Wikipedia:Peer review/New York State Route 32/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

New York State Route 32[edit]

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because I'm preparing it for FAC and need some listed errors and grammar fixes. I need it majorly reviewed here so I am not bugged with problems at FAC.


Thanks, Mitch32contribs 22:57, 20 May 2008 (UTC)

Comments from Ealdgyth (talk · contribs)

  • Please spell out abbreviations in the references, at least the first time they are used.
You said you were wanting FAC soon, and I just looked at sources like I would have at FAC. I did not look over the prose. Sources look fine though. Ealdgyth - Talk 15:47, 22 May 2008 (UTC)

Finetooth comments: I've completed a copyedit that concentrated on issues related to WP:NBSP, metric conversions, punctuation, and prose flow, and I left a note on the main contributor's talk page about WP:NOR questions that crossed my mind when I read about nice views from the roadway. Finetooth (talk) 21:04, 22 May 2008 (UTC)

  • Done - They have been removed, thanks for the copyedit.Mitch32contribs 14:07, 29 May 2008 (UTC)

Ruhrfisch comments: I agree with Ealdgyth and Finetooth's comments above. Here are a few more suggestions for improvement:

  • A model article is often useful for ideas to follow on style, refs, structure, etc. I note that there are several FAs that are highway articles, including Chickasaw Turnpike and M-35 (Michigan highway).
  • The lead should be an accessible and inviting overview of the whole article - compared to the models mentioned, this seems to be too detailed in the lead. Please see WP:LEAD
  • I would also include general information about directions in the lead - identify the northern and southern termini and say it is a north-sout highway.
  • There are numerous short (two sentence) paragraphs that should either be combined with other paragraphs or expanded to improve the flow of the article.
  • One or two pictures of signs would be OK, but I really don't see what five of them add to the article.
  • Also make sure image widths are set to thumb per WP:MOS#Images to allow user preferences to set image sizes.

Hope this helps. If my comments are useful, please consider peer reviewing an article, especially one at Wikipedia:Peer review/backlog (which is how I found this article). Yours, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 17:35, 26 May 2008 (UTC)

  • Done - Wow that was a lot, I hope it conforms to your standards. Thanks again!Mitch32contribs 14:07, 29 May 2008 (UTC)

Comments from Awadewit I've never peer reviewed a road article before, so I feel a bit at sea here. Overall, I felt the article had a lot of detail but that the choice of images could be better.

  • I wasn't sure if the article was missing anything on major improvements to the road or construction projects over the years.
  • The map of the route should identify the road in some way - either with a sign for the road or a caption indicating that the road is the red line.
  • If the route runs by the Catskill Mountains, why not include some beautiful pictures from that area of the road? The current picture is hard to make out.
  • Why not include an image of Schunemunk Mountain or the road going by it since you can say something significant about that image?
  • I'm not sure what the images of the signs add. One, perhaps, but three? What is interesting or exceptional about these signs? One of the first signs might be interesting, for example. What about a picture of Albany or the terminus instead?
  • Could you get some historical images from the nineteenth century for the "Old Roads" section? The New York Historical Society might have some relevant images.
  • I would doublecheck whether all of the redlinks can be made into articles. For example, I have my doubts about the elementary school.
  • Farther north, NY 32 shares a routing with U.S. Route 4 from Waterford (north of Albany) to Stillwater (southeast of Saratoga Springs) - I find the phrase "shares a routing" slightly awkward.
  • This is the commercial strip north of the city, featuring the Mid-Valley Mall and another large shopping plaza built around a supermarket anchor. - Starting a section with "this" is confusing - what is the "this" referring to?
  • At what seems to be a conventional four-way intersection regulated by a traffic light, both highways turn, and it is necessary to turn to the right to stay on NY 32 headed north. - This sentence suggests that such a design is unusual - is this true?
  • From Rosendale, 32 climbs up out of the Rondout valley and veers east into the hidden hamlet of Maple Hill, where it crosses over the Thruway once again. - Why is it "hidden"?
  • It thus has the interchange with NY 199 immediately east of the Kingston-Rhinecliff Bridge, after which it passes Kingston-Ulster Airport. - awkward wording

I hope these suggestions are helpful. Awadewit (talk) 15:41, 31 May 2008 (UTC)

  • Mostly done - Thanks a lot Awadewit, helped a lot.Mitch32contribs 12:21, 1 June 2008 (UTC)