This article needs additional citations for verification. (June 2017) (Learn how and when to remove this template message)
Some people are sensitive to hordein due to disorders such as celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
Along with gliadin (the prolamin gluten found in wheat), hordein is present in many foods and also may be found in beer. Hordein is usually the main problem for coeliacs wishing to drink beer.
Coeliacs are able to find specialist breads that are low in hordein, gliadin and other problematic glycoproteins, just as they can find gluten free beer which either uses ingredients that do not contain gluten, or otherwise has the amounts of gliadin or hordein present controlled to stated limits.
- The Celiac Disease Foundation
- University of Maryland Center for Celiac Research
- www.glutenfreebeerfestival.com - a site specialising in reviewing beer without hordein, or with low gluten levels, generally
|This biochemistry article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.|