the case, it should be explained more clearly. --Preston McConkie (talk • contribs) 22:21, 13 July 2009 (UTC)
Spelt and kamut
The article has two contradicting statements about spelt and kamut:
1)"Spelt and kamut are grains related to common wheat, but are usually a suitable substitute for people with wheat allergies or that are gluten intolerant."
2) "Wheat allergies differ from gluten-diet exclusion in that some types of allergens do not create species crossreactive responses, an individual may be able to consume barley and rye safely, although more than likely they will be allergic to other wheat such as spelt and Kamut."
- Spelt is in the triticum (wheat) genus but because it is lower in gluten than common wheat a person with a gluten sensitivity may be able to consume moderate quantities of spelt without adverse effects; a person with celiac disease cannot consume spelt without adverse effects. Note that common wheat is a particular type of wheat.Penelope Gordon (talk) 07:23, 14 March 2013 (UTC)