Wikipedia:Meetup/AfroCROWD/Juneteenth2020

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
AfroCROWD User Group Logo
Poor People's March at Lafayette Park, Washington, D.C. USA June 18, 1968
Civil rights demonstration in front of a segregated theater Tallahassee, Florida 1963
1963 march on washington

Your Invitation[edit]

Join us Friday, June 19th, 2020 4:46 PM EDT on Zoom to learn to edit Wikipedia on topics related to the pursuit of freedom and civil rights in the Black Community.

Then return Saturday, June 20th between 8:46 AM PST and 8:46 PM EDT for Wikipedia coaching and guidance from our partners in the Wikimedia Movement. *Please check schedule below for available.

Click Here to Sign Up and Register for the event![edit]

Once you have registered, please proceed below for information on the event how to join the event on Zoom.

Event information[edit]

Schedule: Editing Sessions/ Wiki Coaching Times. [edit]

These will take place in the same Zoom room.

Friday 6/19

  • 8:46 pm PST/ 11:46 PM EDT
  • 11:46 Pm PST/ 2:46 AM EDT
  • Keynote presentation and online gathering 4:46 PM EDT-6:46 PM EDT (1:46 pm PST-3:46 pm PST)

Saturday 6/20

  • 8:46 am PST / 11:46 am EDT
  • 10:46 am PST / 1:46 pm EDT (Coach)
  • 12:46 pm PST / 3:46 pm EDT
  • 2:46 pm PST / 5:46 pm EDT
  • 4:46 pm PST / 7:46 pm EDT

Details[edit]

Juneteenth is Friday, June 19th. Also known as Freedom Day or Emancipation Day, it is an American holiday that commemorates June 19, 1865. On this day, after almost two and half years since the implementation of the Emancipation Proclamation, enslaved African Americans were informed of their liberation from the slavery.

This event highlights the pursuit of civil rights and emancipation for people of African descent.

In light of recent events that highlight generations of similar struggles, this event welcomes all who are interested to improve knowledge about the struggle for civil rights.

We also invite you to add reference material, images and other entries to Wikimedia projects on the subject.

All are welcome.

Our Speaker[edit]

Dr. Alexandria Lockett is an Assistant Professor of English at Spelman College in Atlanta, Georgia. She specializes in professional writing and technical communication with an emphasis on access and equity. Lockett is committed to expanding Wikipedia engagement among culturally diverse editors. For at least a decade, she has taught college writing with Wikipedia and conducted faculty development workshops at various institutions about integrating Wikipedia editing with writing and research across the disciplines. Her professional service includes a major focus on Wikipedia, as well. She serves on the CCCC special executive committee on Wikipedia (2018-current). Additionally, she is a consultant and technical writer for the Wiki Education Foundation (2015-current).

Lockett’s interest in Wikipedia is reflected in her overall research agenda, which focuses on the history and technological politics of race, information, and digital labor. Her work has appeared in Composition Studies, Enculturation, and Praxis, as well as several book chapters in edited collections such as Wikipedia@20: An Incomplete Revolution (Eds. Joseph Reagle and Jackie Koerner), Humans at Work in the Digital Age (Eds. Andrew Pilsch and Shawna Ross), Black Perspectives in Writing Program Administration (Eds. Staci Perryman-Clark and Collin Craig). Out in the Center: Public Controversies and Private Struggles (Eds. Harry Denny, Anna Sicari, et al), and Bad Ideas about Writing(Eds. Cheryl Ball and Drew Loewe). She also co-edited the book Learning from the Lived Experience of Graduate Student Writers (Eds. Shannon Madden, Michele Eodice, and Kirsten Edwards).

An extended biography and a more detailed list of publications is available via her portfolio or her CV here.


Some Results from our Audience Survey[edit]

Check out the resulte of our audience survey (click and scroll)

Tools and templates[edit]

External links[edit]

Languages other than English[edit]

  • You can also contribute in Wikipedia language editions in Spanish, French, Haitian Creole, Yoruba, Garifuna and other languages!
  • We plan to have a Hausa translator during the Friday gathering.

Task list[edit]

  • Improve Juneteenth Wikidata item Juneteenth (Q6312521)
    • Add image
    • Add descriptions for other languages
    • Add more external identifiers
  • Create Wikidata item for "General Order No. 3": Turns out there are several "General Order No. 3". It appears that Q19043018 was created in 2015 and has to do with the Purple Heart. There were several others created today (June 19 2020)

The three above are brand new items. I suggest we focus on the first Q96465237 and delete the last two. Gabrielaltay (talk) 00:36, 20 June 2020 (UTC)Reply[reply]

For further inspiration[edit]

See also:

Resources[edit]

These resources are from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, with whom we partnered for our Black Life Matters editathon previously.

These magazines are from Google Books magazine collection. Please link directly to these resources when citing.

The following Google Drive folder sharing 2 articles not available from the Google Books archive of Ebony. The 1951 article appears to be the earliest mention of Juneteenth in Ebony. Please note copyright statement on the last page of each article.Don not link to this folder when citing. Citation information is included in a separate document.

Open Access References[edit]

Definition of Open Access[1]

  • Google Scholar
  • Open Library
  • Directory of Open Access Journals : "The Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that indexes high quality, peer reviewed Open Access research journals, periodicals and their articles' metadata. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access academic journals that use an appropriate quality control system (see below for definitions) and is not limited to particular languages or subject areas. The Directory aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access academic journals—regardless of size and country of origin—thereby promoting their visibility, usage and impact."
  • University of California Santa Barbara's list of Free Publicly, Accessible Databases

References

  1. ^ "Open Access: What is it and why should we have it?". OASIS: Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook. September 11, 2009. Retrieved 5 March 2017. Open Access provides the means to maximise the visibility, and thus the uptake and use, of research outputs. Open Access is the immediate, online, free availability of research outputs without the severe restrictions on use commonly imposed by publisher copyright agreements. It is definitely not vanity publishing or self-publishing, nor about the literature that scholars might normally expect to be paid for, such as books for which they hope to earn royalty payments. It concerns the outputs that scholars normally give away free to be published – peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers and datasets of various kinds.

Partners / Supporters[edit]

Results[edit]

Feel free to showcase your contributions here! New and improved articles include: