Wikipedia:Peer review/Peace dollar/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Peace dollar[edit]

Toolbox
(more info)
This peer review discussion has been closed.

I've listed this article for peer review because… I'm planning to take it to FAC and would be grateful for feedback.

Thanks, Wehwalt (talk) 20:06, 3 April 2011 (UTC)

The citations to Burdette says 2005 and 2008, but in the Bibliography it says 2007 and 2008. Iusethis (talk) 06:56, 4 April 2011 (UTC)
Fixed, I used the data from one of his other books, and neglected to switch over completely.--Wehwalt (talk) 09:46, 4 April 2011 (UTC)
In some brief searching, I found an interview with Roger Burdette online (which I just now realized was in the external links). Anyway, the article contains a picture of the "broken sword" design, and other information worth including (e.g. the 1926 re-engraving of the word "God" for emphasis). I believe images of US currency are public domain, so shouldn't be a problem including that picture at least. Hope this helps, good luck!
Jds7813 (talk) 14:42, 11 April 2011 (UTC)
Hi there. I'm not involved in this article, but I just wanted to add a little something here. Failed coin designs aren't in the public domain unless the person who created it designed it while in the employment of the federal government. Since de Francisci was not a government employee, his design itself isn't in the public domain. Now, if we could prove that the photo of the broken sword design was published before 1923, we could use it anyway since the copyright had expired. That said, I doubt it was published before 1923, because the photos in that online article are the only ones I've seen of that design, so my feeling is that they are photos of the plaster model or galvano that were taken later. Wehwalt might know something else though.-RHM22 (talk) 15:55, 11 April 2011 (UTC)
Thanks for the clarification. Man, I think it'd be really cool to include the failed design. I don't really know much about image copyright regs, so I'll look into those and keep looking for another image. Jds7813 (talk) 04:24, 12 April 2011 (UTC)
I've seen print reproductions of them, but that's about it. I think if we could prove that any photograph of the broken sword model had been taken before 1923, we could then use any image of the models which had been properly licensed. If no image was published before 1923, then it is life plus seventy years, i believe, and de Francisci lived until 1964. Likely longer than 2034, with all those laws they've put in to ensure Mickey Mouse won't go out of copyright.--Wehwalt (talk) 15:58, 11 April 2011 (UTC)
I have to disagree. Since the photo appears to be of a plaster model, which is a three dimensional object, I believe that any photos taken would generate a new copyright, same as with coins.-RHM22 (talk) 16:02, 11 April 2011 (UTC)
I mean there would be no copyright in the model. And I said we could use any "properly licensed" image, that is, public domain, creative commons, that kinda thing.--Wehwalt (talk) 16:11, 11 April 2011 (UTC)
Oh, sorry. I misunderstood.-RHM22 (talk) 16:14, 11 April 2011 (UTC)
Comments by Chipmunkdavis

I want this coin...

  • Was the Pittman Act passed before or after the end of the First World War?
  • "The sculptor based the design for the obverse design of the bust of Liberty on the features of his wife, Teresa de Francisci.[23] Due to the short length of the competition, de Francisci lacked the time to hire a model with the features he envisioned for Liberty, and instead used his wife as model." Some redundancy here, could be reworded.
  • "Except in the West" A better description of what west was would be better if possible. Was it per state?

I'd say more, but, you know, if I can't find a fault... I can't comment on it. If I can say one thing, consider shifting the pictures around, evenly distributing them throughout the article. Consider moving the highest picture to the left, to balance the infobox. Chipmunkdavis (talk) 11:47, 8 April 2011 (UTC)

I've done those things. Many thinks for the work and praise.--Wehwalt (talk) 12:35, 8 April 2011 (UTC)