List of residence halls at the University of Notre Dame

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

There are currently 29 undergraduate residence halls at the University of Notre Dame. Each residence hall is single sex, with 15 all-male residence halls and 14 all-female residence halls.[1] With the exception of Carroll Hall, the residence halls are split among five main segments of the campus: Main (God) Quad, South Quad, North Quad, Mod Quad and West Quad. All first-year students are not only guaranteed on-campus housing, but are required to reside on-campus for at least one semester.

Many of the halls were inserted in 1973 on the National Register of Historic Places.[2][3]

Here is a listing of the 29 undergraduate residence halls at Notre Dame:

List[edit]

Residence Hall Sex Established Rector Campus Capacity Colors Mascot
Alumni Hall[4] Male 1931 Rev. George Rozum, C.S.C. (since 1978) South Quad 246 Green and White           Dawgs
Badin Hall[5] Female 1897 Sr. Denise Lyon, I.H.M. (since 2006) South Quad 141 Green and White           Bullfrogs[6]
Breen-Phillips Hall[7] Female 1939 Sr. Mary Catherine McNamara, S.I.W. (since 2012) North Quad 195 Blue and Pink           Babes
Carroll Hall[8] Male 1906 Rev. James Lewis, O.Carm. (since 2001) South Quad 102 Scarlet and Gold           Vermin
Cavanaugh Hall[9] Female 1936 Ms. Lauren Donahue (since 2014) North Quad 209 Green and Purple           Chaos
Dillon Hall[10] Male 1931 Rev. Paul Doyle, C.S.C. (since 1997) South Quad 328 Red and Black           Big Red
Duncan Hall[11] Male 2008 Mr. Nhat Nguyen (since 2014) West Quad 232 Green and Navy           Highlanders
Farley Hall[12] Female 1947 Ms. Elaine J.C. DeBassige (since 2013) North Quad 221 Teal and Yellow           Finest
Fisher Hall[13] Male 1952 Mr. Rick Mazzei (since 2014) South Quad 183 Green and White           Green Wave
Howard Hall[14] Female 1924 Ms. Amanda Springstead (since 2014) South Quad 147 Yellow and Green           Ducks
Keenan Hall[15]Keenan.svg Male 1957 Mr. Noel Terranova (since 2012) North Quad 275 Navy and White           Knights
Keough Hall[16] Male 1996 Rev. Pat Reidy, C.S.C. (since 2013) West Quad 284 Blue and Red           Kangaroos
Knott Hall[17] Male 1988 Mr. Patrick Kincaid (since 2014) Mod Quad 239 Orange and Blue           Juggerknotts
Lewis Hall[18] Female 1965 Ms. Katy Patterson (since 2013) God Quad 273 Blue and Yellow           Chicks
Lyons Hall[19] Female 1925 Ms. Sarah Heiman (since 2014) South Quad 202 Black and Gold           Lions
McGlinn Hall[20] Female 1997 Sr. Mary Lynch, S.S.J. (since 2005) West Quad 285 Green and White           Shamrocks
Morrissey Hall[21] Male 1925 Rev. Ronald Vierling, M.F.C. (since 2005) South Quad 235 Black and Yellow           The Manor
O'Neill Hall[22] Male 1996 Mr. Chris Tarnacki (since 2013) West Quad 279 Blue and Silver           Angry Mob
Pangborn Hall[23] Female 1955 Sr. Mary Donnelly, O.P. (since 2008) South Quad 173 Purple and Green           Phoxes
Pasquerilla East Hall[24] Female 1981 Ms. Mamie Smith (since 2014) Mod Quad 255 Red and Black           Pyros
Pasquerilla West Hall[25] Female 1981 Sr. Mary Jane Hahner, C.S.F.N. (since 2010) Mod Quad 258 Purple and White           Purple Weasels
Ryan Hall[26] Female 2009 Ms. Allie Greene (since 2013) West Quad 247 Turquoise and White           Wildcats
St. Edward's Hall[27] Male 1882 Rev. Ralph Haag, C.S.C. (since 2006) God Quad 161 Green and Gold           Gentlemen
Siegfried Hall[28] Male 1988 Rev. John Conley, C.S.C. (since 1997) Mod Quad 240 Maroon and Gray           Ramblers
Sorin Hall[29] Male 1888 Rev. Bob Loughery, C.S.C. (since 2010) God Quad 144 Blue and Gold           Otters
Stanford Hall[30] Male 1957 Rev. William Dailey, C.S.C. (since 2013) North Quad 254 Green and Gold           Griffins
Walsh Hall[31] Female 1909 Ms. Liz Detwiler (since 2014) God Quad 182 Navy and Light Blue           Wild Women
Welsh Family Hall[32] Female 1997 Ms. Carol Latronica (since 2014) West Quad 281 Blue and White           Whirlwinds
Zahm Hall[33] Male 1937 Rev. Gary Chamberland, C.S.C. (since 2014) North Quad 210 Red and Black           Zahmbies, Ignats the Moose

References[edit]

  1. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/general-info/facts-figures/
  2. ^ https://secure.in.gov/apps/dnr/shaard/structural_surveys.html?_flowExecutionKey=_c8211B3C1-5A12-5149-C806-D81F4036E65B_k57E94178-9E4C-CCAD-FBDF-5D309D3D8FAE
  3. ^ https://secure.in.gov/apps/dnr/shaard/r/1c9d1/N/University_of_Notre_Dame_Campus_Main_and_South_Quadrangles_St._Joseph_CO_Nom.pdf
  4. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Alumni Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/alumni-hall/
  5. ^ "Undergraduate. Hall profiles. Badin Hall". University of Notre Dame. Office of Housing. Retrieved 2014-02-22. 
  6. ^ Alyson Tomme (Winter 2001–2002). "Hall Portrait: Badin". Notre Dame Magazine. University of Notre Dame. Retrieved 2014-02-22. Y chromosomes vacated for good with the advent of coeducation in 1972. Badin and Walsh Hall were the first dorms to switch gender. 
  7. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Breen-Phillips Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/breen-phillips-hall/
  8. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Carroll Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/carroll-hall/
  9. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Cavanaugh Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/cavanaugh-hall/
  10. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Dillon Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/dillon-hall
  11. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Duncan Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/duncan-hall/
  12. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Farley Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/farley-hall/
  13. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Fisher Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/fisher-hall/
  14. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Howard Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/howard-hall/
  15. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Keenan Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/keenan-hall/
  16. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Keough Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/keough-hall/
  17. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Knott Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/knott-hall/
  18. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Lewis Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/lewis-hall/
  19. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Lyons Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/lyons-hall/
  20. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: McGlinn Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/mcglinn-hall/
  21. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Morrissey Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/morrissey-hall/
  22. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: O'Neill Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/o-neill-hall/
  23. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Pangborn Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/pangborn-hall/
  24. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Pasquerilla East Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/pasquerilla-east-hall/
  25. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Pasquerilla West Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/pasquerilla-west-hall/
  26. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Ryan Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/ryan-hall/
  27. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: St. Edward's Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/st-edwards-hall/
  28. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Siegfried Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/siegfried-hall/
  29. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Sorin Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/sorin-hall/
  30. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Stanford Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/stanford-hall/
  31. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Walsh Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/walsh-hall/
  32. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Welsh Family Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/welsh-family-hall/
  33. ^ University of Notre Dame, Office of Residence Life and Housing, Hall Profile: Zahm Hall, http://housing.nd.edu/undergraduate/residence-halls/zahm-hall/