Wikipedia:Zimdars' fake news list

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

The following is a list of sources compiled by Melissa Zimdars, assistant professor of communication at Merrimack College. This list was titled False, Misleading, Clickbait-y, and/or Satirical "News" Sources.[1]

The list has come to the attention of Wikipedians after it was widely circulated in the Internet during the surge of the discussions of fake news. Zimdars herself noted that this list was merely a guideline for her students and never intended to be comprehensive, authoritative, or widely published, see the talk page for details.

Wikipedia itself has articles List of fake news websites and List of satirical news websites.

Legend

Category 1: Fake, false, regularly misleading sites which rely on outrage using distorted headlines and decontextualized or dubious information in order to generate likes, shares, and profits.

Category 2: Websites that may circulate misleading and/or potentially unreliable information.

Category 3: Websites that sometimes use clickbait-y headlines and social media descriptions.

Category 4: Purposefully fake satire/comedy sites that can offer critical commentary on politics and society, but have the potential to be shared as actual/literal news.


Name URL 1 2 3 4 Link search
100 Percent Fed Up 100percentfedup.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
21st Century Wire 21stcenturywire.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
70news 70news.wordpress.com ☑Y Search
ABC News (impostor) abcnews.com.co ☑Y Search
Activist Post activistpost.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
American News americannews.com ☑Y Search
Associated Media Coverage associatedmediacoverage.com ☑Y Search
Baltimore Gazette baltimoregazette.com ☑Y Search
Before It's News beforeitsnews.com Search
Big American News bigamericannews.com Search
Big P Zone bigpzone.com Search
Big P Zone youtube.com/bigpzone Search
Bipartisan Report bipartisanreport.com ☑Y Search
BizPac Review bizpacreview.com Search
Blue Nation Review bluenationreview.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
Borowitz Report newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report ☑Y Search
Call The Cops callthecops.net ☑Y Search
Cap News cap-news.com ☑Y Search
Christ Wire christwire.org ☑Y Search
Chronicle.su chronicle.su Search
Civic Tribune civictribune.com ☑Y Search
ClickHole clickhole.com ☑Y Search
Coast To Coast AM coasttocoastam.com ☑Y Search
Collective Evolution collective-evolution.com ☑Y Search
Conscious Life News consciouslifenews.com ☑Y Search
Conservative Outfitters conservativeoutfitters.com ☑Y Search
ConspiracyWire wideawakeamerica.com ☑Y Search
Countdown To Zero Time countdowntozerotime.com ☑Y Search
CounterPsyOps counterpsyops.com Search
Cream BMP creambmp.com ☑Y Search
Daily Buzz Live dailybuzzlive.com Search
Daily Currant dailycurrant.com Search
D.C. Clothesline dcclothesline.com Search
D.C. Gazette dcgazette.com ☑Y Search
Derf Magazine derfmagazine.com Search
Disclose.tv disclose.tv Search
Drudge Report (impostor) drudgereport.com.co ☑Y Search
Duffle Blog duffleblog.com ☑Y Search
Duh Progressive duhprogressive.com Search
Embols embols.com Search
Empire Herald empireherald.com Search
Empire News empirenews.net ☑Y Search
Empire News empirenews.com Search
Ending The Fed endingthefed.com Search
Enduring Vision enduringvision.com ☑Y Search
FPRN Radio fprnradio.com Search
Geo Engineering Watch geoengineeringwatch.org Search
Govt Slaves govtslaves.info Search
Gulag Bound gulagbound.com Search
Hang The Bankers hangthebankers.com Search
Humans Are Free humansarefree.com Search
Huzlers huzlers.com ☑Y Search
If You Only News ifyouonlynews.com Search
Indecision Forever indecisionforever.com ☑Y Search
IntelliHub intellihub.com Search
Jones Report jonesreport.com Search
Lew Rockwell lewrockwell.com Search
Liberal America liberalamerica.org Search
Liberty Talk libertytalk.fm Search
Liberty Unyielding libertyunyielding Search
Liberty Videos libertyvideos.org Search
LMR / Liberty Movement Radio libertymovementradio.com Search
Media Mass mediamass.net ☑Y Search
Megyn Kelly megynkelly.us ☑Y Search
MS NBC (impostor) msnbc.com.co ☑Y Search
MS NBC (impostor) msnbc.website ☑Y Search
Naha Daily nahadaily.com ☑Y Search
National Report nationalreport.net ☑Y Search
Natural News naturalnews.com ☑Y Search
NC Scooper ncscooper.com Search
New Century Times newcenturytimes.com Search
News Examiner newsexaminer.net Search
News Hound news-hound.com ☑Y Search
NewsBiscuit newsbiscuit.com ☑Y Search
Newslo newslo.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
News Mutiny newsmutiny.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
Newswatch 28 newswatch28.com Search
Newswatch 33 opposingviews.com Search
NewsWire 24 newswire-24.com Search
No Dis Info nodisinfo.com Search
Now8News now8news.com Search
Now The End Begins nowtheendbegins.com Search
Pak Alert Press pakalertpress.com Search
Political Blind Spot politicalblindspot.com Search
Political Ears politicalears.com Search
Politicalo politicalo.com ☑Y Search
Prison Planet prisonplanet.com Search
Prison Planet prisonplanet.tv Search
Private Eye private-eye.co.uk ☑Y Search
Project Veritas projectveritas.com ☑Y Search
React 365 react365.com Search
Real Farmacy realfarmacy.com Search
Real News Right Now realnewsrightnow.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
Red Flag News redflagnews.com Search
Reductress reductress.com ☑Y Search
Rile News rilenews.com ☑Y ☑Y Search
Satira Tribune satiratribune.com Search
Sprot Spickle sprotspickle.com ☑Y Search
The Boston Tribune thebostontribune.com ☑Y Search
The Onion theonion.com ☑Y Search
The Reporterz thereporterz.com Search
The Stately Harold thestatelyharold.com Search
The Daily Sheeple thedailysheeple.com Search
The News Nerd thenewsnerd.com Search
The Run Down Live therundownlive.com Search
The Us Patriot theuspatriot.com Search
Truth Frequency Radio truthfrequencyradio.com Search
Unconfirmed Sources unconfirmedsources.com Search
USA Supreme usasupreme.com Search
Veterans Today veteranstoday.com Search
Waking Up Wisconsin wakingupwisconsin.com Search
Winning Democrats winningdemocrats.com Search
Wit Science witscience.org Search
WorldNetDaily wnd.com Search
World News Daily Report worldnewsdailyreport.com ☑Y Search
World Truth worldtruth.tv Search
Zero Hedge zerohedge.com Search