From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Noia 64 apps karm.svg This user has been on Wikipedia for 9 years, 3 months and 14 days.
Editor - bronze star.jpg This editor is a Veteran Editor II
and is entitled to display this
Bronze Editor Star.
PSN logo free.png This user's PSN ID is:
Eastern Bluebird-27527-2.jpg This user tweets on Twitter as @Soetermans.
Treetattoo.jpg This user is inked.ʰ
nl Deze gebruiker heeft het Nederlands als moedertaal.
en-4 This user can contribute with a near-native level of English.
de-2 Dieser Benutzer hat fortgeschrittene Deutschkenntnisse.
fr-2 Cet utilisateur peut contribuer avec un niveau intermédiaire en français.
Search user languages

Hi, I'm Soetermans, welcome to my userpage. My name is Sebastiaan "Bas" Soetermans. I'm a 27-year old pastoral care student. I live in Amsterdam, the Netherlands with my fiancée Robin and our two adorable cats Bruno and George.

Studies and work[edit]

After high school I studied to become a history teacher for a while, went to university for philosphy and history, but it wasn't for me. I took a year off, worked at a restaurant as a barista and a bartender and really took the time to figure out what I wanted to do. I stumbled upon pastoral care and decided to go for that. I still work in a restaurant, behind the bar, making coffee and serving drinks. I work at the bar and restaurant part of EYE Film Institute Netherlands.


In my spare time I like to play video games. I own a PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4 and PS Vita, and with PlayStation Plus I got a whole bunch of games. With my studies I also look for religious, philosophical and ethical aspects in video games. From The Legend of Zelda to Fallout 3, games are loaded with those kind of elements.

I also like to watch TV series. Game of Thrones, Parks and Recreation, Arrested Development, The IT Crowd, the list goes on and on. I'm a huge fan of David Wain, Judd Apatow and pretty much everything they touch. In August 2013, I watched The State. Hilarious.

I've got seven tattoos, mostly on my arms. Usually I let my beard grow, which is red, unlike the rest of hair.

My Wikipedia activities[edit]

I've been a Wikipedian since April 2006. I enjoy editing, it gives me peace of mind and I feel like I spend my sparetime wisely. The bulk of my edits concern video games. I consider myself to be something of a WikiGnome: I usually take out typoes typos, amazing POV, and correcting piped links.

I have great respect and admiration for all those volunteers, spending their time on topics they care about, just so this encyclopedia gets better everyday.

Contacting me[edit]

I go by my last name online (i.e. Wikipedia, twitter, PSN). Feel free to add or follow me! If you, the reader, would ever find yourself on my side of the world, please, drop me a line. It would be great to meet another Wikipedian.