Wikipedia talk:Peer review

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Main Unanswered Instructions Discussion Tools Archive

Featured in The Signpost[edit]

I have written a short summary of the history of this hallowed place in the signpost:

Welcome to any new editors :). --Tom (LT) (talk) 11:17, 20 March 2017 (UTC)

Greetings LT910001 and thanks for the Signpost article. After doing many hundreds of article assessments (on a few WikiProjects) I have wondered over here to Peer review. I'm thinking that occasional help at PR will be a refreshing break and a nice change of pace. Regards, JoeHebda • (talk) 19:13, 21 May 2017 (UTC)
Great to have another reviewer around, JoeHebda --Tom (LT) (talk) 21:27, 24 May 2017 (UTC)

More volunteers needed, or extend time?[edit]

I see some requests have not yet been picked up. Are more volunteers needed? Is time extension needed to prevent archiving? If neither, what else to do about it? --George Ho (talk) 20:44, 25 June 2017 (UTC)

@George Ho more volunteers are needed. You can help by clicking "unanswered" above and responding to some :). --Tom (LT) (talk) 08:01, 6 September 2017 (UTC)
Thanks for the offer, but I'll pass. --George Ho (talk) 08:24, 6 September 2017 (UTC)

"Nader El-Bizri"[edit]

The article "Nader El-Bizri" that is about an academic philosopher and architect has been proposed for deletion by EdwardX who seems to specialize in businessmen and billionaires. The article "Nader El-Bizri" exists since 2008 and received over 100 edits by a vast number of diverse editors over the years. This article has on average 35 visits daily, which since 2008 might have accumulated to over 100,000 visit. Numerous wikipedia articles in the dozens make reference to the "Nader El-Bizri" article in various forms. The living person in question is a Full Professor, and a Director of three programs at the American University of Beirut; received many awards, including the one for the Advancement of Sciences from Kuwait, and has been ranked 59 as Thought Leader in the Arab world (3rd on top of all living Arab philosophers), with a vast array of publications with prestigious presses such as Oxford, Cambridge, Routledge, SUNY. The indicators of his CV, awards, rankings in the Arab world are accessible via the official external links at the bottom of the article. It is utterly arbitrary and damaging to the integrity of wikipedia that all of this is ignored by a single user who does not even seem to have a connection to academia. Such randomness is very harmful to the professor in question and it should not be left unmonitored and could even be motivated by malicious intents. It is essential that it receives immediate attention by responsible knowledgable editors, and such sensitive decisions should not be made with haste (AcademeEditorial (talk) 12:48, 8 July 2017 (UTC))

@AcademeEditorial, yes non UK/US culture and history is often poorly covered, so thanks for your attempts at expanding it. The best way to go about doing this is to actually expand the article yourself. I suggest also a visit to WP:TEAHOUSE who may be able to help you adjust your editing style to match the Encyclopedia's. Hope this helps, --Tom (LT) (talk) 08:02, 6 September 2017 (UTC)

Chartwell[edit]

A fellow editor points out that the above is still showing in the Peer Review list, although I thought I had closed it, and it is showing as archived on the article's Talkpage. Am I missing something? It certainly should be closed as it is on to FAC. Many thanks. KJP1 (talk) 18:43, 5 September 2017 (UTC)

Thanks KJP1. One of the steps for closing articles hadn't been done (see "instructions"). Should be fixed now. Given things a day or two for the bot to update the article and talk page. Cheers, --Tom (LT) (talk) 08:00, 6 September 2017 (UTC)
Tom (LT) Really appreciated and I'll try to do it right next time! Best regards. KJP1 (talk) 09:13, 6 September 2017 (UTC)