Wikipedia:Peer review/Dolphin (emulator)/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Dolphin (emulator)[edit]

After years of work on Dolphin (emulator) (with long breaks, admittedly), I've run out of ideas how to improve the article – other than keeping up with new developments. I've reduced the number of primary sources as much as I could and I standardized all references on a unified format. All Citation Neededs are now gone as well.

I'm pretty sure the article is overall of OK quality but I'm also not a native English speaker, so I'd like to request that the article's language comes under special scrutiny.

Thanks, KAMiKAZOW (talk) 00:51, 3 July 2017 (UTC)

Comments from Anarchyte

From just a quick look over the article I've noticed the following:

  • The lead is incredibly short and should be expanded to summarise the whole article.
  • Reception could be expanded, too.
  • There's no source at the end of this sentence: By the end of November 2010, the developers fixed most of the sound issues (such as crackling), added compatibility with more games, and increased the overall emulation speed and accuracy.
  • No source here: Two kinds of network play are supported by Dolphin: Emulated local multiplayer and Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection. The first only works among Dolphin users. It applies to games that by default have no online option.
  • No source given here, either: Its expansions, such as MotionPlus adapter, Nunchuk, Classic controller, Guitar, Drums, and Turntable, are also supported.
  • You have a source for the first part of this sentence but none for the end: The developers decided to revive the project in 2005[16] and then in 2007 version 1.03 was released with minor improvements and basic sound support.

This is just from a first glance, and I hope this helps! Anarchyte (work | talk) 04:26, 11 July 2017 (UTC)

Thanks a lot, Anarchyte. I’ve added the appropriate templates. Hopefully I’ll find the time in the coming days to fix those issues. --KAMiKAZOW (talk) 00:43, 12 July 2017 (UTC)

Some passing comments:

  • Ultra-excessive use of primary sources. An occasional primary source (self-published about self) is good for filling in details, but if a section is entirely primary sources? If a secondary source doesn't report the information, it likely isn't needed in the article. Remember that we write for a general audience. Readers need the gist, not the details of every update.
  • Related, there are plenty of unreliable sources here. The sites should have a pedigree for editorial credibility or fact-checking. Cross-reference the list at WP:VG/RS and replace the primary sources mentioned above with hits in the video game reliable sources custom Google search.
  • Remove the dateline ("On 1 July 2017, X", etc.) The prose should flow between sentences, not appear like a list written as a paragraph.

Godspeed! I am no longer watching this pageping if you'd like a response czar 21:48, 24 July 2017 (UTC)

Czar: Which “plenty of unreliable sources“? There are three or so references using Android Police. A single WP editor found Android Police unreliable for gaming reviews based on a “first impression”. That's it. I did not use AP for a video game review. Dolphin is A) not a game and B) AP did not review Dolphin – the references only back up system requirements of Dolphin on Android. I see that a single YouTube video was added as a source by somebody. I’ll look into it. Maybe I can replace it or maybe the info isn’t that important. Maybe I'm missing something but I see no other allegedly unreliable sources (aside from your complaint about primary ones) used. --KAMiKAZOW (talk) 02:14, 25 July 2017 (UTC)

Here's a few offhand:

czar 04:19, 25 July 2017 (UTC)

AP shouldn't be used for facts
Wikipedia_talk:WikiProject_Video_games/Sources/Archive_12#Android_Police says AP is not reliable for video games “simply because they cover pretty much everything Android related, including wearables and stuff.” That's a stupid reason. All the other URLs you listed are not on Wikipedia:WikiProject_Video_games/Sources#Checklist at all and considering that WP:VG considers sites that cover more than just games unreliable by default, makes the list only partially usable for articles that are not only rooted in a single topic. SmashLadder is not a primary source from Dolphin.
But, again, version histories are better suited for other wikis
–The page clearly says “Common sense must be applied with regard to the level of detail to be included.” Given Dolphins almost 15 years of development history, the amount of changes listed is very moderate and backed up by 3rd party sources wherever possible.
That said, I agree that sources can be improved. I began revising them last night and will continue to improve them. --KAMiKAZOW (talk) 11:42, 25 July 2017 (UTC)