Wikipedia talk:Featured article review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Shortcut:
Featured article removal candidates
view edit
Pulaski Skyway Review it now
Tamils Review it now
O-Bahn Busway Review it now
See also: Wikipedia:Featured article review/Coordination, Wikipedia:Unreviewed featured articles and the Toolserver listing of featured articles with cleanup tags.

Procedural note[edit]

As we work through the new WP:URFA in sandbox, I'm (negatively) impressed by the number of FAs we saved at FAR in 2006 thru 2008 that are showing up again with issues. I'm thinking we might do more of this, to have a record of who is taking over when the old nominator is gone. Thanks, Laser! SandyGeorgia (Talk) 19:20, 5 May 2015 (UTC)

RFC[edit]

I think that FAR regulars might want to take a look at Talk:Michael Jackson#Request for comment on citation style. The citation formatting had degraded over time, and then someone tried to fix it by introducing his/her own made-up format based on the {{wayback}} template. He claims to have done this to multiple articles, including other FAs, so a more comprehensive review might be necessary. WhatamIdoing (talk) 06:47, 7 June 2015 (UTC)

SandyGeorgia[edit]

I've noticed that User:SandyGeorgia has been inactive for a couple of months. Sandy is usually the most active participant in FAR discussions, and I'm worried that things have ground to a halt without them. Nikkimaria, Casliber, DrKiernan, and Maralia, are you aware of this? Cordless Larry (talk) 07:52, 15 July 2015 (UTC)

Sandy's been coming and going for a bit. I've just looked here after a while and will get back into it soon. Cas Liber (talk · contribs) 11:21, 15 July 2015 (UTC)
Thanks, Cas. Beyond the implications for FAR, I always get concerned when a frequent editor suddenly disappears, so I hope Sandy is OK. Hopefully it's just a case of coming and going, as you suggest. Cordless Larry (talk) 11:44, 15 July 2015 (UTC)

Ace Books[edit]

@WP:FAR coordinators: Wikipedia:Featured article review/Ace Books/archive1 is on hold, has been worked on outside the FAR process and now needs a decision on what should be done with the FAR page. I'm thinking of deleting the review page and not archiving but am happy with any other choice. DrKiernan (talk) 19:00, 31 July 2015 (UTC)

Personally I think it would be worth archiving for record-keeping purposes...see Wikipedia_talk:Featured_article_review/Coordination#On_hold_2 for related discussion. Nikkimaria (talk) 19:37, 31 July 2015 (UTC)
OK. I'll bring it back to FAR for any final comments in the same way as that earlier case. DrKiernan (talk) 19:45, 31 July 2015 (UTC)
Yes, I agree with Nikkimaria on that one. It is worth recording for record-keeping. Cas Liber (talk · contribs) 21:14, 31 July 2015 (UTC)

Notice to participants at this page about adminship[edit]

Participants here often create a lot of content, have to evaluate whether or not a content is neutral, determine if sources are reliable, decide if content complies with BLP policy, and much more. Well, these are considerations at Wikipedia:Requests for adminship.

So, please consider taking a look at and watchlisting this page:

You could be very helpful in evaluating potential candidates, and maybe even finding out if you would be a suitable RfA candidate.

Many thanks and best wishes,

Anna Frodesiak (talk) 23:14, 2 December 2015 (UTC)

Anna Frodesiak, I think you might be at the wrong page? FAR has nothing whatsoever to do with content creation, and is only tangentially related at best to sourcing and BLP issues. Did you mean WP:FAC? ‑ Iridescent 23:29, 2 December 2015 (UTC)
Hello Iridescent. :) I think you are right. It just goes to show how involved I am in this area. :) Anna Frodesiak (talk) 23:42, 2 December 2015 (UTC)

longstanding bias on the Jesus page[edit]

It may come as little surprise that a controversial topic such as Jesus gets treatment that reflects the experiences and beliefs of the editors more than published sources. The most prominent section is a summary of the Gospels based primarily on primary sources (the Gospels themselves). RSs don't treat the topic this way, but several vocal editors say that we're under no obligation to follow RSs and we should follow our own judgment instead. Since these editors won't refer to RSs or policy, it's hard to reach a compromise or forge a consensus with them. Maybe I should bring the page up for FA review. Currently these editors resist changes on the basis of the article's FA status. Since it's a featured article, they say, it must not require substantial changes. Ideally, the review would solicit the right input we need to improve the article. Alternatively, I could undertake a dispute resolution. Any idea which route I should take? This dispute has been popping up in various ways for years. Thank you. Jonathan Tweet (talk) 17:15, 6 December 2015 (UTC)

Hi Jonathan, based on your description of your concerns, I wonder if WP:NPOVN mightn't be the best place to start - it is specifically designed to address concerns about bias. FAR is broader in scope, though it could be used if NPOVN does not work; conversely, RfCs are generally more targeted than your concern seems to be. Nikkimaria (talk) 18:13, 6 December 2015 (UTC)
I've tried the NPOVN and an RfC. It sounds like my best bet is dispute resolution. Jonathan Tweet (talk) 21:15, 7 December 2015 (UTC)