Wikipedia:Peer review/Tropical cyclone scales/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Tropical cyclone scales[edit]

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because, I could do with some feedback about what needs to be done for this article to achieve FA status. Thanks, Jason Rees (talk) 07:26, 19 July 2009 (UTC)

Doing...

I see a red link, and a number of awkward grammatical structures of the form "between to the east of longitude 45°E and to the west of longitude 100°E", where I suspect "between longitudes 40°E and 100°E" would read better. - Denimadept (talk) 21:03, 27 July 2009 (UTC)
Redlinks are allowed. –Juliancolton | Talk 21:12, 27 July 2009 (UTC)
I admit that I'm new to this peer-review thing. - Denimadept (talk) 21:16, 27 July 2009 (UTC)
So am i and you seem to be doing a good job :) Jason Rees (talk) 21:28, 27 July 2009 (UTC)

Ruhrfisch comments: I saw this was archived without many comments, so I reopened the PR and here are some more suggestions for improvement.

  • The {{convert}} template might be useful for the various units - if it is not used, then the MOS says a non-breaking space " " should be added between numbers and units, so "50 mph"
1) Its not usefull to use convert templates per this FAC - I will double check the nbsp; later.Jason Rees (talk) 20:58, 12 August 2009 (UTC)
If the official figures are limited to 5 km/h increments (I think that is what is meant) then there should be some sort of note mentioning this. Ruhrfisch ><>°° 19:49, 13 August 2009 (UTC)
  • Avoid WP:OVERLINKing - for example the Saffir-Simpson scale is linked twice in just the lead. Usually things are linked once each in the lead, infobox, and first time in the body of the article.
  • There are some places that could provide more context to the reader - for example although Reunion is part of France, it is in the Indian Ocean (not Europe) so in the lead In the Southern Hemisphere, the Météo-France forecast center on La Reunion in France... is a bit misleading for those unfamiliar with Reunion. Perhaps something like In the Southern Hemisphere, the French Météo-France forecast center on La Reunion in the Indian Ocean... might be clearer?
  • I would also identify the National Weather Service centers as such (or as branches of the US government) when first mentioning the National Hurricane Center and the other one
  • The headers are all by oceanic basin except for the last (Australia) - is there a name for this part of the ocean that could be used as the header here?
I feel its better to use Australia rather than saying the Southeast Indian Ocean and Southern Pacific Ocean.
OK, thanks Ruhrfisch ><>°° 19:49, 13 August 2009 (UTC)
  • Spell out abbreviations on first use followed by the abbreviation in parentheses - so as one example However if it forms to the north of 10°S and between 90°E to 125°E the low is labeled as a Tropical Depression by the Tropical Cyclone Warning Center (TCWC) in Jakarta, Indonesia.[18]

Hope this helps. If my comments are useful, please consider peer reviewing an article, especially one at Wikipedia:Peer review/backlog (which is how I found this article). I do not watch poeer reviews, so if you have questions or comments, please contact me on my talk page. Yours, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 20:36, 12 August 2009 (UTC)

Ok thanks - Im going to work through these bits & pieces bit by bit.Jason Rees (talk) 20:58, 12 August 2009 (UTC)