Wikipedia:Wiki Ed/College of DuPage/Technical Writing at YCHS--Spring 2019 (Spring 2019)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This Course
Wikipedia Resources Connect
Questions? Ask us:

contact@wikiedu.org

Course name
Technical Writing at YCHS--Spring 2019
Institution
College of DuPage
Instructor
Andrew Bendelow
Content Expert
Shalor (Wiki Ed)
Subject
Technical Writing
Course dates
2019-01-11 00:00:00 UTC – 2019-05-17 23:59:59 UTC
Approximate number of student editors
60


In this one-semester course in Technical Communication, students learn the value of writing accurate, well-researched pieces for all kinds of audiences. The WikiEdu lessons on researching, editing, and sharing accurate information are very efficient and motivating. While not all students choose to create a new Wikipedia page, all of them get the basic training to become productive Wikipedians.

Student Assigned Reviewing
Cote Charles
Bednariknicole
Af34966
Jenny Yohannnan
Laurenhund
Krzysztof.Ponicki
Annalisesoldano
Mayatoffler
MassimoCup
Noahfine7
Tcontant
Arh2owall
JefrinJ
Ibn1221
Spencerdoan
Chrisbarachki
Ashleyhomolka
Ieander
Clairekopec
CalvinCarta
Mattanikiej
BrianMorton1929
Aidanpharan
GrantDavis123
Robinbatman1966
Shahn101
Tylerjparisi
Gillianohara
Oliviabrunke
Mar!Gatti
Macallaway
Cydron47
Camillegilbert
Kellan410
Ashalabine
TimBoyle7
Polystation12
Susan Vaughey
Alyssairby
ESwanson56
Kunstbs
Nathanmoskal
Katy.clugg
Bkaszuba
Samkao16
Techwritstudent19

Timeline

Week 6

Course meetings
Monday, 11 February 2019   |   Tuesday, 12 February 2019   |   Wednesday, 13 February 2019   |   Thursday, 14 February 2019   |   Friday, 15 February 2019
In class - Introduction to the Wikipedia assignment

Welcome to your Wikipedia assignment's course timeline. This page guides you through the steps you'll need to complete for your Wikipedia assignment, with links to training modules and your classmates' work spaces.

Your course has been assigned a Wikipedia Expert. You can reach them through the Get Help button at the top of this page.

Resources:

Assignment - Get started on Wikipedia

Create an account and join this course page, using the enrollment link your instructor sent you. (Because of Wikipedia's technical restraints, you may receive a message that you cannot create an account. To resolve this, please try again off campus or the next day.)

Milestones

This week, everyone should have a Wikipedia account.

Week 7

Course meetings
Monday, 18 February 2019   |   Tuesday, 19 February 2019   |   Wednesday, 20 February 2019   |   Thursday, 21 February 2019   |   Friday, 22 February 2019
Assignment - Evaluate Wikipedia

Exercise

Evaluate an article

Week 8

Course meetings
Monday, 25 February 2019   |   Tuesday, 26 February 2019   |   Wednesday, 27 February 2019   |   Thursday, 28 February 2019   |   Friday, 1 March 2019
Assignment - Choose possible topics

Exercise

Choose a topic

Resource: Editing Wikipedia, page 6

In class - Discussion

What's a content gap?

Week 9

Course meetings
Monday, 4 March 2019   |   Tuesday, 5 March 2019   |   Wednesday, 6 March 2019   |   Thursday, 7 March 2019   |   Friday, 8 March 2019
Assignment - Add to an article

Exercise

Add a citation

Assignment - Start drafting your contributions

Reach out to your Wikipedia Expert if you have questions using the Get Help button at the top of this page.

Resource: Editing Wikipedia, pages 7–9

Milestones

Everyone has begun writing their article drafts.

Week 10

Course meetings
Monday, 11 March 2019   |   Tuesday, 12 March 2019   |   Wednesday, 13 March 2019   |   Thursday, 14 March 2019   |   Friday, 15 March 2019
Assignment - Peer review an article

Guiding framework

In class - Discussion

Thinking about Wikipedia

Milestones

Every student has finished reviewing their assigned articles, making sure that every article has been reviewed.

Assignment - Respond to your peer review

You probably have some feedback from other students and possibly other Wikipedians. Consider their suggestions, decide whether it makes your work more accurate and complete, and edit your draft to make those changes.

Resources:

  • Editing Wikipedia, pages 12 and 14
  • Reach out to your Wikipedia Expert if you have any questions.