This user has AutoWikiBrowser permissions on the English Wikipedia.
This user helped get "Nowhere Men" listed at Did You Know on the main page on 19 September 2014.
This user helped get "Paralobesia viteana" listed at Did You Know on the main page on 19 November 2013.
This user uses Huggle to fight vandalism.
This user has pending changes reviewer rights on the English Wikipedia.
This user has rollback rights on the English Wikipedia.
This user uses Twinkle to fight vandalism.

User:AddWittyNameHere

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search


I have been mostly absent from March to early July 2014 due to real life circumstances, with exception of a handful of edits made as IP, which is listed beneath. Rinse and repeat for June 2015 to late March 2016, this time due to medical reasons.

Please bear with me as I get back into the wikipedia-swing and feel free to poke me if I promised I would get back to you on something and never did. My most sincere apologies to anyone who was inconvenienced by my absence.
Unlike most people, I am highly nocturnal and most frequently active during the late evening, night and early morning (to the point where during summer, I fall asleep well after dawn, whereas in the middle of the winter, it is not uncommon for me to only rise when dusk has already started) and as a result, you will be more rather than less likely to receive a response from me between 10pm and 7am in my timezone (8pm-5am UTC during DST, 9-6am UTC during winter).

Welcome to my userpage!

I am AddWittyNameHere, a Dutch female in her early twenties. Feel free to shorten that to Witty (or NotWitty). I simply couldn't come up with a username, hence this one.

I registered at Wikipedia during the summer of 2013, having read for several years previously. I have made a handful of IP-edits previous to registering, though not many. I have rollback rights since January 2014 and reviewer rights since July 2014. I also have AWB permissions, although I infrequently use them.

Languages

Wikipedia:Babel
nl Deze gebruiker heeft het Nederlands als moedertaal.
en-4 This user can contribute with a near-native level of English.
de-2 Dieser Benutzer hat fortgeschrittene Deutschkenntnisse.
fr-1 Cet utilisateur peut contribuer avec un niveau élémentaire de français.
Search user languages

If you need translation help from Dutch or—to a slightly lesser amount—German to English for work in mainspace or similar (for example, to confirm a source does say what it's stated to say, or to incorporate information from the Dutch or German wiki), feel free to ask me. If needed, such as for communication with someone on the English wikipedia who has difficulty understanding the English language, I am also willing to translate from English to Dutch. (If absolutely necessary, I am willing to translate to German as well; however, my active use of German grammar is somewhat spotty and thus the translation would be intelligible for a native speaker of German, but not necessarily grammatically correct.)

For French, I am capable of the written language, but generally not spoken language, and some of the more subtle nuances will likely go unnoticed. As a result, I only translate from French when I am absolutely certain that my understanding is correct.

I also possess some, albeit nowhere near perfect, knowledge of Latin and ancient Greek, courtesy of secondary school, and a basic understanding—but notactive use knowledge—of some other European languages. Nothing to write home about, but with some help on the side from an online translator, I can reasonably well translate phrases and sentences from Swedish, Norwegian and Danish, as well as Spanish, Portuguese and Italian, to Dutch or English, or gather the basic meaning from a text in one of those languages. This is mostly through my knowledge of other languages (for the North Germanic ("Scandinavian") cluster, mostly Dutch, German and English; for the Romance language ("Neo-Latin") cluster, mostly Latin and French) and picking up knowledge as I come across it, however, and not any formal studying of these languages; as a result, there are gaps in my knowledge of basic words on the one hand while I can comprehend less common and usually considered more "difficult" words on the other hand. I cannot speak or otherwise actively use them beyond the uttermost basics—if that much.

My work at Wikipedia

As of mid-2015, my IP-address is Special:Contributions/195.240.98.224. Prior to that, I used the IP Special:Contributions/195.241.179.24, a highly stable IP that was mine from January 2013 to June 2015 or thereabout. If you see edits from this IP-address, it means that I have accidentally edited while logged out, have for some reason been unable to access my account (I don't foresee this happening) or that someone else at my home has been editing Wikipedia (so far, this has not yet happened either). Alternatively, I am on a self-imposed wikibreak (declared or otherwise) and come upon an article that needs a minor fix.

I sometimes edit Wikipedia from other locations; however, I aim to do so while logged in to prevent confusion. The most likely of these locations is at my boyfriend's place. While he very infrequently edits as IP on the Dutch wiki, (think less than five edits in half a year or thereabout) to the best of my knowledge he does not edit on en.wiki. The four IP-edits currently assigned to the same IP on en.wiki, from 9 Feb to 26 March 2015 (UTC timezone) are mine.

I tend to spend most of my time on Wikipedia fighting vandalism (for which I use both Twinkle and Huggle) and doing gnomish tasks like cite-error repair, disambiguation-link fixing, creating necessary redirects, tagging redirects and correcting typos.

Have a nice day,
AddWittyNameHere