Wikipedia:WikiProject Chicago/Review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Shortcuts:

The review department of the Chicago WikiProject is the project's main forum for conducting detailed reviews—both formal and informal—of particular articles and other content within its scope.

This department provides a convenient collection of Chicago content currently undergoing featured content reviews outside the project:

Several other discussion types use transclusion friendly discussion. Below you will also find external discussion for


External peer review[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

External peer reviews are controlled by a variety of external processes; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for external peer review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official general instructions or find the specific type of peer review instructions from the list of WikiProject peer reviews.

To transclude the general peer review discussions, add {{Wikipedia:Peer review/Name of article/archive1}} to the top of the list. To transclude a Wikiproject peer review discussion, follow the same procedure with its discussion page enclosed in brackets.

After the review is completed:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the PR candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
edit

Joseph Berrios[edit]

Benet Academy[edit]

Previous peer review

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because I would like to eventually nominate it for FA. This article has already had a peer review and recently passed GA. I would appreciate suggestions on how to make it more comprehensive and how to improve the prose.

Thanks, Benny the mascot (talk) 19:42, 7 March 2010 (UTC)

I am sorry this is taking me so long - will review in the next 24 hours. Sorry, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 02:02, 20 March 2010 (UTC)

No need to rush...I have other ways of keeping myself busy. :) Good luck on your FAC, by the way. Benny the mascot (talk) 03:15, 20 March 2010 (UTC)

Ruhrfisch comments: Thanks for being so understanding - this looks pretty good to me, so here are some mostly nit-picky suggestions for improvement.

  • One thing that is sometimes hard to do is to provide context to the reader about things the author is familiar with. I am fairly familiar with the Chicago area, but was not that sure where Lisle was. A brief description would help (x miles west of the Loop / downtown Chicago) or a map with a dot would help too.
  • I also was confused by mentions of the college, but no real resolution on what happened to it - it took me a little searching here, but I assume it is what is now known as Benedictine University in Lisle. The article mentions the university as the site of buildings The St. Procopius monks decided on March 12, 1900, to build a new college[20] on the site of present-day Benedictine University at the southwest corner of Maple and College Avenues.[12], and in terms of a scholarship at the academy, but I think it needs to explicitly say what happened to the college after the academy split. I realize that this article on the Academy, so it need not be a lot of detail, but some is needed.
  • The map is nice, but I am guessing the Census does not show buildings (only streets and water), so the source for those needs to be given explicitly - this will be checked at FAC.
    • I've already provided sourcing on the Commons page. Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)
  • The capitalization of College and Academy by themselves seems a bit odd, though it is done consistently as far as I can tell. The Wikipedia:MOS#Institutions says if it is the generic word (college, academy) by itself it should not be capitalized.
    • I fixed the ones I could find. Let me know if I missed any. Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)
  • The lead just seems sparse to me - especially the second and third paragraphs. My rule of thumb is to make sure every header is in the lead somehow - are Demographics and the Christmas Drive there?
    • I mentioned the Christmas Drive a little bit, but the Demographics section is already somewhat covered in the lead. ("Benet's average ACT test score has exceeded statewide and national averages, and more than 99 percent of students have gone on to college after graduation")
  • The language is decent but I noticed a few rough spots reading - I will try and come back and point some more out soon, here is one to start
    • Classes began on March 2, when Rev. Procopius Neuzil taught two remedial high school students in two small rooms at 704 Allport Street for four months. FOur months in one day? Wow that's concentrated teaching! Perhaps Classes began on March 2, and for the next four months Rev. Procopius Neuzil taught two remedial high school students in two small rooms at 704 Allport Street. would be better. I am also not sure students can be remedial - I thought classes were? Could be wrong
      • Sentence replaced with a small revision regarding the usage of "remedial". Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)

Hope this helps. If my comments are useful, please consider peer reviewing an article, especially one at Wikipedia:Peer review/backlog (which is how I found this article). I do not watch peer reviews, so if you have questions or comments, please contact me on my talk page. Yours, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 04:46, 22 March 2010 (UTC)

Thanks for your feedback! Benny the mascot (talk) 01:42, 23 March 2010 (UTC)
More from Ruhrfisch

I will try to point out language that needs work here, as well as any other issues that I notice

  • Lead It was founded in 1887 as the all-boys St. Procopius College and Academy by Benedictine monks in Chicago, who also operated the St. Joseph Bohemian Orphanage, which along with St. Procopius later moved to Lisle, approximately 25 miles (40 km) west of Chicago.[6] Could this sentence be split into two? As it is now it is quite long and complex - I would start the new sentence after the word orphanage. Also could the year(s) for the move(s) to Lisle be added to provide context?
  • Capitalization of college? The orphanage closed in 1956 to make room for St. Procopius Academy, which then separated from the College in 1957. (In Internet Explorer you can search for a word and it highlights all the matching terms in yellow - might be worth checking caps on college and academy this way)
  • Tweak sentence Sacred Heart merged with St. Procopius Academy in 1967 on the St. Procopius campus to establish Benet Academy [on the St. Procopius campus].
  • Also, any idea where the name "Benet" came from? a ha - here it says Benet is an English form of Benedict
  • Unclear Benet's performing arts program stages multiple musicals ... I think it would be clearer to say Benet's performing arts program stages a musical annually... perhaps saying since when
  • Need to be consistent on names - in the text it is "Reverend John Nepomucene Jaeger of the Order of St. Benedict..." but the image caption is just "Abbot Nepomucene Jaeger" (no John). I also wonder since St John of Nepomuk is not well known in the US, if a link would be in order?
  • Suggested reoganization Reverend John Nepomucene Jaeger of the Order of St. Benedict was the pastor of the parish[.] , which served approximately 16,000 to 20,000 parishioners. Chicago at that time had the largest Czech population of any other city in the world outside of Prague and Vienna. Roughly 50,000 Czech immigrants were served by the three Czech parishes of Chicago, which included [16,000 to 20,000 parishioners at] St. Procopius.
  • The source says they were teaching high school classes then, so I would clarify that in Only a two-year [high school] program was offered at the time; the college offered its first four-year high school program in 1904.[9]
  • Might flow more smoothly as The first Bohemian abbot in the United States, Abbot Jaeger[, the first Bohemian abbot in the United States,] founded a Bohemian monastic community in 1894...
  • What does better atmosphere mean? The college and academy continued to grow in Chicago; in 1896 the Abbey bought the 104-acre (42 ha) Morris Neff farm in Lisle to gain more space and a better atmosphere.[9] Cleaner air than in the city?
  • Since I am assuming that the present Benedictine University still is on the site because they are the re-named St Procopius College, I think that needs to be made clearer in this: The St. Procopius monks decided on March 12, 1900, to build a new college[21] on the site of present-day Benedictine University at the southwest corner of Maple and College Avenues.[13]
  • OK I am stopping the rough spots here. I think this would benefit from a copy edit before FAC. There are a few other things I noticed:
  • What makes Remembering Lisle a reliable source? See WP:RS
  • The alt text for the mascot should desribe it as a bird, not a redwing (there might be those who think of the Detroit Redwings or even Red Wing Shoes

Hope this helps, Ruhrfisch ><>°° 00:42, 25 March 2010 (UTC)

Thanks for your advice! I've fixed most of the issues you've brought up; I just need to get that copyedit completed. Benny the mascot (talk) 19:59, 27 March 2010 (UTC)

Featured article candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured article candidates are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To nominate an article for featured article status, or to comment on a nomination, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured article candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured article candidates/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is promoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Add the article to the project showcase;
edit

Featured article review[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured article reviews are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured article review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured article removal candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured article review/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is demoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FAR candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Move the article to the delisted section of the project showcase;
edit

Featured list candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured lists are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured list candidacy, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured list candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured list candidates/Name of candidate list}} to the top of the list.

If the article is promoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Add the article to the project showcase;
edit

Featured list removal candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Featured list removals are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured list removal candidacy, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the featured list removal candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured list removal candidates/Name of candidate list}} to the top of the list.

If the article is demoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Move the article to the delisted section at project showcase;
edit

Non-article featured content candidates[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Non-article featured content candidates are controlled by one of several external processes, depending on the type of content; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To nominate something for featured status, or to comment on a nomination, you must follow the appropriate official instructions:

To transclude the non-article featured content candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Featured picture candidates/Name of candidate picture}}, {{Wikipedia:Featured portal candidates/Name of candidate portal}}, {{Wikipedia:Featured topic candidates/Name of candidate topic}}, or {{Wikipedia:Featured sound candidates/Name of candidate sound}} to the top of the list.

If the article is promoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the FA candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Add the article to the project showcase;
edit

Good article reassessment[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Good article reassessments are controlled by an external process; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for featured article review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the good article reassessment candidate discussion, add {{Wikipedia:Good article reassessment/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is demoted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the GAR candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
  3. Move the article to the delisted section of the project showcase;
edit

Articles for deletion[edit]

Shortcut:
Instructions

Articles for deletion discussions are controlled by external processes; the listing below is merely a duplicate for the project's convenience. To list an article for article for deletion review, or to comment on a listing, you must follow the official instructions.

To transclude the articles for deletion discussions, add {{Wikipedia:Articles for deletion/Name of candidate article}} to the top of the list.

If the article is deleted:

  1. Remove the transclusion code from this list;
  2. Remove the article link from the AFD candidates list at {{WPCHICAGO Announcements}};
edit


Illinois[edit]

Hazelgreen Baptist Church[edit]

Hazelgreen Baptist Church (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Hazelgreen Baptist Church" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Non-notable church. Article is a generic background of a generic church with one local newspaper reference. Article was prod-ed by another user, which was contested. ~EdGl! 13:50, 29 March 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Christianity-related deletion discussions. NORTH AMERICA1000 14:12, 29 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. NORTH AMERICA1000 14:12, 29 March 2015 (UTC)

Renee Whitney[edit]

Renee Whitney (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Renee Whitney" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

This actress may have appeared in 53 films, but was uncredited in all but a handful of them and was somewhat low in the billing order, e.g. Footlight Parade. She doesn't satisfy WP:NACTOR or WP:GNG. Clarityfiend (talk) 04:26, 23 March 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Actors and filmmakers-related deletion discussions. lavender|(formerlyHMSSolent)|lambast 05:39, 23 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. lavender|(formerlyHMSSolent)|lambast 05:39, 23 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Rcsprinter123 (say) @ 20:20, 29 March 2015 (UTC)
  • Delete - quantity of acting does not mean quality nor notability. The "Studios" had many actresses who had passing roles in dozens of films. Bearian (talk) 00:15, 31 March 2015 (UTC)

Cleversafe[edit]

Cleversafe (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Cleversafe" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

This page contains advertising content related to a small, privately held company. The company is not an appropriate topic for an encyclopedia page, nor is the PR-style article a neutral, non-biased description of the company. As this entry exists purely to promote the company, it should be deleted Kdb150 (talk) 19:23, 17 March 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Business-related deletion discussions. lavender|(formerlyHMSSolent)|lambast 00:41, 18 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. lavender|(formerlyHMSSolent)|lambast 00:41, 18 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Computing-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 15:20, 18 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Coffee // have a cup // beans // 00:08, 25 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, —Tom Morris (talk) 06:36, 1 April 2015 (UTC)
The following discussion is an archived debate of the proposed deletion of the article below. Please do not modify it. Subsequent comments should be made on the appropriate discussion page (such as the article's talk page or in a deletion review). No further edits should be made to this page.

The result was no consensus. North America1000 10:25, 1 April 2015 (UTC)

Bob Knuth[edit]

Bob Knuth (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "Bob Knuth" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

Non-notable scenic designer and art director lacking non-trivial support. Awards appear to be minor/local. reddogsix (talk) 03:10, 11 March 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of United States of America-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 17:40, 12 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 17:41, 12 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Arts-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 17:41, 12 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of People-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 17:41, 12 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, NORTH AMERICA1000 04:42, 18 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Nakon 05:39, 25 March 2015 (UTC)
  • Comment-I don't know why I found the part about living with his cats the most amusing part in this article. Which that really isn't a good thing. Anyway-Delete. Wgolf (talk) 02:02, 26 March 2015 (UTC)
  • Weak keep - he's art director for the Second City, which is a national improv group based in Chicago. That being said, sourcing could be better. Bearian (talk) 18:59, 27 March 2015 (UTC)
  • Keep easily found lots of discussion of his sets in reviews of shows "the intimacy of the space and the simplicity of Bob Knuth's shoe-box set design — which dials back big-musical expectations (an ensemble of six feels just about right) and connects you more to the cartoon, TV and movie characters that are the reasons most people are buying a ticket.[2].E.M.Gregory (talk) 22:05, 31 March 2015 (UTC)
The above discussion is preserved as an archive of the debate. Please do not modify it. Subsequent comments should be made on the appropriate discussion page (such as the article's talk page or in a deletion review). No further edits should be made to this page.
The following discussion is an archived debate of the proposed deletion of the article below. Please do not modify it. Subsequent comments should be made on the appropriate discussion page (such as the article's talk page or in a deletion review). No further edits should be made to this page.

The result was no consensus. (WP:NPASR). North America1000 09:58, 1 April 2015 (UTC)

American Blues Theater[edit]

American Blues Theater (edit | talk | history | protect | delete | links | watch | logs | views) – (View AfD · Stats)
(Find sources: "American Blues Theater" – news · newspapers · books · scholar · JSTOR)

I couldn't establish that this meets WP:NOTABILITY but it was deprodded by editor who felt it needed full evaluation and could possibly meet WP:GNG Boleyn (talk) 07:56, 10 March 2015 (UTC)

Note: This debate has been included in the list of Arts-related deletion discussions. NORTH AMERICA1000 19:30, 10 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Illinois-related deletion discussions. NORTH AMERICA1000 19:30, 10 March 2015 (UTC)
Note: This debate has been included in the list of Organizations-related deletion discussions. • Gene93k (talk) 15:36, 12 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, NORTH AMERICA1000 10:28, 17 March 2015 (UTC)
  • Keep – I have to agree with the nom that evidence on the web is pretty thin. I found that surprising. I would have thought that a theater company that has survived for 30 years in a major city like Chicago would have received a ton of coverage. Perhaps it used to exist and is now gone. Online newspaper archives only go back so far. For now, my keep !vote is provisional based on the number of world premieres, these reviews at Chicago Stage Review, and the number of Jefferson Awards – 13 awards and more nominations according to this page. If new evidence emerges I'll change it to a definite keep. If not I may have to reconsider. We have OTRS permission for material from the company, but we can't base the whole article on that. – Margin1522 (talk) 17:15, 18 March 2015 (UTC)
Relisted to generate a more thorough discussion so a clearer consensus may be reached.
Please add new comments below this notice. Thanks, Coffee // have a cup // beans // 00:51, 25 March 2015 (UTC)
The above discussion is preserved as an archive of the debate. Please do not modify it. Subsequent comments should be made on the appropriate discussion page (such as the article's talk page or in a deletion review). No further edits should be made to this page.

Proposed deletions (WP:PROD)[edit]

Good article discussions[edit]

Archives[edit]

Peer review
A-Class review