Sciblogs.co.nz

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Sciblogs.co.nz is a network of New Zealand based science bloggers. The network was founded in late 2009 and includes a collection of scientists from universities, Crown Research Institutes and private research organisations.

Sciblogs.co.nz was established in September 2009 by the Science Media Centre (NZ)[1] funded by the Ministry of Research, Science & Technology (MoRST) through the Royal Society of New Zealand. It is based on the opensource Wordpress platform. Around half of the blogs are syndicated from existing science bloggers, the rest are hosted exclusively on Sciblogs. Sciblogs content is syndicated on Google News and Scoop.co.nz as well as on Facebook and Twitter.

The site is one of the largest blog networks in New Zealand.[2][3][4][5]

In August 2015, Sciblogs was redeveloped and relaunched with a more visual appearance and improved functionality, as well as the addition of new bloggers covering everything from psychology to drones.

Bloggers on sciblogs.co.nz
Author Blog name Topic Original / Syndicated Link
Ken Perrott Open Parachute critical thinking Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/open-parachute/
Gareth Renowden Hot Topic climate change Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/hot-topic/
Alison Campbell BioBlog biology Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/bioblog/
Grant Jacobs Code for life Bioinformatics Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/code-for-life/
Peter Griffin Visibly shaken data visualisation http://sciblogs.co.nz/visibly-shaken/
Anna Sandiford Forensic Scientist Forensic Science http://sciblogs.co.nz/forensic-scientist/
Guest bloggers Guest Work Guest bloggers science http://sciblogs.co.nz/guestwork/
Shaun Hendy A Measure of Science innovation Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/a-measure-of-science/
Darcy Cowan Skepticon Skeptics Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/skepticon/
Brendan Moyle Chthonic Wildlife Ramblings Wildlife Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/chthonic-wildlife-ramblings/
Aimee Whitcroft misc.ience science Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/misc-ience/
Bryan Walker Hot Topic Climate Change http://sciblogs.co.nz/hot-topic/
David Winter the atavism evolution Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/the-atavism/
Peter Griffin Griffin's Gadgets technology Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/griffins-gadgets/
Daniel Collins Waiology Hydrology and limnology Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/waiology/
Will Hayward The Psychologizer Psychology Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/thepsychologizer/
Barbara Breen-Bollard Vantage Point UAVs Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/vantagepoint/
Mark Hanna Honest Universe health Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/honestuniverse/
John Pickering Kidney-Punch health Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/kidney-punch/
Robert Hickson Ariadne futurism Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/ariadne/
Siouxsie Wiles Infectious Thoughts science Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/infectious-thoughts/
Karyn O'Keeffe Sleep on it sleep Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/sleep-on-it/
Wayne Linklater Political ecology Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/politecol/
Various Infrequently Asked Questions Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/infrequently-asked-questions/
Steve Pointing Pointing @ Science science Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/pointing-at-science/
Kimberley Collins Up and Atom science communication Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/up-and-atom/
Michelle Dickinson Nanogirl nanotechnology Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/nanogirl/
Various Public Health Expert public health Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/public-health-expert/
Various The Dismal Science economics Syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/the-dismal-science/
Christine Jasoni The Nervy Nomad neuroscience Original http://sciblogs.co.nz/the-nervy-nomad/
Marcus Wilson Physics Stop physics syndicated http://sciblogs.co.nz/physics-stop/

References[edit]

  1. ^ [1]
  2. ^ NZ’s largest science blog network goes live, NZ Science Media Centre, 30 September 2009
  3. ^ Harvey, Helen (1 February 2010). "Cool science". Taranaki Daily News. Retrieved 7 November 2011. 
  4. ^ Harvey, Helen (2 February 2010). "Kiwi scientists blogging up a storm". The Press. Retrieved 7 November 2011. 
  5. ^ "Blogging network makes science more accessible". Waikato Times. 1 October 2009. Retrieved 7 November 2011. 

External links[edit]