Wikipedia:Peer review/Flag of Germany/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Flag of Germany[edit]

Article (Edit|History) • Article talk (Edit|History) • Watch articleWatch peer review

For the last few months I've been busy with this article. Before I started in July the article looked like this and now it looks like this. In working on this article, I've drawn on a number of articles that can now possibly be merged into this one (see various mergefrom requests now in the article) plus a number of articles from the German wiki, and various other sources, while at the same time trying to provide as many supporting references as possible. I am very interested in getting this article up to GA (or even FA?) standard so I would appreciate it if anyone could proofread it and/or expand/clarify any points that may need attention. After working on this for the last few months, I really need some fresh eyes on this article. Thanks - 52 Pickup (talk) 14:14, 3 January 2008 (UTC)

  • A script has been used to generate a semi-automated review of the article for issues relating to grammar and house style. If you would find such a review helpful, please click here. Thanks, APR t 01:24, 5 January 2008 (UTC)
Done Thanks. Now nominating it as a GA - 52 Pickup (deal) 10:00, 10 January 2008 (UTC)
  • A quite nice article. A minor point: Do you need to use {{main}}? It is usually used for subarticles (like {{main|Flag of the Holy Roman Empire}} instead of {{main|Holy Roman Empire}}. Your usage of {{main}} makes it appear as if articles like Holy Roman Empire are only about the flag. Perhaps you could link to these articles from within the text instead. Kusma (talk) 15:50, 23 January 2008 (UTC)
Alright. What about different templates (eg, {{seealso}}) or would just linking within the text, as you suggest, be enough? - 52 Pickup (deal) 19:26, 23 January 2008 (UTC)
I personally prefer linking from within the text; I feel the large history articles are too big / too different in scope for a "see also". Kusma (talk) 07:17, 24 January 2008 (UTC)
Done - 52 Pickup (deal) 09:43, 24 January 2008 (UTC)
  • Another point: you should mention the name of the "same designer" in the image captions for the post-WW2 Nordic Cross flag suggestions. The article Josef Wirmer makes no mention of his flag designing activities. Could you try to research the name of the brother who proposed the flag to the CDU? How did the CDU react to this proposal; why is it a notable proposal? (I have never heard of it before, so I'm curious). Kusma (talk) 07:17, 24 January 2008 (UTC)
In an earlier draft I wrote a lot more about this, but then I trimmed it since the article was getting very long. I'll see what I can do about restoring this information. - 52 Pickup (deal) 09:43, 24 January 2008 (UTC)
Done (I think). His brother Ernst (no en-wiki article, but see de:Ernst Wirmer) was a CDU member of the Parlamentarischer Rat, later an advisor to chancellor Adenauer, and then an important figure in the formation of the West German defence ministry. So it was a proposal from within the CDU. There were many other proposals (see FOTW) but I believe that this one is the only notable one since it had the backing of the CDU/CSU. - 52 Pickup (deal) 12:44, 30 January 2008 (UTC)