Wikipedia talk:External peer review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
edit·history·watch·refresh Stock post message.svg To-do list for Wikipedia:External peer review:

Marking articles externally peer reviewed[edit]

Should we tag articles that have been externally peer reviewed? violet/riga (t) 22:32, 14 December 2005 (UTC)

in the past articles that were externals peer reviewed were tagged using the source template (ex. Talk:Media in South Africa). I think such a template would fine (I mean, we mark articles that have under gone an internal peer review). Broken S 22:34, 14 December 2005 (UTC)
Now someone be bold. :-) — Ambush Commander(Talk) 22:36, 14 December 2005 (UTC)
I'd do it, but I am an ignoramus when it comes to templates and tables. Broken S 22:38, 14 December 2005 (UTC)
I've added the following template to the correct articles; how does this look? ᓛᖁ♀ 00:09, 15 December 2005 (UTC)
Looks nice. Broken S 00:23, 15 December 2005 (UTC)
"This article was reviewed by a secret expert Nature magazine sent it to. Their 'expert' tried to find wrong stuff in it and failed," would be more accurate. Maybe Jimbo will get a few articles loosely nailed down, but even those will still need work. If you pat yourself on the back too hard you will be propelled into whatever your face happens to hit. Be careful. Metarhyme 04:56, 16 December 2005 (UTC)
Nature is a science journal. They're calling this a peer review; I suspect they really have gone through the usual formal process, which normally means the reviewers are anonymous. In this case, Wikipedia and Britannica were also anonymous to the reviewers (double-masked review). The purpose of anonymity is to allow the reviewers to be as fair and critical in their reviews as possible. That Nature has done this should come as a humbling blow to Britannica while at the same time demonstrating Wikipedia is worthy of being taken seriously. ᓛᖁ♀ 06:29, 16 December 2005 (UTC)
EB is eating their liver, alright, but their snide remark that Wikipedia needs editing isn't incorrect. Your template looks better - either you changed it or I'm feeling less critical or both. Metarhyme 06:29, 17 December 2005 (UTC)

email about the Congo Wars[edit]

Xed has pasted part of an email he received from Prof. Didier Gondola of Indiana University, author of The History of the Democratic Republic of Congo, at Talk:First Congo War#Accuracy questionned. Commenting on First Congo War and Second Congo War, Gondola says that they are a "great set of articles well researched and very well balanced", before going into bulleted points to address. The main page here is probably for reviews that can be linked to, but some people might be interested in the comments. - BanyanTree 00:34, 15 December 2005 (UTC)

I don't think it could be called anything as formal as a "peer review" - such things are more forensic. Interesting though. - Xed 01:33, 15 December 2005 (UTC)

"peer"[edit]

We should consider changing the name of the page and associated articles/tags/categories to "external review" rather than "external peer review". "Peer review" has a specific meaning, and articles about an encyclopedia in newspapers, magazines, and even journals isn't it. - Nunh-huh 02:23, 16 December 2005 (UTC)

It's not that though. We already have pages for news articles about Wikipedia - this is for those ones that specifically review individual articles. violet/riga (t) 08:46, 16 December 2005 (UTC)
Yes, the examples here review, but they don't "peer" review. (In fact, Nature shouldn't really be calling their study "peer review", but an evaluation based on the peer review system. - 09:01, 16 December 2005 (UTC)
The title is fine to the extent that it refers to Wikipedia:Peer review. --Rikurzhen 09:11, 16 December 2005 (UTC)
The listed reviewers are not our peers. Even CZers aren't our peers, tho they're closer. Sadly Conservapedia probably are the closest to being our peers. I agree with N-h that a move to Wikipedia:External review would be more honest. -- Jeandré, 2007-09-02t20:23z

Peer review of German Wikipedia[edit]

Maybe we should also report on the two formal peer reviews that have evaluated the German Wikipedia? Both results were excellent. AxelBoldt 20:00, 17 December 2005 (UTC)

Maybe. You can see more details on meta

Independent Online[edit]

Should we make an entry for this recent review from the The Independent? It is fairly positive. BrokenSegue 02:25, 13 February 2006 (UTC)

It is kind of a rethorical question now, I guess. In any case, my answer is: yes.--Piotr Konieczny aka Prokonsul Piotrus Talk 03:21, 13 February 2006 (UTC)
Basically I was asking if someone else would do it (I was feeling lazy). I set up the bare bones template and some pull quotes a few moments ago. BrokenSegue 04:24, 13 February 2006 (UTC)

Iraq Museum International[edit]

This isn't exactly in the same vein as the rest of the reviews this page covers, but Iraq Museum International has apparently done a lot of research on Wikipedia's handling of the Muhammad cartoon controversy. Is this the place that should cover their review, or does it deserve its own page? [1] ᓛᖁ♀ 19:20, 14 February 2006 (UTC)

To be honest I would say The Signpost would be the most appropriate place. violet/riga (t) 20:55, 14 February 2006 (UTC)

Daily Record[edit]

I don't think this is exactly a notable news source, and the guy who wrote it seems to have no understanding of Wikipedia policies like no original research, but I think the inaccuracies mentioned in the article are worth checking out. jacoplane 00:18, 13 April 2006 (UTC)

Wikipedia:Academic peer review[edit]

Taking our lessons from the demise of the Scientific Peer Review project, there is now a much simpler way to attract academic peer review. Feel free to give us your comments, but please remember to keep it simple. - Samsara (talkcontribs) 11:41, 31 May 2006 (UTC)

American history brief review[edit]

A pretty good academic article about Wikipedia by Rosenzweig, Roy ([2]) noted some errors in several articles about American history, I left links and quotes on appopriate talk pages.--Piotr Konieczny aka Prokonsul Piotrus Talk 18:04, 10 July 2006 (UTC)

Conservapedia critiques[edit]

Conservapedia has a list of purported examples of bias in Wikipedia. Some of these may be legitimate complaints, some not, but it might not be a bad idea to review them. It also might not be a bad idea to monitor the page. It seems like there would be a page already in existance to list such criticism pages, but if so I cannot find it. -- Beland 17:39, 17 March 2007 (UTC)

Open access[edit]

This paper reviews 20 articles from reference usage perspective. Relevant fragments should probably be copied to relevant pages and used to improve references in those articles.-- Piotr Konieczny aka Prokonsul Piotrus | talk  03:49, 24 March 2007 (UTC)

Template[edit]

Please see Template talk:External peer review. Thanks. 220.227.179.5 10:57, 20 May 2007 (UTC)

another one[edit]

maybe this constitutes another case? trespassers william (talk) 20:54, 4 July 2008 (UTC)

Renaming "peer review" to "internal review"[edit]

There is a discussion going on at Wikipedia talk:Peer review#Renaming "peer review" to "internal review" that is relevant to the naming of Wikipedia:External peer review. The outcome of this discussion might suggest that our external peer review process be renamed simply external review in order to distinguish it from peer review (wiktionary: peer review) and avoid confusion. Please read the discussion, consider the views presented there, and present your own thoughts there. Thanks! Ecto (talk) 22:12, 16 June 2009 (UTC)

Renaming "external peer review" to "external review of wikipedia"[edit]

It seems that this page is misnamed. There can be no such thing as an external peer review. A peer review is a review of suggested-to-be-publication-worthy material, upon request, by peers within a community, which has immediate bearing on whether or how the material is published. In academic journals, the community is the set of editors and authors and others having certain academic credentials who write or have expertise in a given academic subject area. Wikipedia:Peer review is a review system among community members here, which has immediate bearing upon the content of articles (often directly revised by reviewers during the peer review process) and the presentation of the articles (whether they are recommended for further publication/presentation as Featured Articles). If there are formal reviews outside of wikipedia of wikipedia articles, that is external review.

I suggest this page be renamed to "External review of wikipedia". Apparently there is confusion for some between the rarely used "wikipedia:external peer review" term versus "wikipedia:peer review", the latter being a term with many thousands, perhaps hundreds of thousands, of uses within wikipedia (see Wikipedia talk:Peer review#Renaming "peer review" to "internal review" ). doncram (talk) 18:01, 20 June 2009 (UTC)