Wikipedia:Peer review/North Road (stadium)/archive1

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

North Road (stadium)[edit]

This peer review discussion has been closed.
I've listed this article for peer review because I believe that the content of the article is as comprehensive as it is going to get, given the available resources, and that it could get to GA status with a few minor changes.

Thanks, – PeeJay 10:20, 13 October 2008 (UTC)

Comments from ChrisTheDude (talk · contribs)[edit]

  • "However, the football club split from the railway company they were run by" - shouldn't end a clause with a preposition, maybe try "However, the railway company, which held a controlling interest, broke off its connection with the football club"
    • I've changed it to "However, the football club split from the railway company by whom they were run", as the company had not been introduced in the text until that point, except in the club's name.
  • Wikilink "stand" and "pub", which might need explanation for those in some parts of the world
    • Can't find an article for "stand", but I've linked "pub".
      • "Stand" is the same as "grandstand", is it not? I've just noticed that you have grandstand wikilinked further down, maybe you should link the first usage of "stand" instead.....
        • Yes, you're probably right there. The reason I didn't think to link to grandstand is that "grandstand" conjures up an image of something a bit more grandiose than a simple stand in my mind. Nevertheless, I shall link to grandstand. – PeeJay 16:54, 21 October 2008 (UTC)
  • Wikilink "friendlies" too
    • Done
  • And "reserve team"
    • Done
  • "with Newton Heath signing their first professional players in the summer of 1886" - apparently this use of "" is grammatically incorrect, try "and Newton Heath signed....."
    • Done
  • Any reason why 3d is shown as a number but sixpence as a word?
    • Seemed like a good idea. Changed to "6d" now.
  • Refs 8 and 2 appear the wrong way round just after the bit about the Deans and Canons
    • Fixed ref order.

Hope that helps! -- ChrisTheDude (talk) 12:10, 21 October 2008 (UTC)

Very helpful. Thanks. – PeeJay 12:24, 21 October 2008 (UTC)
No problem :-) -- ChrisTheDude (talk) 12:42, 21 October 2008 (UTC)

Comments from Jameboy (talk · contribs)[edit]

  • Is there an earlier OS map available showing the ground's location more clearly?
    • If I find one, I'll let you know. I'm not sure where I can find really old OS maps though.
      • The local library for the area in question is always good (that's where I got the maps for Fulfordgate), but can be tricky if you don't live in that area. (I know there are plenty of United fans in Manchester so please don't think I'm making any assumptions here!) If that's the case though, you could leave a message at WP:GM, maybe someone there could get a copy of the relevant OS map from that era for you. Cheers. --Jameboy (talk) 08:56, 25 October 2008 (UTC)
        • I've left a message at WP:GM. Hopefully someone there will be able to help me. If not, I hope it won't hinder this article's progress too much. Thanks. – PeeJay 09:56, 25 October 2008 (UTC)
  • "new wage bill; a problem" - should be comma not semi-colon. Semi-colon would need something like "; they overcame this problem by..."
    • Done.

Overall I think you've done a very good job with the article, especially considering that the club only spent a short time at the ground and that there's probably not that much material to go on given the era. --Jameboy (talk) 21:27, 24 October 2008 (UTC)

Cheers man. I'll be taking this to WP:GAN once this peer review is over, so that all three of Man Utd's homes will be at GA status or above. – PeeJay 21:39, 24 October 2008 (UTC)

Comments from Peanut4 (talk · contribs)[edit]

I've not got much to say, it all looks very good. However, do you know what happened between the club moving out and its destruction? It simply says "The stadium no longer exists", without saying when it was destroyed, whether it had any use after Newton Heath's exit, what the pitch was used for, etc. Peanut4 (talk) 23:06, 26 October 2008 (UTC)

To be honest, I don't know. I'm hoping that User:Oldelpaso might have a contribution to make on that front, as he has a couple of books about the history of football in Manchester that I don't have. I'll have a word with him. – PeeJay 23:25, 26 October 2008 (UTC)