Wikipedia:Update/1/Deletion policy changes, January 2010 to June 2010

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Deletion policy changes, June 2010



  • Wikipedia:Criteria for speedy deletion
    • Under the WP:CSD#G2 anchor, added: [This excludes ...] "pages that were created in error (see G6)."
    • Under the WP:CSD#G6 anchor, added: "This also includes pages unambiguously created in error and/or in the incorrect namespace."
    • Under the WP:CSD#A1 anchor, added: [Please do not mark the page as] "patrolled prior to that suitable delay passing, so that the wait does not result in the article escaping review at a later time."
    • In WP:CSD#Non-criteria, added: "a how-to list"




May 2010
  • Wikipedia:Criteria for speedy deletion
    • In WP:CSD#Criteria, added: "If a page falls under more than one of the criteria, instead of adding multiple tags it is possible to add a single {{db-multiple}} tag to cover them all. For example, if an article seems both to be promotional (G11) and also to fail to indicate significance of its subject (A7) then the tag {{Db-multiple|G11|A7}} can be used to indicate both of these concerns. Then the article can be speedily deleted if an administrator assesses it and decides that either or both of the criteria apply."
    • Under WP:CSD#G7, added: "Note that this does not apply to user talk pages, which are not deleted except under very exceptional circumstances: see WP:DELTALK."
    • Under WP:CSD#A1 and WP:CSD#A3, added footnote: "Consensus has developed that in most cases articles should not be tagged for deletion under this criterion moments after creation as the creator may be actively working on the content; though there is no set time requirement, a ten-minute delay before tagging under this criterion is suggested as good practice. Please do not mark the page as patrolled."
    • Under WP:CSD#F2, added: "This also includes empty (i.e., no content) image description pages for Commons images."
    • Under WP:CSD#Non-criteria, added: [User] "and user talk" [pages of IP addresses]. Added: "... and even for non-static IP addresses, the history can contain important discussions or information which may be of interest."



April 2010




March 2010
  • Wikipedia:Criteria for speedy deletion
    • Under the WP:CSD#A10 anchor, added: "It also does not include disambiguation pages. (When the new title is a reasonable term for the subject, converting the new article to a redirect may be preferable to deletion.)"
    • Under the WP:CSD#F7 anchor, added: "If the replaceability is disputed, the nominator should not be the one deleting the image."



February 2010



  • Wikipedia:Proposed deletion
    • In WP:PROD#Nominating, added: "To aid deletion sorting, indicating the article's general subject area or what notability guidelines it falls under is considered good practice." Changed: "Consider notifying the article's creator or significant contributors that you have proposed an article for deletion by adding the {{subst:PRODWarning|Name of Article‎}} tag to their talk page." to: "The article's creator or other significant contributors should ideally be left a message at their talk page(s) informing them of the proposed article deletion, except for cases where contributors are no longer regarded as active editors on Wikipedia. This should be done by adding the {{subst:PRODWarning|Name of Article‎}} tag, or other appropriate text. Prodding an article via Twinkle will automatically inform the article's creator."
January 2010



  • Wikipedia:Deletion policy
    • In WP:DEL#Courtesy blanking, changed: "From time to time, a discussion about an article will have a majority of its content that, in the judgment of the community or the Arbitration Committee, may potentially cause harm: for example, emotional distress, libel or invasion of privacy, to some person or to some organization. Due consideration should be given if the person or organization in question requests such blanking." to: "From time to time, a discussion about an article will have its content hidden from view based on the judgment of the community, administrator or other functionary. This is generally not done except under rare circumstances, where discussion may cause harm to some person or organisation. In more serious cases, the entire history of the page may be deleted."