MBC Persia

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search
MBC Persia
MBC Persia.jpg
Broadcast areaIran
HeadquartersDubai Media City, United Arab Emirates
Programming
Language(s)English (audio)
Persian (subtitles)
Generally English audio accompanied with Persian subtitles
Persian (main)
Picture formatSDTV (576i)
Full HDTV (1080p)
Ownership
OwnerMiddle East Broadcasting Center
Sister channelsMBC 1
MBC 2
MBC 3
MBC 4
MBC 5
MBC Drama
MBC+ Drama
MBC Action
MBC Max
Al Arabiya
Wanasah
Al Hadath
MBC+ Power
MBC Variety HD
MBC Bollywood
MBC Masr
MBC Masr 2
MBC Iraq
MBC Pro Sports
SSC
History
Launched9 July 2008; 13 years ago (2008-07-09)
Links
WebsiteOfficial website

MBC Persia is a free-to-air television channel owned by the Saudi media conglomerate MBC Group that shows movies and television series. Programs are subtitled in Persian.

MBC Persia was rated one of the most watched channels amongst its Persian-speaking audience, a result of broadcasting popular, top rated movies.

MBC Persia is extremely popular in the region for showing the latest in Western entertainment the channel shows everything from science fiction programs, such as sitcoms like Friends. All of the programs are subtitled in Persian. It is aimed at Persian-speakers in Iran and its diaspora in Arab countries, MBC Persia Turkish films, Dubbed in Persian, particularly the GCC. On 25 August, MBC Persia HD was encrypted on the MY HD platform, and later changed its name to MBC+ Variety. It subtitled its programs into Arabic. MBC Persia films and programs are subtitled into Persian. Bollywood and Hollywood movies and shows and series are subtitled into Persian. It is aimed at the 120 million Persian-speakers in Iran, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan and others.

Programming[edit]

Shows[edit]

  • Action Zone
  • Around the World in 80 Tricks
  • Box Office Top 5
  • Celebrity Scoop
  • Films & Stars
  • Hollywood Buzz
  • The Inside Line
  • Newton's Cradle
  • Ridiculous Rides
  • Scoop
  • Scoop Box Office
  • Scoop Network
  • Scoop On Runway
  • Scoop On Set
  • Take the Tower
  • Tech Toys 360

Entertainment[edit]

Sitcoms[edit]

Drama[edit]

Reality[edit]

Clip shows[edit]

Game shows[edit]

Animation[edit]

Young people's shows[edit]

Motoring[edit]

Sports[edit]

WWE Wrestling[edit]

Special events[edit]

Past special events[edit]

Films[edit]

North American films[edit]

James Bond films[edit]

British films[edit]

English-language films[edit]

Australian films[edit]

Turkish films[edit]

Chinese films[edit]

  • Step Up: Year of the Dance

Direct-to-video and television films[edit]

Hindi-language films[edit]

Film blocks[edit]

  • Action Night : Every Sunday : 22:30 UAE / 18:30 GMT
  • Blockbuster Movies : Thursdays : 22:00 IRST / 18:30 GMT
  • Bollywood Movie Night : Thursdays : 19:00 IRST / 15:30 GMT
  • Bollywood Movie Night : Thursdays : 20:00 IRST / 16:30 GMT
  • Bollywood Movie Night : Thursdays : 21:00 IRST / 17:30 GMT
  • Romance Movies : Every Thursday : 21:30 UAE / 17:30 GMT
  • Thrill Movie Tuesday Night Thriller : Every Tuesday : 23:30 UAE / 19:30 GMT
  • Tuesday Night Thriller : Every Tuesday : 23:30 KSA / 19:30 GMT
  • Tuesday Night Thriller : Every Tuesday : 23:30 UAE / 19:30 GMT

References[edit]

  • Jaafar, Ali (July 10, 2008). "Arab TV's MBC adds new language". Variety. Retrieved 2008-07-20.
  • "MBC Persia' brings global movies to Persian speakers". Al-Bawaba, Jordan. July 2, 2008. Retrieved 2008-07-20.

External links[edit]