Tonightly with Tom Ballard

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tonightly with Tom Ballard
GenreComedy
Presented byTom Ballard
StarringBridie Connell
Greg Larsen
Greta Lee Jackson
Nina Oyama
Country of originAustralia
Original language(s)English
No. of seasons1
No. of episodes160
Production
Production location(s)Sydney, New South Wales
Running time30 minutes
Release
Original networkABC Comedy
Original release4 December 2017 (2017-12-04) – 7 September 2018 (2018-09-07)
External links
Website

Tonightly with Tom Ballard is an Australian comedy entertainment show presented by comedian Tom Ballard and regular contributors Bridie Connell, Greg Larsen, Greta Lee Jackson and Nina Oyama. It aired on ABC Comedy from 4 December 2017 until 7 September 2018.[1] The show is described as an "irreverent, fast-paced" look at the day in news and culture,[2] with Ballard calling it "undergraduate filth".[3] Tonightly with Tom Ballard was filmed a few hours before broadcast in Ultimo, a suburb in Sydney's inner-city.

Reception[edit]

An early review of Tonightly with Tom Ballard was positive, saying "the writing is top notch, the performances strong and getting stronger, and the filmed inserts are beautifully realised."[4]

The show was criticised after a skit called Kevin Bailey, the candidate for the Australian Conservatives in the Batman by-election, 2018, a cunt, with the leader of the party, Cory Bernardi, and the Education Minister, Simon Birmingham calling for someone to lose their job over it,[5] and the Minister for Communications, Mitch Fifield asking for an investigation and an apology to Mr Bailey.[6] The ABC later personally apologised to Mr Bailey, but defended the decision to air the segment,[7] while expressions of support for the show were made by Joe Hildebrand,[8] Wil Anderson and Annabel Crabb.[9]

In August 2018, the show received criticism for a musical segment which highlighted perceived contradictions between Prime Minister Scott Morrison's Christian faith and his actions as a politician.[10][11] The ABC rejected the suggestion that the segment "attack[ed]" Morrison's religion or religious beliefs, stating that "[m]ost viewers would understand the skit to be a satirical way of examining the relationship between such beliefs and government policies on asylum seekers".[11]

'Sex Pest', a song from the series performed by Bridie Connell and Wyatt Nixon-Lloyd, won the 2018 ARIA Award for Best Comedy Release.[12]. Tonightly Albumly, a collection of original songs from the series' run, was released on all digital services via ABC Music.

Discontinued[edit]

In mid-August 2018 it was announced that Tonightly with Tom Ballard would be dropped from the ABC line up and would air for the last time on 7 September 2018.[13]

Episodes[edit]

This is a list of episodes for Tonightly with Tom Ballard which aired on ABC Comedy from December 4 2017, to September 7, 2018.

Ep. Date aired Guests Segments
1 Monday, December 4, 2017 Gardening with Greta
2 Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Tom looks at the Parliament House fence
3 Wednesday, December 6, 2017 Year In Review: Same Sex Marriage
4 Thursday, December 7, 2017 Tracey Spicer
5 Friday, December 8, 2017 Best of the week.
6 Monday, December 11, 2017 Year in Review: WA-XIT
7 Tuesday, December 12, 2017 Tom goes to the Australian Christian Lobby conference. Christmas song.
8 Wednesday, December 13, 2017 Warren Mundine Tom interviews Senators Derryn Hinch, Sam Dastyari, Eric Abetz, Sarah Hanson-Young, David Leyonhjelm
9 Thursday, December 14, 2017 Year In Review: Trump
10 Friday, December 15, 2017 Best of the week.
11 Monday, December 18, 2017 Year in Review: The World
12 Tuesday, December 19, 2017 Omar Musa Bridie's Goon commercial.
13 Wednesday, December 20, 2017 Tom looks at the Australian Constitution.
14 Thursday, December 21, 2017 Year in Review: Indigenous issues.
15 Friday, December 22, 2017 Best of the week.
16 Monday, January 8, 2018
17 Tuesday, January 9, 2018 Explainsly: Centrelink robo-debt
18 Wednesday, January 10, 2018 Greg crashes Mark Latham's 'Save Australia Day' campaign launch. Bridie investigates Queensland's racist place names.
19 Thursday, January 11, 2018 Jimmy Carr
20 Friday, January 12, 2018 Masha Alyokhina from Pussy Riot Best of the week.
21 Monday, January 15, 2018
22 Tuesday, January 16, 2018 Explainsly: 2018 preview part 1
23 Wednesday, January 17, 2018 Explainsly: 2018 preview part 2
24 Thursday, January 18, 2018 Panti Bliss
25 Friday, January 19, 2018 Best of the week.
26 Monday, January 22, 2018 Izzy Ali looks at Victorian African gangs.
27 Tuesday, January 23, 2018 Demi Lardner Explainsly: NZ refugee policy.
28 Wednesday, January 24, 2018 Comedian Trygvie.
29 Thursday, January 25, 2018 Jacinta Price Craig Quatermaine looks at Australia Day.
30 Friday, January 26, 2018 Best of the week.
31 Monday, January 29, 2018 Senator Jacqui Lambie
32 Tuesday, January 30, 2018 NSW Greens Senator Mehreen Faruqi Andrew McClelland goes to the Parkes Elvis Festival in NSW.
33 Wednesday, January 31, 2018 Labor Opposition Leader Bill Shorten
34 Thursday, February 1, 2018 Liberal MP Tim Wilson
35 Friday, February 2, 2018 Best of the week.
36 Monday, February 5, 2018 Mark Bonanno from Aunty Donna looks at Melbourne's tram car restaurants
37 Tuesday, February 6, 2018 Wolf Alice Candy Bowers looks at nude underwear
38 Wednesday, February 7, 2018 Harley Breen
39 Thursday, February 8, 2018 Alex Cameron Wyatt Nixon-Lloyd looks at the 200 Treasures exhibition at the Australian Museum.
40 Friday, February 9, 2018 Best of the week.
41 Monday, February 12, 2018 Tom Walker
42 Tuesday, February 13, 2018 Dr Chris Sarra Wyatt & Bridie go to the Tamworth Country Music Festival
43 Wednesday, February 14, 2018 Sharri Markson Valentines Day song.
44 Thursday, February 15, 2018 Explainsly: Renewables
45 Friday, February 16, 2018 Best of the week.
46 Monday, February 19, 2018 Danielle Walker Aaron Chen goes to Tropfest.
47 Tuesday, February 20, 2018 Musical act Jade Bird
48 Wednesday, February 21, 2018
49 Thursday, February 22, 2018 Musical act Vance Joy
50 Friday, February 23, 2018 Best of the week.
51 Monday, February 26, 2018 Imam Nur Warsame
52 Tuesday, February 27, 2018 Courtney Act
53 Wednesday, February 28, 2018 Writer of the 2018 TV movie Riot Greg Waters & LGBTQI activist Meredith Knight Greg interviews John Boyega
54 Thursday, March 1, 2018 Geraldine Hickey, Zahra Stardust Cassie Workman's segment So You Think You Can Trans.
55 Friday, March 2, 2018 Best of the week.
56 Monday, March 5, 2018 Lea DeLaria Felicty Ward interview Greta Gerwig and Saoirse Ronan
57 Tuesday, March 6, 2018 Gillian Triggs, standup from Nina Oyama
58 Wednesday, March 7, 2018 The Preatures Bridie interview New Zealand Foreign Minister Winston Peters
59 Thursday, March 8, 2018 Ioan Gruffudd Bridie and Greta host.
60 Friday, March 9, 2018 Best of the week.
61 Monday, March 12, 2018 Henry Rollins
62 Tuesday, March 13, 2018 Dr Jordan Peterson
63 Wednesday, March 14, 2018 Musical act Lauv
64 Thursday, March 15, 2018 Musical act Vera Blue Greg wants to rename the electorate of Batman & famously calls Conservative Kevin Bailey the c-word.
65 Friday, March 16, 2018 Best of the week.
66 Monday, March 19, 2018 Tessa Waters Nina goes to Adelaide to cover the South Australian election
67 Tuesday, March 20, 2018 Brian Greene
68 Wednesday, March 21, 2018 Hip hop act Horrorshow Felicity Ward interviews Leslie Mann, Kay Cannon & John Cena. Strayans Divided: Young Politicians.
69 Thursday, March 22, 2018 Michael Hing Explainsly: Endometriosis.
70 Friday, March 23, 2018 Best of the week.
71 Monday, March 26, 2018 Chuck D and Tom Morello from the band Prophets of Rage, Tommy Dassalo Scott Dooley goes to the anti-gun March For Our Lives in Washington.
72 Tuesday, March 27, 2018 Paul McDermott, Nikki Britton
73 Wednesday, March 28, 2018 Loyiso Gola Strayans Divided: Economists
74 Thursday, March 29, 2018 Phil Wang Explainsly: Crime and Punishment
75 Friday, March 30, 2018 Best of the week.
76 Monday, April 2, 2018 Frida Deguise Cassie Workman talks pronouns in the segment So You Think You Can Trans.
77 Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Marcel Lacont (Alexis Dubus) Tom goes to the Victorian Marxism conference.
78 Wednesday, April 4, 2018 Jack River Strayans Divided: The Republic vs Monarchists, featuring Peter FitzSimons. Greg reports from the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.
79 Thursday, April 5, 2018 Former Treasurer Wayne Swan Greta goes to a the Taroom B&S Ball.
80 Friday, April 6, 2018 Best of the week.
81 Monday, April 9, 2018 Fin Taylor
82 Tuesday, April 10, 2018 Patrick Wolf
83 Wednesday, April 11, 2018 Fern Brady Greg is at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.
84 Thursday, April 12, 2018 Doug Stanhope, Didirri
85 Friday, April 13, 2018 Best of the week.
86 Monday, April 16, 2018 Guy Montgomery
87 Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Apollo Jackson, Damien Power
88 Wednesday, April 18, 2018 Missy Higgins Tom looks at refugee art.
89 Thursday, April 19, 2018 Cassie Workman
90 Friday, April 20, 2018 Best of the week.
91 Monday, April 23, 2018 Dane Baptiste Tom looks at Camp Gallipoli.
92 Tuesday, April 24, 2018 Veteran Mick Bainbridge, Michael Goldstein
93 Wednesday, April 25, 2018 Dami Im Bridie looks at laws protecting university colleges
94 Thursday, April 26, 2018 Takashi Wakasugi James Colley goes to Federation Square in Melbourne
95 Friday, April 27, 2018 Best of the week.
96 Monday, April 30, 2018 Bill McGibben, DMA's
97 Tuesday, May 1, 2018 Musician Dean Lewis Strayans Divided: Religion
98 Wednesday, May 2, 2018 Author Stanley Johnson, Musical act Tropical Fuck Storm
99 Thursday, May 3, 2018 Journalist Johann Hari Monty Franklin tries to find a new US Ambassador. Cam Knight stars as swearing teacher Kunst.
100 Friday, May 4, 2018 Best of the week.
101 Monday, June 18, 2018 Explainsly: Refugee sponsorship
102 Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Anyier Youl Greta proposes lock in laws for men. Greg looks at psychic sniffer dogs.
103 Wednesday, June 20, 2018 Standup from Squidsy Mulligan Greta Investigatesly: Refugees.
104 Thursday, June 21, 2018 Musical act DyspOra
105 Friday, June 22, 2018 Best of the week.
106 Monday, 25 June, 2018 Hypnotist John Edward
107 Tuesday, June 26, 2018 Standup from Alice Fraser
108 Wednesday, June 27, 2018 Alex Ward Hannah Reilly sets up a safe space for right wing journalists and broadcasters.
109 Thursday, June 28, 2018 The Rubens Explainsly: Facial recognition.
110 Friday, June 29, 2018 Best of the week.
111 Monday, July 2, 2018 NT Labor MP Luke Gosling
112 Tuesday, July 3, 2018 Body hacker Meow-Ludo Disco Gamma Meow-Meow
113 Wednesday, July 4, 2018 Comedian Ashwin Segkar Strayans Divided: Feminism
114 Thursday, July 5, 2018 Musical group Polo Shirt
115 Friday, July 6, 2018 Best of the week.
116 Monday, July 9, 2018 Steph Tisdell Bridie goes to UK Labor Live concert and interviews Jeremy Corbyn
117 Tuesday, July 10, 2018 Shireen Morris
118 Wednesday, July 11, 2018 Ngaree Ah Kit Andy Saunders' Aboriginal Mythbusters
119 Thursday, July 12, 2018 Musicians Alice Skye & Emily Wurramara
120 Friday, July 13, 2018 Best of the week.
121 Monday, July 16, 2018 Actor Danny Glover, Comedian Kristy Webeck
122 Tuesday, July 17, 2018 Musical group Bully Strayans Divided: Greens vs One Nation.
123 Wednesday, July 18, 2018 Bianca "Bam Bam" Elmir Greg goes to the NT to look at the crocodile cull.
124 Thursday, July 19, 2018 Musical act Mansionaire
125 Friday, July 20, 2018 Best of the week.
126 Monday, July 23, 2018 Interview with Albert Hammond Jr from The Strokes Damien Power looks at guns in America - a co-production with The New York Times opinion section.
127 Tuesday, July 24, 2018 Comedian Jack Druce Strayans Divided: Big Australia
128 Wednesday, July 25, 2018 Comedian Tom Cashman Rosie Waterland parodies Netflix's Insatiable. Greg goes to the Longman by-election in Queensland.
129 Thursday, July 26, 2018 Interview with Franz Ferdinand. Musical performance by Odette Nina goes to the Braddon by-election in Tasmania.
130 Friday, July 27, 2018 Best of the week.
131 Monday, July 30, 2018 Comedian Rose Piper
132 Tuesday, July 31, 2018 Economist Stephen Koukoulas Carlo Ritchie looks at health in country.
133 Wednesday, August 1, 2018
134 Thursday, August 2, 2018 Band Cash Savage and the last drinks Carlo Ritchie looks at infrastructure in country. Bridie looks at abortion rights in Ireland and Tasmania.
135 Friday, August 3, 2018 Best of the week.
136 Monday, August 6, 2018 Hamish Blake, Andy Lee, Dave Eastgate
137 Tuesday, August 7, 2018 Musicians D.Minor & Libby Ingels Tom looks at racism in Townsville
138 Wednesday, August 8, 2018 Skye Leckie Nina's Alternatively looks at homelessness
139 Thursday, August 9, 2018 Comedian Bonnie Tangey Explainsly: Homelessness and housing first
140 Friday, August 10, 2018 Best of the week.
141 Monday, August 13, 2018 Author Douglas Murray, Comedian Craig Quartermaine The Embassy episode 1
142 Tuesday, August 14, 2018 Musician Peter Bibby The Embassy episode 2
143 Wednesday, August 15, 2018 Musician/Comedian Sarah Gaul Tonightly gets axed. Mr Oily debuts in new segment "Why The Fuck Not?". The Embassy episode 3.
144 Thursday, August 16, 2018 Professor Toby Walsh
145 Friday, August 17, 2018 Best of the week.
146 Monday, August 20, 2018 Comedian Zoe Coombs Marr Kamahl reads the Gettysburg address for "Why The Fuck Not?"
147 Tuesday, August 21, 2018 Courtney Barnett Day of the Liberal leadership spill against Turnbull.
148 Wednesday, August 22, 2018 Former UKIP leader Nigel Farage, musical comedy act Songtourage Greg & Nina host.
149 Thursday, August 23, 2018 American Peter Dutton. Comedian Sian Smith Bridie and Greta host day Turnbull announces another spill.
150 Friday, August 24, 2018 Best of the week.
151 Monday, August 27, 2018 Andrew WK Wyatt & Bridie do a song about new PM Scott Morrison's christianity.
152 Tuesday, August 28, 2018 Gillian Cosgriff, Jess Perkins, Ahmed Zubb Special standup comedy episode
153 Wednesday, August 29, 2018 Interview with singer Troye Sivan, Comedian Michael Chamberlin
154 Thursday, August 30, 2018 Comedian Sam Taunton Comedian Andy Matthews looks at DIY DNA kids. Tom Cashman stars in Emotional Jackass.
155 Friday, August 31, 2018 Best of the week.
156 Monday, September 3, 2018 Greens leader Richard Di Natale, comedian Chris Fleming Special Conservative-themed show, "Conservatively". James McCann looks at modern art. Jazz Twemlow looks at everything that's wrong the left.
157 Tuesday, September 4, 2018 Musical comedy act These New South Whales Special future show set in 2068
158 Wednesday, September 5, 2018 Comedian John Cruckshank Explainsly: Tom explains Australia's Environmental policy failures. Rodney Todd looks at heightism.
159 Thursday, September 6, 2018 Final Original Episode, ran 51 minutes. Nina's Alternatively looks at African gangs. Greg looks at Australia Post. Monica Zanetti looks at moving to the country for queer people.
160 Friday, September 7, 2018 The Best Ever - hour long special.


References[edit]

  1. ^ Knox, David (27 October 2017). "Tonightly with Tom Ballard leads ABC2 rebrand to ABC Comedy". TV Tonight.
  2. ^ Donoughue, Paul (31 October 2017). "The world is a scary place, and Tom Ballard is here to help". ABC News.
  3. ^ Mathieson, Craig (5 December 2017). "Nothing is off limits for Tom Ballard's new ABC show Tonightly". The Sydney Morning Herald. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  4. ^ Street, Andrew (7 December 2017). "Tonightly review – Tom Ballard's new show shows promise, with one glaring problem". The Guardian. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  5. ^ "Cory Bernardi demands someone 'lose their job' after ABC comedy sketch". SBS News. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  6. ^ Styles, Aja (20 March 2018). "Communications Minister takes aim at Tonightly with Tom Ballard skit". The Sydney Morning Herald. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  7. ^ Carmody, Broede (22 March 2018). "ABC executive apologises to Kevin Bailey over Tonightly skit". The Sydney Morning Herald. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  8. ^ Hildebrand, Joe (23 March 2018). "What part of 'free speech' don't people understand?". news.com.au. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  9. ^ Meade, Amanda (23 March 2018). "Wil Anderson on Tonightly: 'People more offended by C at end of AB than about C-bomb sketch'". the Guardian. Retrieved 23 March 2018.
  10. ^ "Scott Morrison at centre of ABC row over religion". news.com.au. 30 August 2018. Retrieved 9 September 2018.
  11. ^ a b Lattouf, Antoinette (30 August 2018). "Not Funny: ABC Cops Criticism Over PM Christian Comedy Skit". Ten Daily. Retrieved 9 September 2018.
  12. ^ "ARIA Award Winners 2018". ariaawards.com.au. ARIA. Retrieved 24 November 2018.
  13. ^ "ABC won't be renewing the Tonightly with Tom Ballard program". ABC News. 14 August 2018. Retrieved 20 August 2018.