User:Góngora

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search


Member of Wikimedia Norge Participant in Wikimania 2009 Participant in Wikimania 2010 Participant in Wikimania 2011 Participant in Wikimania 2013 Participant in Wikimania 2014 Participant in Wikimania 2016 Participant in Wikimania 2017

Gongora1.JPG


Coat of Arms of Góngora
Wikipedia:Babel
es Este usuario tiene el español como lengua materna.
en-4 This user can contribute with a near-native level of English.
en-
gb
-4
This user is able to contribute with a near-native level of British English.
ca-4 El nivell d'aquest usuari correspon al d'un parlant natiu del català.
pt-2 Este usuário/utilizador pode contribuir com um nível médio de português.
it-2 Questo utente può contribuire con un livello intermedio di italiano.
no-2 Denne brukeren/brukaren har god kjennskap til norsk.
oc-1 Aqueste utilizaire pòt contribuir amb un nivèl basic d'occitan.
fr-1 Cet utilisateur peut contribuer avec un niveau élémentaire de français.
... This user would like to be able to speak more languages.
ipa-5
ə
This user has a complete understanding of the International Phonetic Alphabet.
NTNU This user is or has been a student at NTNU.
BA This user has a Bachelor of Arts degree in English studies.
MPhil This user has a Master of Philosophy degree.
11 This user joined Wikipedia 11 years, 0 months, and 27 days ago as of August 19, 2017.
Wikipedia-logo-v2.svg This user has made over
37,000 edits on Wikipedia.
C This user has access to Credo Reference.
Admin mop.PNG This user is an administrator on the Spanish Wikipedia. (verify)
Admin mop.PNG This user is an administrator on the Catalan Wikipedia. (verify)
Wikipedia Checkuser.svg This user has checkuser rights on the Catalan Wikipedia. (verify)
America blank map.png This user is an American.
Flag of Spain.svg This user is Spanish.
Flag of Uruguay.svg This user is Uruguayan.
Flag of Norway.svg This user comes from Norway.
Trondheim komm.svg This user lives in
Trondheim.
Flag of Europe.svg This user supports the European Union.
Flag of Italy.svg This user is of Italian ancestry.
Flag of Russia.svg This user is of Russian ancestry.
Flag of England.svg This user is of
English ancestry
Royal Arms of England.svg
Kubanka.jpg This user is a proud descendant of Cossacks.
Flag of Don Cossacks.svg This user is of Don Cossack ancestry.
Boxing glove (icon).png This user can deliver a TKO.
Applications-ristretto.svg This user LOVES to drink coffee and drinks at least 40 cups a month.
Phonetik.svg This user is interested in linguistics.
Noia 64 apps xclock.png This user's time zone is GMT+1.
The flag of Uruguay This user is a member of the
Uruguay WikiProject.
Flag of Uruguay.svg This user participates in
WikiProject Uruguay
Wright, Joseph - A Philosopher Lecturing with a Mechanical Planetary - 1766.jpg GLAM / Derby Museum and Art Gallery project contributor

Hey there! My name is Gustavo Góngora (Spanish pronunciation: [gon'gora]). I'm a Uruguayan-born Spanish Wikipedian living in Norway and working here for the sake of free knowledge. I hold a B.A. Degree in English studies and a M.A. in Literary Research, Comparative Literature and Theatre from UNED. I am a linguistics student enrolled in the Mphil programme in English Linguistics and Language Acquisition at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway.

I am an administrator on the Spanish Wikipedia since 2007, and I was an administrator on the Catalan Wikipedia from 2010 to April 2017. I am also a bureaucrat on es.wiki and a checkuser on ca.wiki, besides being an active user on the Norwegian Wikipedia.

Key facts

  • My birth as a Wikipedian took place on (2006-07-23) 23 July 2006 (age 11).
  • I became an administrator and bureaucrat on the Spanish Wikipedia on April 9, 2007.
  • I was chosen for the former Spanish Arbitration Committee (ArbCom) twice in 2008.
  • In June 2009 I became a candidate for the Wikimedia Foundation Board of Trustees.
  • My first article on Wikipedia was on es.wiki, Arapey Springs (26 July 2006).
  • I was an administrator on the Catalan Wikipedia from March 2010 until April 2017.
  • I am a checkuser there since 2009.
  • I became a board member of Wikimedia Spain (Wikimedia España) in April 2010.
  • I have participated in seven Wikimania meetings (2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017). I was a speaker during the first three Wikimania events. As for Wikimania 2016, I participated in an open discussion called Content translation across Wikipedias.
  • In December 2010 I attended the Wiki-GLAM conference in Paris, France.
  • I am also a member of Amical, a non-profit organization which seeks to promote Wikimedia projects in Catalan-speaking territories.
  • Up to now, I have created more than 1,500 articles cross-linguistically: Spanish, Catalan, Occitan, Italian, French, Norwegian (bokmal), Portuguese, and English.
  • I have 11 featured articles (10 in Spanish, 1 in Catalan) and 7 good articles.
  • In 2011 I was jury member during the first edition of Wikipedia:Wiki Loves Monuments. In 2012 I was jury member of the Spanish edition of WLM.
  • I was the first press room contact for Wikimedia Spain (WM-ES) (2010-2011).
  • As of 2016, I am a member of Wikimedia Norge (Norway) and a regular editor on the Norwegian and Spanish Wikipedia(s).
  • Since 1 February 1, 2017 I am a member of the WMF Ombudsman Commission.
  • I have more than 41,000 global edits, etc, etc.
  • As you may have imagined, I'm a Wikiholic who is proud of his addiction!
  • If you have any doubt, question and/or suggestion, contact me. I always try to answer as quickly as possible.

Activity on Wikipedia by language

This table shows my activity on Wikipedia by language:

Wikipedia (more than 100 edits)
Language
Code Since Number
of edits
Category(ies), flag(s)
Catalan ca.wiki November 7, 2006 +23,000 Administrator (sysop) (2010-2017), checkuser
Spanish es.wiki July 26, 2006 +19,000 Administrator (sysop), bureaucrat, former ArbCom member
Norwegian no.wiki July 4, 2008 +5,100 Verified user (autopatruljerte)
French fr.wiki March 16, 2007 +2,400 Verified user
English en.wiki August 9, 2006 +1,400 Verified user
Italian it.wiki March 16, 2007 +300 Verified user
Portuguese pt.wiki November 7, 2006 +240 Verified user
German de.wiki June 9, 2007 +100 Verified user (Bestätigter Benutzer)
Total +50,000

Areas of interest

  • English language, literature and culture; universal geography; politics and social sciences; literature in general; Romance languages; Roman Empire; history; the Americas; Scandinavian culture and civilization; football, basketball and boxing; Uruguay.

My articles

Uruguay–related topics

Miscellaneous

My travels

I was born in

Uruguay South America

I grew up in:

Uruguay Catalonia Spain Europe Norway

I have also lived in

Andorra Norway

I've spent a week or more in

Argentina Brazil England France Community of Madrid Valencian Community Poland Belgium Norway United Kingdom Italy United States

I've spent a few days in

Aragon Canada Castile and León Castilla-La Mancha Midi-Pyrénées Hong Kong Île-de-France Israel Quebec New York (state) Virginia

I've spent a few hours in

China Delaware Denmark Estonia Finland Languedoc-Roussillon Maryland Netherlands New Jersey Qatar Russia Sweden Vatican City Wales