Wikipedia:WikiProject Chicago/Review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Shortcuts:

The review department of the Chicago WikiProject is the project's main forum for conducting detailed reviews—both formal and informal—of particular articles and other content within its scope.

This department provides a convenient collection of Chicago content currently undergoing featured content reviews outside the project:

Several other discussion types use transclusion friendly discussion. Below you will also find external discussion for


External peer review[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

External peer reviews are controlled by a variety of external processes; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for external peer review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official general instructions or find the specific type of peer review instructions from the list of WikiProject peer reviews.

To transclude the general peer review discussions, add {{Wikipedia:Peer review/Name of article/archive1}} to the top of the list. To transclude a Wikiproject peer review discussion, follow the same procedure with its discussion page enclosed in brackets.

After the review is completed:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the PR candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
edit

Joseph Berrios[edit]

Benet Academy[edit]

Previous peer review

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because I would like to eventually nominate it for FA. This article has already had a peer review and recently passed GA. I would appreciate suggestions on how to make it more comprehensive and how to improve the prose.

Thanks, Benny the mascot (talk) 19:42, 7 March 2010 (UTC)

I am sorry this is taking me so long - will review in the next 24 hours. Sorry, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 02:02, 20 March 2010 (UTC)

No need to rush...I have other ways of keeping myself busy. :) Good luck on your FAC, by the way. Benny the mascot (talk) 03:15, 20 March 2010 (UTC)

Ruhrfisch comments: Thanks for being so understanding - this looks pretty good to me, so here are some mostly nit-picky suggestions for improvement.

  • One thing that is sometimes hard to do is to provide context to the reader about things the author is familiar with. I am fairly familiar with the Chicago area, but was not that sure where Lisle was. A brief description would help (x miles west of the Loop / downtown Chicago) or a map with a dot would help too.
  • I also was confused by mentions of the college, but no real resolution on what happened to it - it took me a little searching here, but I assume it is what is now known as Benedictine University in Lisle. The article mentions the university as the site of buildings The St. Procopius monks decided on March 12, 1900, to build a new college[20] on the site of present-day Benedictine University at the southwest corner of Maple and College Avenues.[12], and in terms of a scholarship at the academy, but I think it needs to explicitly say what happened to the college after the academy split. I realize that this article on the Academy, so it need not be a lot of detail, but some is needed.
  • The map is nice, but I am guessing the Census does not show buildings (only streets and water), so the source for those needs to be given explicitly - this will be checked at FAC.
    • I've already provided sourcing on the Commons page. Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)
  • The capitalization of College and Academy by themselves seems a bit odd, though it is done consistently as far as I can tell. The Wikipedia:MOS#Institutions says if it is the generic word (college, academy) by itself it should not be capitalized.
    • I fixed the ones I could find. Let me know if I missed any. Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)
  • The lead just seems sparse to me - especially the second and third paragraphs. My rule of thumb is to make sure every header is in the lead somehow - are Demographics and the Christmas Drive there?
    • I mentioned the Christmas Drive a little bit, but the Demographics section is already somewhat covered in the lead. ("Benet's average ACT test score has exceeded statewide and national averages, and more than 99 percent of students have gone on to college after graduation")
  • The language is decent but I noticed a few rough spots reading - I will try and come back and point some more out soon, here is one to start
    • Classes began on March 2, when Rev. Procopius Neuzil taught two remedial high school students in two small rooms at 704 Allport Street for four months. FOur months in one day? Wow that's concentrated teaching! Perhaps Classes began on March 2, and for the next four months Rev. Procopius Neuzil taught two remedial high school students in two small rooms at 704 Allport Street. would be better. I am also not sure students can be remedial - I thought classes were? Could be wrong
      • Sentence replaced with a small revision regarding the usage of "remedial". Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)

Hope this helps. If my comments are useful, please consider peer reviewing an article, especially one at Wikipedia:Peer review/backlog (which is how I found this article). I do not watch peer reviews, so if you have questions or comments, please contact me on my talk page. Yours, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 04:46, 22 March 2010 (UTC)

Thanks for your feedback! Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)
More from Ruhrfisch

I will try to point out language that needs work here, as well as any other issues that I notice

  • Lead It was founded in 1887 as the all-boys St. Procopius College and Academy by Benedictine monks in Chicago, who also operated the St. Joseph Bohemian Orphanage, which along with St. Procopius later moved to Lisle, approximately 25 miles (40 km) west of Chicago.[6] Could this sentence be split into two? As it is now it is quite long and complex - I would start the new sentence after the word orphanage. Also could the year(s) for the move(s) to Lisle be added to provide context?
  • Capitalization of college? The orphanage closed in 1956 to make room for St. Procopius Academy, which then separated from the College in 1957. (In Internet Explorer you can search for a word and it highlights all the matching terms in yellow - might be worth checking caps on college and academy this way)
  • Tweak sentence Sacred Heart merged with St. Procopius Academy in 1967 on the St. Procopius campus to establish Benet Academy [on the St. Procopius campus].
  • Also, any idea where the name "Benet" came from? a ha - here it says Benet is an English form of Benedict
  • Unclear Benet's performing arts program stages multiple musicals ... I think it would be clearer to say Benet's performing arts program stages a musical annually... perhaps saying since when
  • Need to be consistent on names - in the text it is "Reverend John Nepomucene Jaeger of the Order of St. Benedict..." but the image caption is just "Abbot Nepomucene Jaeger" (no John). I also wonder since St John of Nepomuk is not well known in the US, if a link would be in order?
  • Suggested reoganization Reverend John Nepomucene Jaeger of the Order of St. Benedict was the pastor of the parish[.] , which served approximately 16,000 to 20,000 parishioners. Chicago at that time had the largest Czech population of any other city in the world outside of Prague and Vienna. Roughly 50,000 Czech immigrants were served by the three Czech parishes of Chicago, which included [16,000 to 20,000 parishioners at] St. Procopius.
  • The source says they were teaching high school classes then, so I would clarify that in Only a two-year [high school] program was offered at the time; the college offered its first four-year high school program in 1904.[9]
  • Might flow more smoothly as The first Bohemian abbot in the United States, Abbot Jaeger[, the first Bohemian abbot in the United States,] founded a Bohemian monastic community in 1894...
  • What does better atmosphere mean? The college and academy continued to grow in Chicago; in 1896 the Abbey bought the 104-acre (42 ha) Morris Neff farm in Lisle to gain more space and a better atmosphere.[9] Cleaner air than in the city?
  • Since I am assuming that the present Benedictine University still is on the site because they are the re-named St Procopius College, I think that needs to be made clearer in this: The St. Procopius monks decided on March 12, 1900, to build a new college[21] on the site of present-day Benedictine University at the southwest corner of Maple and College Avenues.[13]
  • OK I am stopping the rough spots here. I think this would benefit from a copy edit before FAC. There are a few other things I noticed:
  • What makes Remembering Lisle a reliable source? See WP:RS
  • The alt text for the mascot should desribe it as a bird, not a redwing (there might be those who think of the Detroit Redwings or even Red Wing Shoes

Hope this helps, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 00:42, 25 March 2010 (UTC)

Thanks for your advice! I've fixed most of the issues you've brought up; I just need to get that copyedit completed. Benny the mascot (talk) 19:59, 27 March 2010 (UTC)

Featured article candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured article candidates are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To nominate an article for featured article status, or to comment on a nomination, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured article candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured article candidates/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is promoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Add the article to the project showcase;
edit

Featured article review[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured article reviews are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured article review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured article removal candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured article review/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is demoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FAR candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Move the article to the delisted section of the project showcase;
edit

Featured list candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured lists are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured list candidacy, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured list candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured list candidates/Name of candidate list}} to the top of the list.

If the article is promoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Add the article to the project showcase;
edit

Featured list removal candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured list removals are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured list removal candidacy, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured list removal candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured list removal candidates/Name of candidate list}} to the top of the list.

If the article is demoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Move the article to the delisted section at project showcase;
edit

Non-article featured content candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Non-article featured content candidates are controlled by one of several external processes, depending on the type of content; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To nominate something for featured status, or to comment on a nomination, you must follow the appropriate official instructions:

To transclude the non-article featured content candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured picture candidates/Name of candidate picture}}, {{Wikipedia:Featured portal candidates/Name of candidate portal}}, {{Wikipedia:Featured topic candidates/Name of candidate topic}}, or {{Wikipedia:Featured sound candidates/Name of candidate sound}} to the top of the list.

If the article is promoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Add the article to the project showcase;
edit

Good article reassessment[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Good article reassessments are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured article review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the good article reassessment candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Good article reassessment/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is demoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the GAR candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Move the article to the delisted section of the project showcase;
edit

Articles for deletion[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Articles for deletion discussions are controlled by external processes; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for article for deletion review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the articles for deletion discussions, add {{Wikipedia:Articles for deletion/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is deleted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the AFD candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
edit


Illinois[edit]

Alaska Quake[edit]

Alaska Quake (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Alaska Quake" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)
Bluff City Reign (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views)
Chattanooga Steamers (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views)
Chicago Rockstars (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views)
Colorado Springs Crusaders (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views)

These are all defunct ABA basketball teams. Over the last few months, they were redirected to List of former American Basketball Association teams. Last week, Natg 19 (talk · contribs) nominated them for deletion at RFD. See: Wikipedia:Redirects for discussion/Log/2015 April 25#Colorado Springs Crusaders. It was decided there that AFD would be a better place to decide whether they are notable or not. I believe all of these teams to fail WP:ORG, rendering them non-notable. Tavix | Talk  05:29, 5 May 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Basketball-related deletion discussions. Tavix | Talk  05:44, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Organizations-related deletion discussions. Tavix | Talk  05:44, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Alaska-related deletion discussions. North America1000 09:52, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Tennessee-related deletion discussions. North America1000 09:52, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. North America1000 09:52, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Colorado-related deletion discussions. North America1000 09:52, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
  • Delete if they fail WP:GNG and WP:ORG, they should be deleted.--TonyTheTiger (T / C / WP:FOUR / WP:CHICAGO / WP:WAWARD) 14:35, 5 May 2015 (UTC)
  • Delete all All the teams pretty much either played a few games or no games in an amazingly unstable basketball league (and at least with the Quake, had a pretty tone-deaf team name, and the article says it all that it was a top-20 team with only a 4-2 record). Delete all, but after this redirect Alaska Quake to 1964 Alaska earthquake as a plausible redirect. Nate (chatter) 16:44, 5 May 2015 (UTC)

Robert Breuler[edit]

Robert Breuler (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Robert Breuler" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Accomplishments don`t satisfy WP:ACTOR. Clarityfiend (talk) 08:09, 4 May 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. ― Padenton|   08:40, 4 May 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Actors and filmmakers-related deletion discussions. ― Padenton|   08:41, 4 May 2015 (UTC)

Keep:- Subject of the article meet WP:GNG and passes WP:NACTOR#3. He had made unique, prolific and innovative contributions to a field of entertainment which earned him the Joseph Jefferson Award per this source. He is a receiver of American Top Acting Award per this Chicago Tribune. He is one of the 10 America's Top Stage Actors Selected For the Lunt-Fontanne Fellowship Program per this source. I also found other RS like this one, this one, American theater magzine, this Cambridge Guide to American Theatre, this, this, this and this one, to mention few. Wikigyt@lk to M£ 20:46, 4 May 2015 (UTC)

  • Reply. You need more than passing mentions. Also, the fellowship and the Joseph Jefferson Award appear to be fairly minor; the award is a local one and winners are chosen by a volunteer non-profit committee. Clarityfiend (talk) 21:07, 4 May 2015 (UTC)
Am aware that notability requires more than a passing mention but that is not the case in the sources provided above. You mean Joseph Jefferson Award is a minor award simply because its winners are often chosen by a volunteer non-profit committee? I want to let you know that over 70% notable award winners are often chosen by a volunteer non-profit committee. For example see see this, this and this one, unrelated to the subject of the article under discussion but provide valuable information related to your claim. Another example is the Academy Awards in which the Special Academy Awards are voted on by special committees, rather than by the Academy membership as a whole. Wikigyt@lk to M£ 22:04, 4 May 2015 (UTC)

Column Technologies[edit]

Column Technologies (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Column Technologies" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Non-notable company that fails WP:GNG and WP:CORP. 1 or 2 good sources, but not sufficiently many. Joseph2302 (talk) 14:46, 29 April 2015 (UTC)

  • Keep. I'm the paid editor that created this article. Column Technologies is indeed notable for its case management software, which is being used to help countries deal with human trafficking. One reason I believed this company merited notability is because of the recognition it received for its work. At the time I wrote it, I had included a full section explaining what is case management as this page, Case_management, did not explain it nor have any bearing on it. Hence, the "What is Case Management" section that was deleted gave context to the company and its work and thus helped to show its notability. Perhaps we could address this situation on the Talk page versus deleting this article outright. I propose reinstating the deleted section for discussion purposes and then having the article revised based on feedback. Djhuff (talk) 22:10, 29 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 12:26, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Business-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 12:26, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Software-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 12:26, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
  • Comment: The "What is Case Management" section was a general introduction to Case Management, it was not directly linked to the company, and so had little relevance to the article- it should instead be at an article on Case Management. Similarly for the "Timothy Yario" biography in the Company History section- the only relevant facts are those related to the company, and that one fact (the founding date) was using LinkedIn, an unreliable source. Joseph2302 (talk) 12:42, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Yes, I originally thought so too, but if you read the existing Case Management article and then read up on how Case Management software is being used, they're two totally different things. Which is why I included it in the Column Tech article -- to give context to what the company is doing. Djhuff (talk) 16:37, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
If people want to learn about Case Management, then they'd go to the Case Management article. If they want to learn about Column Technologies, they go to the Column Technologies and don't want it full of things that aren't directly relevant. Joseph2302 (talk) 16:42, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
You're not understanding what I'm saying. Two types of case management exist and the existing page has absolutely nothing to do with the case management Column Technologies provides -- which is why they're notable. This is why I've proposed not deleting the article and instead, figuring out how best to communicate "what is case management," the section that was deleted. I do believe people should have an understanding of the two different types, yes? Djhuff (talk) 20:58, 3 May 2015 (UTC)
  • Can't decide. I did enough editing and trimming-down of this article to have a vested interest, but l will let the WP:Community make the final decision as to whether this outfit is WP:Notable or not. BeenAroundAWhile (talk) 04:56, 1 May 2015 (UTC)

Restaurantware[edit]

Restaurantware (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Restaurantware" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Non-notable company. Very little independent coverage, and most of it is from other organisations in the industry. Fails WP:GNG and WP:CORP Joseph2302 (talk) 13:51, 29 April 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Food and drink-related deletion discussions. North America1000 10:04, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Business-related deletion discussions. North America1000 10:04, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. North America1000 10:05, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
  • Delete – Source searches are not providing independent significant coverage in reliable sources. Lots of primary source press releases out there, but does not meet WP:CORPDEPTH. North America1000 10:08, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
  • Keep. After doing some serious editing, I am persuaded that this company is Notable. You can't buy editorial space in Inc., and HuffPo has seen fit to give some column space to the firm's co-founder. Kitchn is a product of the http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/team. Sincerely, BeenAroundAWhile (talk) 04:24, 1 May 2015 (UTC)
Comment - Huffington Post does have many non-paid contributors and bloggersAusLondonder (talk) 06:36, 1 May 2015 (UTC)
  • Delete - whilst the company has received some mentions in sources, the sources are not specifically about this company. It does not seem to pass the test as notable. AusLondonder (talk) 06:36, 1 May 2015 (UTC)

Harding Band Building[edit]

Harding Band Building (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Harding Band Building" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

non notable building on a college campus. Redirect to the school is a perfectly acceptable out come for me. John from Idegon (talk) 05:27, 30 April 2015 (UTC)

Building was first designated college/university building for a band. Could possibly use more references? Dreeter2 (talk) 06:29, 30 April 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Schools-related deletion discussions. North America1000 07:30, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. North America1000 07:31, 30 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Music-related deletion discussions. North America1000 07:31, 30 April 2015 (UTC)

Arthur Dixon Elementary School[edit]

Arthur Dixon Elementary School (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Arthur Dixon Elementary School" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Primary school without clear notability. Jacona (talk) 01:31, 25 April 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:42, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Schools-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:42, 25 April 2015 (UTC)

School is a rare Level 1 public school on the south side of Chicago and was the focus of a documentary, The Curators of Dixon School (2012), because of the school's unique art focused learning environment. There are lots of reliable secondary sources about both the school and the documentary that can be used to expand this page. Kausticgirl (talk) 01:44, 25 April 2015 (UTC)

  • Weak Delete The fact that the movie may be notable does not make the school notable onless there are WP:RS unrelated to the movie. If you can present WP:RS regarding the educational philosophy/system ping me.--TonyTheTiger (T / C / WP:FOUR / WP:CHICAGO / WP:WAWARD) 13:32, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Keep The school has one of the largest collections of African art of the Diaspora outside of a museum and uses that artwork as part of its educational curriculum. Since 1998 they have also hosted an annual art fair call the "Cultural Coonection African Marketplace and Bazaar" where students are able to sell their own artwork while also hosting workshops for the public. Given that the school is also academically successful and not a magnet or charter school I vote Keep since academically-successful, art-based public schools in the inner-city are rare.
  1. http://www.chicagoreader.com/chicago/diasporal-rhythms-south-side-art-collectors-logan-center/Content?oid=11178567
  2. https://arts.uchicago.edu/logan-center/logan-center-exhibitions/archive/diasporal-rhythms-ten-year-love-affair-collecting-art
  3. http://chicago.cbslocal.com/2012/11/15/new-film-looks-at-arts-influence-on-dixon-elementary-school-students/#.UThK45LK3SA.facebook
  4. http://thechicagocitizen.com/news/2012/mar/06/cultural-connections-african-marketplace-and/

Jhurlburt (talk) 20:29, 25 April 2015 (UTC)

Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Davewild (talk) 17:53, 3 May 2015 (UTC)

Lightology[edit]

Lightology (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Lightology" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Not notable. It won an award in 2005, and it built a new, pretty large showroom. That's about it. BeenAroundAWhile (talk) 23:10, 24 April 2015 (UTC)

Delete - considering its presentation along with Tech Lighting, this appears to be advertising. The references appear to be glorified press releases.--Rpclod (talk) 00:06, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Keep The current WP:RS indicate is passes WP:GNG.--TonyTheTiger (T / C / WP:FOUR / WP:CHICAGO / WP:WAWARD) 13:43, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:16, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Business-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:16, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Confused (me). I don't understand Tony's conclusion that this article passes WP:GNG. There are no independent, reliable sources indicating this firm's Notability. Which are they? BeenAroundAWhile (talk) 14:15, 25 April 2015 (UTC)


Delete - Seems to be part of an aggrandising network of articles with self-created sources in violation of WP:PROMOTION Bdbdd (talk) 02:37, 1 May 2015 (UTC)
  • Merge to Gregory Kay - between the three subjects (Lightology, Tech Lighting, and Gregory Kay) there does appear to be some notability, but not enough for three articles. Normally when we discount "local" sources, we are talking about small-town newspapers, not something like the Chicago Tribune. The reason is that such papers are indiscriminate - they literally cover all businesses within the town at some point. The Tribune (and other Chicago-based sources) is a different story entirely. It most certainly does not cover every business and in depth coverage by the publication of a Chicago business carries implication of notability as in depth coverage of any other subject would. Additionally, there are multiple trade publications covering some combination of Lightology/Tech Lighting/Gregory Kay in depth, and trade publications that meet the RS guidelines (e.g. have editorial control) are perfectly valid reliable, secondary sources. Thus, notability has been established by indepth coverage both locally and in trade publications. However 3 articles are overkill. The most natural place to cover all 3 subjects in one article is Gregory Kay. Thus, I am suggesting all three be merged together at that title and will volunteer to do so (and clean up promotional language) if the AfD consensus accepts the idea. --ThaddeusB (talk) 17:45, 1 May 2015 (UTC)

Gregory Kay[edit]

Gregory Kay (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Gregory Kay" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

He is a businessman with a factory and a retail store. He has one article about him from his local newspaper. He is not Notable at all. I attempted to clean up the article by removing all the puff, but when I did, there was nothing left. You can check the Edit summary. BeenAroundAWhile (talk) 23:03, 24 April 2015 (UTC)

Delete - considering its presentation along with Lightology and Tech Lighting, this appears to be self-promotion.--Rpclod (talk) 00:12, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of United States of America-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:14, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:14, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Businesspeople-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 01:14, 25 April 2015 (UTC)
  • Keep - between the three subjects (Lightology, Tech Lighting, and Gregory Kay) there does appear to be some notability, but not enough for three articles. Normally when we discount "local" sources, we are talking about small-town newspapers, not something like the Chicago Tribune. The reason is that such papers are indiscriminate - they literally cover all businesses within the town at some point. The Tribune (and other Chicago-based sources) is a different story entirely. It most certainly does not cover every business and in depth coverage by the publication of a Chicago business carries implication of notability as in depth coverage of any other subject would. Additionally, there are multiple trade publications covering some combination of Lightology/Tech Lighting/Gregory Kay in depth, and trade publications that meet the RS guidelines (e.g. have editorial control) are perfectly valid reliable, secondary sources. Thus, notability has been established by indepth coverage both locally and in trade publications. However 3 articles are overkill. The most natural place to cover all 3 subjects in one article is Gregory Kay. Thus, I am suggesting all three be merged together at that title and will volunteer to do so (and clean up promotional language) if the AfD consensus accepts the idea. --ThaddeusB (talk) 17:44, 1 May 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Natg 19 (talk) 00:21, 2 May 2015 (UTC)

Douglas Wojtowicz[edit]

Douglas Wojtowicz (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Douglas Wojtowicz" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

I'm not sure if being a part of the team (ghostwriting team?) behind a couple of characters is sufficient for independent notability. Ricky81682 (talk) 09:05, 22 April 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 17:16, 23 April 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Authors-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 17:16, 23 April 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Natg 19 (talk) 00:37, 30 April 2015 (UTC)

Proposed deletions (WP:PROD)[edit]

Good article discussions[edit]

Archives[edit]

Peer review
A-Class review