Talk:The Gate of Time

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
WikiProject Novels / Sci-fi (Rated Stub-class, Mid-importance)
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Novels, an attempt to build a comprehensive and detailed guide to novels, novellas, novelettes and short stories on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, you can edit one of the articles mentioned below, or visit the project page, where you can join the project and contribute to the general Project discussion to talk over new ideas and suggestions.
Stub-Class article Stub  This article has been rated as Stub-Class on the project's quality scale.
 Mid  This article has been rated as Mid-importance on the project's importance scale.
Taskforce icon
This article is supported by Science fiction task force.
 
Note icon
This article has been marked as needing an infobox.
WikiProject Alternate History  
WikiProject icon This article is within the scope of WikiProject Alternate History, a collaborative effort to improve the coverage of alternate history on Wikipedia. If you would like to participate, please visit the project page, where you can join the discussion and see a list of open tasks.
 ???  This article has not yet received a rating on the project's quality scale.
 ???  This article has not yet received a rating on the project's importance scale.
 

Untitled[edit]

The article reference to "WWII" should be changed to something like "mid-20th century Central European" war, since the main character might not actually be from our Earth.

The article should also include the Boris Vallejo Two Hawks from Earth cover.

The novel is in the vein of Edgar Rice Burroughs, and PJF was quite involved with ERB; this should be mentioned.

We need links to reviews of the book. It starts well, but does not sustain interest. The THfE ending gets interesting again, but seems added-on and confusing, incomplete.69.87.202.105 02:06, 30 July 2006 (UTC)


http://www.pjfarmer.com/articles.htm

Creating Artificial Worlds

First appeared in: Pulsar, Summer 79
This article is a speech given by Farmer at Facts about SF:The Writers Speak, ten week series of SF lectures, April 5 - June 7 1978. Farmer takes his novel TWO HAWKS FROM EARTH as an example and explains what research and extrapolating he did about the world (an Earth where North and South America never rose from the oceans) where the story takes place. All this had to be done for background details before he began writing the story itself.

Edgar Rice Burroughs

First appeared in: 20TH CENTURY FICTION, 1985
In this short essay Farmer talks about Burroughs early career and how his writing style is only suited to works of fantasy. He also discusses Burroughs' most important character, Tarzan, at length.


http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/f/philip-jose-farmer/two-hawks-from-earth.htm Two Hawks from Earth (1979) cover by Boris Vallejo


http://www.xs4all.nl/~rnuninga/NonFic/PJFnf1.htm#ERB "Edgar Rice Burroughs" Essay, about ERB's early career and his most famous character, Tarzan.

   * 20th Century Fiction, edited by George Woodcock
     Gale/St.James (Reference Guide to English Literature), ISBN 0-91228-919-8, hardcover, 7/1985
   * ("An appreciation of Edgar Rice Burroughs")
     Pearls From Peoria
     Subterranean Press, ISBN , hardcover, ../2006

What happened to the Slavs?[edit]

They just disappear?

-G