Page semi-protected

Wikipedia:Requests for permissions/New page reviewer

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Administrator instructions

New page reviewer

(add requestview requests)

User:Septrillion

I believe I meet the requirements and would like to tackle the backlog. \\\Septrillion:- ~~‭~~10Eleventeen 21:30, 11 July 2018 (UTC)
@Septrillion: You pass most of my checks with flying colors. The last thing I check is a users talkpage for how they interact with other editors, for concerns about WP:BITE on newbies. Could you direct me to a dispute you had or a long discussion you were involved in? This can be an RFC proposal, and AFD, an ANI. I'm looking for something that's at least a few sentences long and the more the better. -- Amanda (aka DQ) 21:16, 13 July 2018 (UTC)
Unfortunately I can't link to this, but I had an IRC conversation with Tarannum bagwan on #wikipedia-en-help about a declined draft. Operator873 complemented me for my "patience and willingness to work with" the helpee. \\\Septrillion:- ~~‭~~10Eleventeen 21:56, 13 July 2018 (UTC)
I witnessed @Septrillion: provide assistance to a user in the #wikipedia-en-help channel. Shortly thereafter, I provided them with feedback regarding their interaction with this new editor. Septrillion demonstrated a lot of patience and conducted him/herself in a professional manner. I am confident in Septrillion's ability and support granting New Page Reviewer. Operator873CONNECT 22:15, 13 July 2018 (UTC)
Thanks to you both. I got a copy of the log. This does clear any potential WP:BITE concerns, but what I am looking for is something where you actually descent, disagree, and discuss with someone (preferably onwiki). This is simply just another new page review, which i've already reviewed in other cases above. -- Amanda (aka DQ) 22:45, 13 July 2018 (UTC)
I'll see what else I can find. \\\Septrillion:- ~~‭~~10Eleventeen 21:58, 13 July 2018 (UTC)
Would this and that work? \\\Septrillion:- ~~‭~~10Eleventeen 00:02, 14 July 2018 (UTC)
If you are looking for participation in an RfC, see here. \\\Septrillion:- ~~‭~~10Eleventeen 00:24, 14 July 2018 (UTC)
Not done Some people may think i'm being a dick by declining your request, and I would accept that criticism. We often very much have one single chance with new editors to get it right, or they won't come back. I do get a fair amount of times we don't want their contribution. But for the times where we are fine with their content, and they just need to clean it up, that's what I worry we scare off the most. That's why I like to see articulation of your point of view in either disputes or RfCs, so that I know you can handle an absolutely frustrated person. Just like i'm articulating my reasoning now on why I don't think your ready for the perm yet, that's exactly what i'm looking for. A lot of what I see on your talkpages and the links that you have above is you are very commonly using one line responses. It makes it hard to understand how you articulate yourself. So i'd be happy to have you reapply in a bit. Some ideas as to where to get experience in articulating and/or explaining are the teahouse, the helpdesk, reference desk, and anything under "Articles and Content" at Template:Noticeboard links. -- Amanda (aka DQ) 16:22, 19 July 2018 (UTC)