Wikipedia:Peer review/Nobel Prize/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Nobel Prize[edit]

(more info)

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've worked on this article for a while now and have nominated it to FA two times, which it has failed once; the second time I withdrew it since many users suggested it should be peer reviewed first. The article has several problems I believe, the biggest would probably be prose and some inconsistency in expressions. I'm bad at reviewing things myself and would need help in finding the problems.

I would be grateful for any help, thanks, Esuzu (talkcontribs) 21:37, 3 April 2010 (UTC)

Quick comment - the reason the bot closed this originally was because it was still listed at FAC at the time. The PR bot will archive anything that is also listed at FAC. This PR is now on the PR backlog, so someone should get to it in the next several days. Ruhrfisch ><>°° 00:23, 8 April 2010 (UTC)

Brianboulton comments: I must apologise for the time taken to get to this review, but there is something of a logjam in Peer Review at the moment. Here are some comments on the lead which you might like to consider.

No need to apologise. I'm just happy there are people who do peer reviews! Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:16, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
  • Lead
    • The first sentence as now written implies a single annual Nobel prize. Should it not begin: "Nobel Prizes (Swedish: Nobelpriset) are annual international awards bestowed by..."? The plural would then need to be continued in the subsequent sentences: "The awards were established...", "They were first awarded in 1901..." etc.
      Good catch. Fixed it. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:03, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
    • "Scandinavia" should be "Scandinavian", and I don't think the link is necessary.
      Done. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:03, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
    • Personally, I would prefer to see the sentence "The Nobel Prizes in the specific disciplines are widely regarded as the most prestigious award one can receive" plced immediately after the listing of the main disciplines and before the information about the associated prize.
      Wouldn't that imply that only the main disciplines are regarded as "most prestigious award one can receive"? Economics is also highly regarded. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:06, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
    • Mention of the "Nobel prize in Economics" is a little confusing bearing in mind that you go on to say that this is not a Nobel prize. I suggest you amend thIs sentence to "Although this is not technically a Nobel Prize, its winners are announced with the Nobel Prize recipients, and iit s presented at the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony."
      Changed. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:09, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
    • "presented a gold medal" should read "presented with a gold medal"
      Changed. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:16, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
    • It is not usual to talk about a "quantity" of money. Rather than saying "a varying quantity of money" I would say "a sum of money that varies from year to year depending on the annual income of the Nobel Foundation."
      Changed from "quantity" to "sum" but I didn't merge the two sentences it would be too messy then I think. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:16, 15 April 2010 (UTC)
    • "Critics of the Nobel Prize note that the committees sometimes choose poor candidates (such as the failure to award a Nobel Peace Prize for Mahatma Gandhi)..." The "such as" is inappropriate; the failure to award a Peace Prize to Gandhi doesn't of itself mean that "poor" candidates were chosen. This paragraph needs to be simplified and rewritten along the lines: "Criticisms of the Nobel Prize awarding bodies have included the failure to award the Peace Prize to Mahatma Gandhi and other high-profile candidates; the application of a strict rule against a prize being shared among more than three people; and the prohibition of posthumous awards."
      I changed it to what you suggested although I kept the part "which fails to recognise achievements by a collaborator who dies before the prize is awarded" since I think it is important to make it easier to understand. Esuzu (talkcontribs) 16:23, 15 April 2010 (UTC)

I will add more when I have a little more time. Brianboulton (talk) 23:21, 14 April 2010 (UTC)