User:Paul W

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

My name is Paul Wilkinson (not to be confused with the political scientist or the footballer) and I live in Blackheath, London in the Royal Borough of Greenwich. I have previously lived in other parts of London (including Kingsbury - where I was born - St John's Wood, Kilburn, Islington, Mile End, Kennington and the Maze Hill and Westcombe Park districts of Greenwich). Before adult life in London, I grew up in other parts of England - notably Nantwich, south Cheshire and Leicester (I studied public administration at Leicester Polytechnic).

I started editing on 3 October 2003 (the first article I created was Greenwich Park), and have drifted away from time to time, only to find myself drawn back for sometimes quite intense periods of editing. My edits total passed the 10,000 mark in May 2009, and 20,000 in February 2016.

My interests mainly relate to:

I worked for the Halcrow Group (1987- 1994), Tarmac Professional Services (1994-1998) and BIW Technologies (2000-2009) as a marketing and PR professional (I am a Fellow and council member of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations). From 1998 to 2000 and since 2009, I have worked as an independent consultant. From October 2015 to April 2016, I was a visiting lecturer at the University of Westminster.

For disclosure purposes, I maintain a list of current and recent clients on my website (see External links below - look at my 'About' page). I have edited pages about my former employers (after I left their employment), and about organisations of which I am a member. There have been past occasions when I had conflicts of interest in editing articles, but as have I learned more about Wikipedia and as COI policies have developed, I have - I hope - learned where not to tread (or, at most, where to amend minor factual inaccuracies, revoke vandalism, and/or provide verifiable, independent references).

I am an occasional photographer and have contributed photographs to Wikimedia Commons (sometimes using the now-discontinued Flickr Upload Bot - now do so via Commons:Upload).

Wikipedia community activities[edit]

I have had occasional contact with members of Wikimedia UK (I was formally accepted as a member of Wikimedia UK in February 2011).

  • I met two members who contributed to a 'social summer' event at the CIPR in 2010
  • I have also written about the CIPR, PR and Wikipedia during development, with Wikimedia UK, of the CIPR's first guidance notes (published June 2012), then an update published in 2014 (in guiding PR people in their use of Wikipedia, I stress I am first and foremost a Wikipedian).
  • In April 2012 I arranged for a volunteer (Andy Mabbett) to facilitate a workshop at the Institution of Civil Engineers, followed by a GLAM Editathon at the ICE in July 2013.
  • I was a volunteer at a Women in Architecture editathon at the Architectural Association in London in October 2015.
  • In June 2016, at the request of Wikimedia UK, I gave a talk to staff at a London-based marketing/PR agency outlining key principles of Wikipedia.
  • In July 2016, I attended a Wikimedia UK 'Training for Trainers' weekend.

I agree to multi-license all my contributions, with the exception of my user pages, as described below:

Multi-licensed with the Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike License versions 1.0 and 2.0
I agree to multi-license my text contributions, unless otherwise stated, under Wikipedia's copyright terms and the Creative Commons Attribution Share-Alike license version 1.0 and version 2.0. Please be aware that other contributors might not do the same, so if you want to use my contributions under the Creative Commons terms, please check the CC dual-license and Multi-licensing guides.

External link[edit]

www.pwcom.co.uk

Banners[edit]

en This user is a native speaker of English.
Flag of England.svg This user is of
English ancestry
Royal Arms of England (1198-1340).svg
Flag of the United Kingdom.svg This user lives in the United Kingdom
City of London logo.svg This user lives in London.
GMT This user's time zone is GMT.
Laufrad-campa-vento.jpg This user is a proud cyclist.
NN This user is part of the notability sorting drive.
The London Eye This user is a member of
WikiProject London.
Wikipedia Autopatrolled.svg This user has autopatrolled rights on the English Wikipedia. (verify)
Noia 64 apps karm.svg This user has been on Wikipedia for 12 years, 11 months and 22 days.
Crystal Clear app tutorials.png This user has created 474 articles on Wikipedia.
Editor - gold star.jpg This editor is a Veteran Editor IV
and is entitled to display this
Gold Editor Star.
Suspension bridge pattern german2.svg This user is a member of
WikiProject Civil Engineering.
PhD This user has a Doctor of Philosophy degree
Factory 1b.svg This user is a member of
WikiProject Companies.
Ten Year Society userbox.svg This user has been editing Wikipedia for more than ten years.
922 pending submissions This user is a participant in WikiProject Articles for creation. You can help!