Robbery laws in the United States

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Robbery laws in the United States

Federal[edit]

Federal[edit]

U.S. Code Title 18- Not more than 15 years' imprisonment

Uniform Code of Military Justice[edit]

For individuals subject to the Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S. Code § 922 applies.[1]

Charge Penalty Reference
Robbery committed with a firearm Up to Dishonorable discharge, forfeiture of all pay and allowances, and imprisonment for 15 years. [2]
Robbery committed without a firearm Up to Dishonorable discharge, forfeiture of all pay and allowances, and imprisonment for 10 years. [2]

State[edit]

Alabama[edit]

Not less than 1 year and 1 day and not more than 10 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Alaska[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Arizona[edit]

1, 1.5, 2.5, 3, or 3.75 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed and little to no criminal history)

Arkansas[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than 20 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

California[edit]

2, 3, or 5 years' imprisonment

Colorado[edit]

Not less than 1 year and not more than 12 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Connecticut[edit]

Not less than 1 year and not more than 5 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed) or not more than 1 year in jail

Delaware[edit]

Not more than 5 years' imprisonment

District of Columbia[edit]

Not less than 2 years and not more than 15 years' imprisonment

Florida[edit]

Not more than 15 years' imprisonment (not more than 5 years' imprisonment if robbery is done by sudden snatching)

Georgia[edit]

Not less than 1 year and not more than 20 years' imprisonment

Hawaii[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Idaho[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than life imprisonment (eligible for parole after serving 25 years)

Illinois[edit]

Not less than 3 years and not more than 7 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Indiana[edit]

2, 4, or 8 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Iowa[edit]

Not less than the maximum sentence for a Class C felony: 10 years' imprisonment

Kansas[edit]

31, 32, or 34 months' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed and little to no criminal history)

Kentucky[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than 10 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed and no felonies within prior 5 years)

Louisiana[edit]

Not more than 7 years' imprisonment with or without hard labor (not less than 2 years and not more than 20 years' imprisonment with or without hard labor if object of robbery was a purse containing anything of value)

Maine[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Maryland[edit]

Not more than 15 years' imprisonment

Massachusetts[edit]

Not more than life imprisonment (eligible for parole after serving not less than 15 years and not more than 25 years) or any term of years

Michigan[edit]

Not more than 15 years' imprisonment

Minnesota[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Mississippi[edit]

Not more than 15 years' imprisonment

Missouri[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than 15 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Montana[edit]

Not less than 2 years and not more than 40 years' imprisonment

Nebraska[edit]

Not less than 1 year and not more than 50 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Nevada[edit]

Not less than 2 years and not more than 15 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

New Hampshire[edit]

Not more than 7 years' imprisonment

New Jersey[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than 10 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

New Mexico[edit]

Not more than 3 years' imprisonment

New York[edit]

Not more than 7 years' imprisonment

North Carolina[edit]

Not less than 8 months and not more than 16 months' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed and little to no criminal history)

North Dakota[edit]

Not more than 5 years' imprisonment

Ohio[edit]

9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Oklahoma[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Oregon[edit]

Not more than 5 years' imprisonment

Pennsylvania[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Rhode Island[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than 30 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

South Carolina[edit]

Not more than 15 years' imprisonment

South Dakota[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Tennessee[edit]

Not less than 2.7 years and not more than 15 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Texas[edit]

Not less than 2 years and not more than 20 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Utah[edit]

Not less than 1 year and not more than 15 years' imprisonment (if imprisonment is imposed)

Vermont[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Virginia[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than life imprisonment (eligible for parole after serving 15 years)

Washington[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

West Virginia[edit]

Not less than 5 years and not more than 18 years' imprisonment

Wisconsin[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment

Wyoming[edit]

Not more than 10 years' imprisonment[3]

References[edit]

  1. ^ "10 U.S. Code § 922 - Art. 122. Robbery". Cornell Legal Information Institute. Retrieved 30 April 2017.
  2. ^ a b MANUAL FOR COURTS-MARTIAL UNITED STATES (2012 EDITION) (PDF). United States Government. 2012. pp. IV–79.
  3. ^ "State Laws - FindLaw". Findlaw. Retrieved 2017-04-30.